We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Location of this hostel was very ideal. Minutes away from Santa Monica Pier and boardwalk and to shopping areas and several restaurants.. Located in a safe area. Never felt unsafe anywhere I walked around in the area. Travel agency attached to hostel to help plan any excursions and options for bike rentals. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm. Nice and clean with bedding and a towel. Lockers were large enough to fit a backpack in. Showers were clean and plenty of bathrooms around. Simple breakfast of toast and cereal was offered in the morning and lots of information of what to do and discounts in the area. Would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

location is great and at a safe surronding as faI've encounteredr as I could tell.
staff were efficient but most of them weren't friendly.
I've stayed at a 4 beds doorm room which was very clean ant tight.
the shared bathroom was a bit dissapointing because there was no doors only curtains and not enough shelfs, though it was clean.
the shared space like kitchen etc. wasnt very welcoming and easy to know your way there.
I was charged extra few dollars on booking via internet (I wasnt aware of it when I booked and it wasnt like booking a bed at others HI hostels as far as I remembered).
All and all, it is a great hostel to stay at when you visit L.A.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranitlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Really good location, 2 minutes from 3rd street promenade and less than 5 minutes from Santa Monica pier. Hostel is good with the dorm rooms with good beds, lots of room, and personal power sockets and lights. Only slight downside is that there's no bar and you can't bring alcohol inside which detracts from the social aspect a bit

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

i stayed in this hotel 3 jan. night and we just slept there. after this stay i had many lesion on my body and i was terrible wounds. i suffered it 10 days. be careful it can really be dangerous. there is something dangerous at beds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedesezgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, Owner at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We are so sorry for your experience with bed bugs and all of your suffering. As soon as we knew that your bed had a problem, we called in our pest control company to treat the room and closed the room for several days until we were sure that the problem was eliminated.
We hope that you are fully recovered and that you will give us another chance.
Please contact me directly if you still feel that we have not addressed this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I would recommend staying here for the location alone.
My husband and I stayed in a private room. It was comfortable, a reasonable size and had a TV. It was a bit noisy due to an air con vent (we think). The shared bathrooms are clean but the showers only have one tap and it is hot, to hot to stand under as times. They provide a basic breakfast each morning, have cheap eat nights and the staff were always helpful. Overall it is a really good place to stay and there was a lot of other Aussie’s staying there too. We really liked Santa Monica and we found it to be in a pretty good location for getting to all the LA attractions and the airport. It does take a long time to get anywhere is LA, so factor that into your plans.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Sava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The location of the hostel is amazing, near from the beach, the pier of santa monica and the 3rd Street Promenade!!
The staff of the hostel is nice! The structure it's great, everything is full of color and fun! I stayed in a privative room for 3 people and was just great, we used the ladies bathroom in that floor, and it was clean and smelt good all the times!
For me the there was just one bad thing about this hostel: no elevator! I stayed there February, 2011, after visiting Las Vegas and San Francisco with my mom and sister so we had a lot of luggage and the room was in the 3rd or 4th floor! Thankfully the hostel always has some big, strong and nice men disposed to help!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia Ricardi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times in the past and found it to be really good however I was a little disappointed this time round. Having said that, the location is outstanding and cannot be beaten. The 3rd street promenade is just around the corner as is the beach. There is plenty of places to eat ranging from $ - $$$$. The staff at the hostel are very helpful and friendly as are housekeeping etc. my only criticism would be that the bathrooms on the 3rd floor were consistently disgusting. Every day I found phlegm / hair in the sinks and blocked toilets. The showers were lukewarm. I tried a few different showers on a couple of different levels and they all appeared to be a similar temperature. Also just a tip - the hostel advertises a twenty percent discount for bike rental at Perry's. Go to sea mist bike rental (next to hot dog on a stick just near the pier) even without a discount it's way cheaper the guys that work the counter are super cool and really really helpful

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank kw87travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
637 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
646 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 108 in Los Angeles
1,097 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Santa Monica
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range: £31 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing