We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night so can't say I got a proper feel of the hostel. The rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of storage. The bathrooms are separate, could do with an update as they are quite old and the water not hot, and the hair dryers don't work.

Wifi works everywhere
Staff helpful and friendly
You can leave your bag free until 2pm on day of departure

Free breakfast is plentiful, pancakes, toast, cereal, bagels, fruit, yoghurt, juice.

As for the activities I didn't participate in anything but they run pub crawls etc.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hostel is perfect literally one block over from the beach and in the other direction one block over from a street mall. The rooms are tidy with lockers, bathrooms are massive, tidy and easy to use. There is an information centre next door which makes life easy. All of the free tours offered by the hostel that I wanted to participate in kept getting canceled unsure if this was my luck of the draw or a regular occurrence. Would recommend to any solo traveller looking for a fun environment

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank 15gemmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed there with some friends and liked it very much. Is close to the beach and other nice locations in Santa Monica...Staff is friendly and the place is very clean...check it out....We only stayed for one night but were impress by the place...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm sure this place could be a paradise but... The location is great! The staff is very kind but when a problem occurs...
My experience was disappointing because when I faced a problem with a (drunk) guy, in a male dorm with his girlfriend (!), the management failed to fulfill my hopes to solve the problem.
The reception gave another room for that night immediately. But it was already 4 am and I have tried three times in order to achieve that. The worst of all is that the next day the manager was unable to help. I left from the reception without having the problem solved. The request was to change the room. The room was changed after a lot of talking but the second day of the short trip there, was already gone!
It is not a safe place. Lots of people drinking and we were also close to a fire break out, when someone has thrown a cigarette in a garbage bin. We had to evacuate the building at that night. No damages were caused but there is no prevention to upcoming risks and problems. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay at the hostel. It sounds like the staff did respond by giving you another room but then it got confusing....did you want to move again after that?
We do have a non alcohol policy that is very difficult to enforce. It was unfortunate that someone created such a disturbance by throwing a cigarette in the trash bin...we are a non smoking facility also.
I can assure you that this type of activity is not the norm and I'm really sorry it happened during your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I spent 4 nights at HI Santa Monica and enjoyed my stay overall.
I had a slight shock on arrival with the added extras to the price....non HI member and city tax. They were in the small print on Hostel world, but I don't see why at least the city tax couldn't be included or state how much it would be.
I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm. The bed was good, bathroom and shower facilities were as would be expected. Good size lockers.
On two of the days i joined the hostel free tours. Firstly was to downtown LA, which was more of a walk around town than much information, but it was good regardless as went to places I would never have gone to or found by myself. Secondly, was a hike in the Santa Monica hills, really nice couple of hours with nice views of the city and surrounding areas.
Breakfast - there was plenty and was filling, but was fairly boring.
The hostels biggest draw has to be location, just fantastic, a couple of minutes from the pier, 3rd street promenade and many useful bus stops.
Computers are available for a fee, a bit cheeky I thought. WiFi is speedy and free.
Good laundry facilities.
So I had just spent 5 months in Asia when I landed in LA, so price was always going to be a shock but I still think $42 is steep for an 8 bed dorm. I have been to European hostels in more expensive areas which charge less, but I guess there is more competition!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had a great time at HI- Santa Monica. It felt a very safe area to be in, including the streets around always seemed safe. Being so close to the beach was an added bonus, plus being so close to the shopping area (3rd street)

Around the Hostel was always clean, and always being checked. It is such a good place to meet other people in the dinning room or in the different lounges. The staff at the front desk, were very friendly and there was always someone on the desk- where they are willing to help.

The rooms were basic and loved that each bed had its own light and power sockets- something I was worried about before I came where I could charge my IPad and Phone. The beds were very comfy and I slept right through all the noise. Everyone has a locker In the room- it is a very big locker and should fit a suitcase or a rucksack without any issue.

The breakfast was very basic and not much to chose from, but the vending machines in the dinning area did sell snacks which was fine. There was lots go activities each night happening within the hotel or the surrounding areas. Stand-up comedy and all you can eat burger night ( very good value!!) also events such as bar(pub) crawls (you need to be 21!)

There was an issue with my key for access to my room, that it stopped working and I had to get a new key 3+ times day which was a pain. ( but was told that they are going to upgrade the system)

Overall I had a very pleasant stay with you and I will come be back again soon.
Recommend for anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyrskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great, safe central location for housing in the heart of a very popular beach city--Santa Monica, in West Los Angeles. Hostel is modern, spacious, and well maintained with friendly knowledgeable staff. It is within steps of all the excitement of boutique shopping, malls, restaurants, movies, side walk cafés and street performers.

Additional location bonus:
Hostel is in a great spot open to exploration and near the ocean, adjacent to the Santa Monica Pier ( carnival like atmosphere on the beach with family friendly arcade style activities in a beach setting)

City of Santa Monica offers a nice beach casual atmosphere, amidst a friendly crowd of locals and visitors.
Public transportation is available, but not needed because of easy walking access.
Definitely, the best hostel in the Los Angeles area because of easy access to activities and
tourist safe and friendly environment.


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
616 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,357 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#20 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range: £32 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing