We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, a bit expensive”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed one night mid-week here in May. We arrived mid-morning and were able to park at the Hotel and do other things before our room was ready, which was handy. The guy at the check-in was friendly, he offered advice for places to eat and things to do, which was wonderful.

We ended up with the Presidential suite. The Hotel is old but they have tried to update it. This suite had a kitchenette. It was annoying that the next door neighbor was smoking outside, which drifted into our room.

Parking is a tight fit underneath. The beach is only a block away and easily walkable to the pier. The restaurants they recommended were great.

The only drawback I found was it was rather expensive for the conditions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is not a hotel/motel you take your family to for a vacation at the beach. Not only was the room loud from the street but also from the tile floor on the room above. It should be bulldozed and a nice replacement put in it's place. The rate reflects a low cost for Santa Monica but really the rate should be more in the $49-$69 range for the quality of the room. Seriously they attempted a paint job and some cheap furnishings to warrant anyone staying but the bath and kitchen should be demolished. The doors only lock from the knob as the key does not work for the deadbolt. Not a problem but would not leave a single thing in the room I could not live without as did not feel safe. They decided that my son age 10 traveling with us warranted a $30 up charge on the room. What is one to do when you travel all day and this is your planned destination but pay the man. They insisted on charging us for my 10 year old son this is just bad for business. International travelers please understand this is not a representation of our Hotels in the USA.

Room Tip: There is not a good room in the place. Pick another Hotel and feel safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 411HotelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Being cheaper than nearby hotels/motels is no excuse for the below average presentation and cleanliness. Many little things need fixing: window latches (the owner, somewhat defensive, showed us how to prevent burglaries by sliding a long piece of wood in the window groove!), a curtain panel missing and curtains letting outside light in, noisy toilet from the room below, no air conditioner, hanging cigar smell outside our room, worn enamel on the shower base, thinnest toilet paper we have ever seen, etc... Door was left unlocked once after room service to our dismay (as there is no safe). On the positive side: great location, a spacious tiled room, a very comfortable king size bed, a nice size TV screen and a small kitchen with a gas stove, great for our hot stove coffee maker. Judging by the 'no vacancy' sign during our 4 nights stay, there is no incentive to upgrade or maintain the property to a higher standard. A pity!

Room Tip: Room 18, second floor and at the back - the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilouGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a very nice location but as soon as we walked in the woman checking us in acted like we were disturbing her reading. We got to our room and it is so noisy... Even with the windows closed. We found out our air conditioner was not working and they had a small fan in it's place.

The shower was tiny and if you adjusted the shower head the hot water would shut off, but if you used the sink while someone was in the shower it would scald them... The towels look like they were cut in half, so overall I'm really disappointed in what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rinjii9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped here for one night, after flying into LAX. Was a 20-30 min drive from Airport. Affordable and a great location. One block (about 10 min walk) to the beach & Pier. Decor was tired but room was tidy enough. Bricks & Mortar was a nice bar nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aforamaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Okay so lets start with the positive - Great Location! Literally a block from the beach! You cant beat the price! The hotel room was a king bed and it was very large and roomy. Overall it was clean for the most part but dingy/old. The negative - it was so hot and there was no air conditioning and although it was by the ocean it was hot... Try getting ready for a wedding and sweating the entire time...We needed to leave the window open all night and the screen was not on securely. The window we left open was attached to an outside sitting area so I did not feel safe so I slept with one eye opened. Don't forget the window had no lock so we couldn't lock it when we left the hotel so just hide your stuff and hope no one takes it... I say its up to you... oh one more thing the ceiling above the shower was disgusting....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLQ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Tired of anonymous corporate hotels? Here's the way to go. Centrally located on Ocean Avenue this small hotel offers friendly personalised service. The room was large with a small kitchen area and comfortable seating. The bathroom and kitchen were tired but then the room was not expensive by Santa Monica standards. Basically it was clean and tidy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the street as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
638 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
567 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,005 reviews
Santa Monica
Sea Blue Hotel
Sea Blue Hotel
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £73 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing