We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scotland loves the Ocean Lodge”
Review of Ocean Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
A TripAdvisor Member
“Scotland loves the Ocean Lodge”
Reviewed 16 July 2006

I stayed at the ocean Lodge and found it to be a home from home from Scotland. Where else can you be in striking distance of the world famous Santa Monica Pier and Venice Beach at those prices. Loved your wonderful weather and unfailing courtesy and great value. The Singing Chairs were special too!
Regards Doug Timmins
nameinlights@blueyonder.co.uk

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    57
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
48
45
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 June 2006

We flew in to LAX from Houston and stayed at the Ocean Lodge Saturday & Sun nites. The location is really good, easy walk to everything that we wanted to see and do. We never got in our car, pd $10 to park it right by our room. Our room was 175.00/nite which is really high for such a small, old place but heck, this is Santa Monica and we learned that it was a bargain after pricing other area hotels. We had a suite which had a small bedroom with a double bed in it in addition to the double bed in the main room. very small bathroom and shower but clean enough....don't expect a spotless, modern room and you won't be disappointed. no A/C but ceiling fans and space fans and it was plenty cool for sleeping (even had to close windows before morning) felt safe enough and after spending a week in the hollywood, disney and universal areas, we took a family vote and headed back to santa monica for our last day and night before flying back to texas! we thought we'd try another hotel but after ckg prices, we ended up back at the Ocean Lodge and our room for that night was $150 since it was just a standard double room. anyway, it's a beach hotel in a great spot....the kids loved the pier area and we all enjoyed renting bikes and riding down the beach to Venice. great place to visit!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2006

this aint a hotel its like one of them motels out the horror movies where you meet a masked murderer , the rooms are well overpriced , the sheets are yellow , the ironing boards like a mini surfboard , and theres about hundred bulldozers out the back , so you get a really good nights sleep, stayed here one night and moved hotel ..... beware

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Managing Director at Ocean Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2006
I am please memberstake the time to write reviews.
Ocean Lodge Santa Monica Beach a California Beach style property is comitted to customer satisfaction. We are well know for quality accomodation, value & Location, Location, Location.............. which is soon to be enhanced by Botinical Gardens and a nearly 5 acre park. We are proud of our facility and serve 10,000+ guests per year. Satidfaction is Guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

Hotel was clean but thought the price a little high for what you get. There is construction going on next door and it was loud due to the street noise. Great location and very nice staff. Definitely just a place to sleep, not to spend too much time in.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2006

What a find on the beach front of Santa Monica. This hotel was one of the cheapest in the area -- being at least $35/night than other locations, and easy to miss if you are not looking for it. It's great if you just want somewhere to lay your head at the end of a busy day, but are not interested in the frills and fancy free "stuff" offered by other hotels trying to grab your business.

The hotel has only 20 rooms. The one we had was quite large considering the cost. A queen bed with a TV, and separate shower area and bathroom. The bathroom was clean, and stocked each day. The shower was powerful, and hot. It was a comfortable and welcoming environment.

The reception desk offers complimentary coffee/tea/hot chocolate -- although there is an abundance of coffee shops in the area which you may prefer.

Across the street is Santa Monica Pier, and about a 5-10 minute walk is the 3rd Street Prominade. A Bus to downtown LA, and other locations, is available right outside the hotel, providing convenience to everything.

There was only one downside, and this is not the fault of the hotel: noise.

When I was staying there, construction was going on either side of the hotel. One morning they started at 5am. For myself, this is not a problem as that is my normal wake-up time. Other people will have a problem.

Also, since you are right on the road, you will be kept awake by traffic --- especially if you live in a quieter location. People running up and down the stairs will also keep you awake.

All-in-all, I was very happy with my stay here. It offered great value for money in a great location. If you forgive the noise, it's a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tommytyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Hotel

Property: Ocean Lodge Hotel
Address: 1667 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3211
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is located in the heart of Santa Monica, just steps away from the Santa Monica Beach, World famous Santa Monica Pier and the popular 3rd Street Promenade. Just the perfect location, courteous service, great rooms and modest pricing makes us "The Travelers Best Choice" We may be small in size but we are Big on service. Customer satisfaction is our commitment and guarantee to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ocean Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing