We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Thai: go here often”

Thai Dishes Santa Monica
Ranked #231 of 688 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Cuisines: Thai
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Basic Thai: go here often”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Close to my casa, Thai Dishes is convenient. Other Thai is a bit of a trek. The dishes are okay. Tasty but not amazing. Good for when you want Pad Thai and some mango and sticky rice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Thai Dishes should only be eaten late night after many many drinks so that you can't actually taste how awful it is. If you want a late night snack, go to Joe's where you can get a slice of delicious pizza and not feel sick afterwards.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank diddleydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stumbled across this place after a morning at Santa Monica beach. We each picked a different dish from the lunch menu and all four of us thoroughly enjoyed our selection. Great service, great value, great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanOodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor imitation of Thai food”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Having lived in Thailand, food at Thai dishes had been westernized to the point it was no longer Thai. The Tom Yun didn't even have lemon grass in it. Very blah. Budha's Belly nearby had better food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel2rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant service and excellent food”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We arrived in Santa Monica late after our flight from the East Coast, and our hotel recommended this restaurant. We walked in around 9:40, and they were perfectly welcoming even though the restaurant was empty and it looked like they were ready to close. We had two delicious appetizers, beef jerky and a crispy wonton-like thing. For entrees we had a yellow curry dish and a spicy noodle dish recommended by the server. Excellent spice level, just like we ordered it. This was unusually high quality Thai food in an attractive space and convenient location just off the Third Street Promenade. We never felt rushed despite the late hour. The prices were reasonable, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Dishes Santa Monica also viewed

 

Been to Thai Dishes Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing