We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights in a private room on level 4. The room was big enough for what we needed and was clean. The hostel itself is set up well. Plenty of common areas plus free breakfast in the morning is great! Our key card stopped working of a morning twice but reception fixed that up pretty quickly. We slept through the night and didn't hear much of outside noise or noise from other guests. The location was great for exploring Santa Monica. We found it a bit more difficult to get to areas such as Hollywood, Disneyland and LAX via public transport. Most require 2 or 3 buses or going via down town which takes at least 45 minutes on express bus. The Hostel Hopper is available through the hostel if going to Disneyland and is worth paying the money over public transport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    276
    81
    30
    22
See reviews for
18
42
321
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in March 2014. The hostel is a good location from the airport and won't take you long to navigate your way there. A great location for all activities Santa Monica area and only an hour from Venice beach. Getting into downtown LA does take longer so plan ahead if you are heading that way.

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Room was clean but small not much room for luggage. Lockers were very secure. Communal bathrooms aren't great. Not the cleanest and showers were very poor. Definitely the only downside to this hostel, work needs to be done to improve bathrooms. Hostel was very secure and felt very safe staying there and walking around.

Staff we're relatively friendly but didn't necessarily go out of their way for you.

Good stay and would recommend for travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aupair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at HI Santa Monica for 5 nights in March 2014. As a solo traveler, I opted for the 6 bed dorm.

The location was the seller - a stones throw from Santa Monica Pier and an awesome base for tours. Easy to find if you're arriving from LAX - blue bus stop only around the corner. I was impressed to see that my particular dorm came with it's own toilet and shower. The bed was comfortable and the locker was big enough for my backpack to fit in. The rooms were clean, facilities clean and kitchen facilities were fantastic. Staff were helpful for advice and suggestions. Great common rooms and plenty of solo travelers hanging around to talk to. A safe area of LA with great restaurants, bars and shopping close by.

Can recommend the tour company directly across the road for theme park tours, and whatever you do, hire a bike and ride to Venice Beach. The best $7 I spent and quite possibly the highlight of my time in California.

Cannot think of any negatives, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: There are rooms with private bathrooms, ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steeeeveeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Location was stellar ; a walkers dream to area offerings and bus pick-ups. I had reservations for 4 nights which turned into a "moving debacle". First night stay was in female dorm of 6; 404-bed 3,unacceptable to remain as young women already had trashed the floor and had their personal belongings scattered about creating an unsafe walking atmosphere. To be brief: two nights of private room 409 and last night in female dorm room 305-1. Showers had ongoing scalding water issues on the 4th floor. Breakfast did not start until 7:30am and needs a revamp to include alternating fruit and carb items. FIRST FOR ME----bed bug bites from room 305! Too many negatives to convey; know that I am not a first timer in hostels. I e-mailed hostel of my complaints and requested a response; not yet rec'd as of March 17th. I informed staff of all issues while there. Cost was too high for what I rec'd. Only shining moment was Taylar B.'s attitude and checking in assistance.

Room Tip: Do not recommend staying at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I'm sorry you were so disappointed while staying with us. It's true - we had a valve problem on the fourth floor which made the water in the showers uncomfortable. You'll be pleased to know that the problem has been fixed.
You'll also be pleased to know that we are planning on revamping the breakfast soon.
Thank you for letting me know what areas need improvement...I always appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The location of HI Santa Monica was perfect for my intended purpose -- a solid base camp for my American adventures in Santa Monica, and a departure hub for all forms of activities and social events. Tours, pub crawls and excellent access to 3rd Street Promenade -- an amazing shopping pedestrian strip -- nothing negative could be said about the destination (other than maybe a fight for streetside parking).
The rooms were comfortable enough for a hostel, with maybe a lack of ventilation in my room. The WiFi was accessible anywhere in the building's common arears, which encouraged interaction -- always a plus.
Would recommend mainly for backpackers looking to meet new people and see the sights of Santa Monica. (Trip to Downtown was a bit tricky -- but once you learn the bus routes, it became manageable).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Location of this hostel was very ideal. Minutes away from Santa Monica Pier and boardwalk and to shopping areas and several restaurants.. Located in a safe area. Never felt unsafe anywhere I walked around in the area. Travel agency attached to hostel to help plan any excursions and options for bike rentals. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm. Nice and clean with bedding and a towel. Lockers were large enough to fit a backpack in. Showers were clean and plenty of bathrooms around. Simple breakfast of toast and cereal was offered in the morning and lots of information of what to do and discounts in the area. Would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

location is great and at a safe surronding as faI've encounteredr as I could tell.
staff were efficient but most of them weren't friendly.
I've stayed at a 4 beds doorm room which was very clean ant tight.
the shared bathroom was a bit dissapointing because there was no doors only curtains and not enough shelfs, though it was clean.
the shared space like kitchen etc. wasnt very welcoming and easy to know your way there.
I was charged extra few dollars on booking via internet (I wasnt aware of it when I booked and it wasnt like booking a bed at others HI hostels as far as I remembered).
All and all, it is a great hostel to stay at when you visit L.A.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranitlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing