We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had a great time at HI- Santa Monica. It felt a very safe area to be in, including the streets around always seemed safe. Being so close to the beach was an added bonus, plus being so close to the shopping area (3rd street)

Around the Hostel was always clean, and always being checked. It is such a good place to meet other people in the dinning room or in the different lounges. The staff at the front desk, were very friendly and there was always someone on the desk- where they are willing to help.

The rooms were basic and loved that each bed had its own light and power sockets- something I was worried about before I came where I could charge my IPad and Phone. The beds were very comfy and I slept right through all the noise. Everyone has a locker In the room- it is a very big locker and should fit a suitcase or a rucksack without any issue.

The breakfast was very basic and not much to chose from, but the vending machines in the dinning area did sell snacks which was fine. There was lots go activities each night happening within the hotel or the surrounding areas. Stand-up comedy and all you can eat burger night ( very good value!!) also events such as bar(pub) crawls (you need to be 21!)

There was an issue with my key for access to my room, that it stopped working and I had to get a new key 3+ times day which was a pain. ( but was told that they are going to upgrade the system)

Overall I had a very pleasant stay with you and I will come be back again soon.
Recommend for anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyrskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    285
    86
    30
    22
See reviews for
20
45
331
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great, safe central location for housing in the heart of a very popular beach city--Santa Monica, in West Los Angeles. Hostel is modern, spacious, and well maintained with friendly knowledgeable staff. It is within steps of all the excitement of boutique shopping, malls, restaurants, movies, side walk cafés and street performers.

Additional location bonus:
Hostel is in a great spot open to exploration and near the ocean, adjacent to the Santa Monica Pier ( carnival like atmosphere on the beach with family friendly arcade style activities in a beach setting)

City of Santa Monica offers a nice beach casual atmosphere, amidst a friendly crowd of locals and visitors.
Public transportation is available, but not needed because of easy walking access.
Definitely, the best hostel in the Los Angeles area because of easy access to activities and
tourist safe and friendly environment.


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend and was so impressed with the location. So close to the pier and 3rd st promenade - what more could you want.

Stayed in a 10bed dorm with it's own bathroom, which was very handy.
I forgot to bring a lock but was able to buy one from reception for a few dollars.
Plenty of travel places around to book tours with as well.

Major negative for me was the breakfast as it was very simple. But I found an awesome juice bar a few doors down.

Would return here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank reneeashort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review Melbourne! we're glad that you loved Santa Monica as much as we do! Please come and stay with us again and check out our revamped breakfast menu! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March 2014 for 4 nights in a private room on level 4. The room was big enough for what we needed and was clean. The hostel itself is set up well. Plenty of common areas plus free breakfast in the morning is great! Our key card stopped working of a morning twice but reception fixed that up pretty quickly. We slept through the night and didn't hear much of outside noise or noise from other guests. The location was great for exploring Santa Monica. We found it a bit more difficult to get to areas such as Hollywood, Disneyland and LAX via public transport. Most require 2 or 3 buses or going via down town which takes at least 45 minutes on express bus. The Hostel Hopper is available through the hostel if going to Disneyland and is worth paying the money over public transport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in March 2014. The hostel is a good location from the airport and won't take you long to navigate your way there. A great location for all activities Santa Monica area and only an hour from Venice beach. Getting into downtown LA does take longer so plan ahead if you are heading that way.

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm. Room was clean but small not much room for luggage. Lockers were very secure. Communal bathrooms aren't great. Not the cleanest and showers were very poor. Definitely the only downside to this hostel, work needs to be done to improve bathrooms. Hostel was very secure and felt very safe staying there and walking around.

Staff we're relatively friendly but didn't necessarily go out of their way for you.

Good stay and would recommend for travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aupair123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at HI Santa Monica for 5 nights in March 2014. As a solo traveler, I opted for the 6 bed dorm.

The location was the seller - a stones throw from Santa Monica Pier and an awesome base for tours. Easy to find if you're arriving from LAX - blue bus stop only around the corner. I was impressed to see that my particular dorm came with it's own toilet and shower. The bed was comfortable and the locker was big enough for my backpack to fit in. The rooms were clean, facilities clean and kitchen facilities were fantastic. Staff were helpful for advice and suggestions. Great common rooms and plenty of solo travelers hanging around to talk to. A safe area of LA with great restaurants, bars and shopping close by.

Can recommend the tour company directly across the road for theme park tours, and whatever you do, hire a bike and ride to Venice Beach. The best $7 I spent and quite possibly the highlight of my time in California.

Cannot think of any negatives, would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: There are rooms with private bathrooms, ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steeeeveeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Location was stellar ; a walkers dream to area offerings and bus pick-ups. I had reservations for 4 nights which turned into a "moving debacle". First night stay was in female dorm of 6; 404-bed 3,unacceptable to remain as young women already had trashed the floor and had their personal belongings scattered about creating an unsafe walking atmosphere. To be brief: two nights of private room 409 and last night in female dorm room 305-1. Showers had ongoing scalding water issues on the 4th floor. Breakfast did not start until 7:30am and needs a revamp to include alternating fruit and carb items. FIRST FOR ME----bed bug bites from room 305! Too many negatives to convey; know that I am not a first timer in hostels. I e-mailed hostel of my complaints and requested a response; not yet rec'd as of March 17th. I informed staff of all issues while there. Cost was too high for what I rec'd. Only shining moment was Taylar B.'s attitude and checking in assistance.

Room Tip: Do not recommend staying at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I'm sorry you were so disappointed while staying with us. It's true - we had a valve problem on the fourth floor which made the water in the showers uncomfortable. You'll be pleased to know that the problem has been fixed.
You'll also be pleased to know that we are planning on revamping the breakfast soon.
Thank you for letting me know what areas need improvement...I always appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,855 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing