We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Lodge Hotel, Santa Monica”
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stay here in June 2012 and it was great. To the beach and the Santa Monica Pier 5 min walking. The rooms are verry clean and the beds are good. The price for this location is ok, verry important, parking is free.From the Hotel to the Santa Monica Mall 5 min. to go.We love this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans111Bochum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

When my daughter and I walked into the room, we were horrified. Not worth the $180 they wanted. We left right away and went elsewhere. Had to do some talking to get my card credited but finally they did it. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are way nicer hotels down the street for a little more but totally worth it.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you pay for it...most pictures in their ads are not true...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ralicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Floor in bathroom seemed dirty. Paint/paper was chipped and ripped. When i booked the room i was told it was completely . renovated in the past 2 or 3 months. Obviously it wasn't. Rooms were so small it was hard to maneuver around the family's suitcases. And to top it off there were jackhammers pounding outside our room starting at 7 am. We only made the reservation a week or two ago. We should have been warned about the construction.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank LindaByb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The rooms here are clean and large. The establishment itself looks pretty dated from the outside, but considering most people here are tourists and will spend the majority of their time outside of the rooms, it doesn't really matter. It is about a 5 minute walk from Santa Monica pier which is great. A little far to walk to Venice Beach - so in my case, I stayed one night here and one night further south which enabled me to walk around more easily.

One thing to keep in mind is that as of 27 July, 2012, there is construction going on in the surrounding blocks. I was woken up quite early by a jackhammer out the front, which persisted for over an hour before I had to checkout and leave - it was seriously loud. Of course, this is not the hotels fault and does not reflect badly on them, however if you enjoy a sleep in, it is worth keeping this in mind if you are planning on staying in the near future. For that reason, I still rate them 5 stars as this is beyond their control.

I consider this place very expensive by most standards, but considering the prices of other places in Santa Monica, this is one of the two cheapest options in the entire area, so definitely worth your consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here the end of May, the accommodation was basic but clean, staff were friendly and attentive, location is Perfect for Santa Monica - walking distance from the Pier and the shopping mall. We would stay here again but think it may be knocked down like all the other premises that are being knocked down and rebulit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tinker69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We just returned from Santa Monica and stayed at the Ocean Lodge Motel for four nights. We had a very nice stay and our room was clean and just what we expected. We like staying at family run hotels so we were very pleased with our accommodations. The room was small but we weren't there to stay in the room. We we across the street from Lowes and the pier. The bed was comfortable and our room was quiet. The staff was very nice. We would definitely stay again. Our room was updated and they were working on other rooms while we were there. If you are looking for a high end hotel, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandyOakton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed for two nights, you cannot beat the location, nealy across the road from Santa Monica Pier.
They put us in 108 which is street side, very noisy and it's as if all the street traffic is in your room. We were lucky we were dead tired when we crashed but the noise did not let up.
The Staff are the best you will come across, they moved us the next day and were very helpful.
The Rooms are average at best and I believe for the money they are charging they should be better. Yes I know we are in Santa Monica but really it's a $50 room in any backwater motel in America.
The second room we were given had sticky carpet, really it desperately needs a steam clean, bathroom had black dirty silicon coming away from the floor(oouuh).
Bathrooms from the 1950's.
Luckily the room had a small fridge and air Cond.
I would be using this place for one or two nights max if you want to be close to everything Santa Monica has to offer including the street bums. If Staying longer cough up the extra cash and stay in a better pad!
Last Comment, it served us perfectly for what we needed, would I stay there again. No! If I was desperate? Maybee.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luke-Ivana-Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,122 reviews
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
543 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,314 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3211
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £171 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing