We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal basis to discover LA, go the beach, and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The ideal basis to discover LA, go the beach, and relax”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The stay at the hostel was the very first part of my journey through the Western U.S. It proved ideal to get some rest after the long flight. I have been to quite a few youth hostels in my life and must say, there are quite a few better places, but a lot more which were less pleasant and enjoyable. Everything is clean, staff is very helpful and knowledgeable, breakfast is OK. The kitchen might be a little cleaner, that was the only minus point.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    284
    86
    30
    22
See reviews for
20
44
329
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First hostel of my life, I had the best time ever. Staff is really nice, they organize a lot of activities.
100% clean, BBQ night amazing.
It was the first experience in a hostel and after that I always go to HI around the States and even abroad.
The location is excellent, near the ocean and the shopping center!
Bathrooms were big and clean, same for rooms. free wifi and breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yleniuccia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hostel itself is an excellent place to stay, the best location almost on the beach, just one block away, i would recommend the staff to be more proactive and cleaners and breakfast staff to be more smiley and friendly and more interactive as well, it would help to break up the low mood among the people in the hostel and definitely it would help with getting to know the other visitors in the hostel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Amazing location just one block back from the Santa Monica Pier. This area is pricey so you will find it hard to find a hotel in the same location for the same price...

Although this is a hostel, we opted for a private room for just one night and it did the trick. Really modern and clean for a hostel, free wifi and free burgers in the evening..enough said.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnybunny7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Good amenities, good room and good location. Cloee to third street promenade and santa monica pier. Best place to stay in L.A. avoid staying in hollywood and downtown LA but they are worth the visit. Free breakfast is a plus and wifi is fairoy decent, overall a good place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awells840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The rooms and overall hostel came across as very tidy, the staff were helpful and after we checked out let me and friend leave our bags in storage for most of the day while we organized transport. only a short walk from the beach/peir and the promenade is only a 5 minute walk away too. the atmosphere wasn't the best, hard to meet new people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomny_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I loved this hostel mainly because of the location - one block from the beach and one block from 3rd Street Promenade where all the shops and restaurants are. Very close to the bus stops to get the bus into downtown LA or other suburbs. My dorm was ok if a little hot even with two fans, but enough room for 6 girls and the shared bathroom was ensuite to the dorm room so you only share with people in your dorm which is nice. I travelled on my own and made friends in my dorm but I think the rest of the hostel lacked atmosphere. The free breakfast was a great advantage though although a little basic. Would definitely recommend if only as a base to explore Santa Monica and surrounding areas, such a good location!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfi_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,824 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
633 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,097 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing