We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel at a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Mainz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hostel at a Great Location”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The best thing about this hostel is its location just a block away from the Santa Monica Beach and a 5 minutes’ walk from the Santa Monica Pier. The bus to downtown LA is very convenient and has a good frequency. The reception staff was great and helped me book the trip around the city and places. The rooms are big and also the lockers are big to accommodate the luggage. The breakfast is quite basic and good. I would recommend this Hostel to any traveler !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCn2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    285
    86
    30
    22
See reviews for
20
45
331
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hi Santa Monica is literally the BEST location possible if you are cruising along the LA coastline looking for a place to stay. The Hiking trips offered by the volunteers at the hostel are pretty great and newest Santa Monica volunteer Giovanni is a legend! Rooms are well maintained and the bathrooms provided in the 8+ bed dorms are super handy. Kitchen is huge which makes it easy to prep meals when others are doing the same. Multiple common rooms to hang in - including an outdoor courtyard with gentle wind-chimes that made me feel like I was back in Indo on balmy LA nights. Only downside? HI is alcohol free. Even though I'm not a big drinker, It would have been nice to hang out with a couple of other travellers in the courtyard and enjoy a drink - i found that the alcohol free rule made the common areas a little less social than the average hostel - but saying that, loads of friends we made and the Wednesday pub crawl is worth it - even if most places in SM wind down at 1.30am.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Santa Monica beach (west facing)! Even though you don't get a view, the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kekoakaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so pleased that you took advantage of all that we offer and chose to tell other travelers about your experience. I am happy to announce that we have just installed a new key system that you will just love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hostel was in a perfect location, between the beach and the main busy city areas. The rooms were a good size and the hostel put on a good number of different activities to take part in. The downside of this hostel was that there was only 1 bathroom per floor (and they are big floors) and also in my opinion just too big, I personally prefer a smaller environment rather than a massive multi story building. Still great place to stay in Santa Monica, beats a hotel anyday

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night so can't say I got a proper feel of the hostel. The rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of storage. The bathrooms are separate, could do with an update as they are quite old and the water not hot, and the hair dryers don't work.

Wifi works everywhere
Staff helpful and friendly
You can leave your bag free until 2pm on day of departure

Free breakfast is plentiful, pancakes, toast, cereal, bagels, fruit, yoghurt, juice.

As for the activities I didn't participate in anything but they run pub crawls etc.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hostel is perfect literally one block over from the beach and in the other direction one block over from a street mall. The rooms are tidy with lockers, bathrooms are massive, tidy and easy to use. There is an information centre next door which makes life easy. All of the free tours offered by the hostel that I wanted to participate in kept getting canceled unsure if this was my luck of the draw or a regular occurrence. Would recommend to any solo traveller looking for a fun environment

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 15gemmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed there with some friends and liked it very much. Is close to the beach and other nice locations in Santa Monica...Staff is friendly and the place is very clean...check it out....We only stayed for one night but were impress by the place...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm sure this place could be a paradise but... The location is great! The staff is very kind but when a problem occurs...
My experience was disappointing because when I faced a problem with a (drunk) guy, in a male dorm with his girlfriend (!), the management failed to fulfill my hopes to solve the problem.
The reception gave another room for that night immediately. But it was already 4 am and I have tried three times in order to achieve that. The worst of all is that the next day the manager was unable to help. I left from the reception without having the problem solved. The request was to change the room. The room was changed after a lot of talking but the second day of the short trip there, was already gone!
It is not a safe place. Lots of people drinking and we were also close to a fire break out, when someone has thrown a cigarette in a garbage bin. We had to evacuate the building at that night. No damages were caused but there is no prevention to upcoming risks and problems. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rigas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainplace, General Manager at Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I'm sorry you had a disappointing stay at the hostel. It sounds like the staff did respond by giving you another room but then it got confusing....did you want to move again after that?
We do have a non alcohol policy that is very difficult to enforce. It was unfortunate that someone created such a disturbance by throwing a cigarette in the trash bin...we are a non smoking facility also.
I can assure you that this type of activity is not the norm and I'm really sorry it happened during your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica

Property: Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica
Address: 1436 2nd St, Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2302
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica 2*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Santa Monica hostel is set close to cafes, restaurants and movie theatres, and is only just two blocks from the beach. The J Paul Getty Center, with its spectacular art, architecture and views, is nearby. The hostel has been fully renovated with a fresh, new look. There is capacity for 260 guests and facilities include daily movies, internet access, kitchen, laundry and breakfast.Enjoy your stay at the Santa Monica hostel with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills, UCLA, Venice, Malibu and downtown Los Angeles. A tour operator services the hostel, with daily excursions to Disneyland Resort, Universal Studios, and all the area's famed attractions. This location is the largest purpose-built hostel in the USA,just nine miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Come and check out Santa Monica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Los Angeles/Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing