We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and a hidden treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Monica
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Höllviken
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great staff and a hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Seaview hotel doesn't look so much on the outside but you should never judge the book by the cover! The location is great and there is a small, well managed courtyard with a terrace facing the beach. The lady in charge is very professional and kind and there is a man that runs all the practical things in a great way. He even helps you with the parking! The rooms are nice, clean and even has a small kitchen and furnished terrace. We will four sure return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the fist floor or the top room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    180
    95
    31
    33
See reviews for
67
231
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Seaview Hotel's fantastic location, coupled with it's very low price, made up for an awful lot of problems.

Our room was located right on Ocean Blvd. so the noise was deafening (I get the feeling even rooms away from the street will still suffer as badly), the air conditioning packed up sometime in the mid-50s (I would guess), the provided fan didn't work, the bed was lumpy and hot water was sporadic.

Those are some pretty big issues and for most I wouldn't expect the Seaview Hotel to be hugely acceptable.

However, with only one night and a little resignation it is possible to decide that the Seaview is fantastically-located for the beach and little more than a ten minute walk to the pier and 3rd Street Promenade. And that's hard to beat for a hundred bucks.

Room Tip: Try and get away from Ocean Blvd. just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDN_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahpeton, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed one night mid-week here in May. We arrived mid-morning and were able to park at the Hotel and do other things before our room was ready, which was handy. The guy at the check-in was friendly, he offered advice for places to eat and things to do, which was wonderful.

We ended up with the Presidential suite. The Hotel is old but they have tried to update it. This suite had a kitchenette. It was annoying that the next door neighbor was smoking outside, which drifted into our room.

Parking is a tight fit underneath. The beach is only a block away and easily walkable to the pier. The restaurants they recommended were great.

The only drawback I found was it was rather expensive for the conditions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is not a hotel/motel you take your family to for a vacation at the beach. Not only was the room loud from the street but also from the tile floor on the room above. It should be bulldozed and a nice replacement put in it's place. The rate reflects a low cost for Santa Monica but really the rate should be more in the $49-$69 range for the quality of the room. Seriously they attempted a paint job and some cheap furnishings to warrant anyone staying but the bath and kitchen should be demolished. The doors only lock from the knob as the key does not work for the deadbolt. Not a problem but would not leave a single thing in the room I could not live without as did not feel safe. They decided that my son age 10 traveling with us warranted a $30 up charge on the room. What is one to do when you travel all day and this is your planned destination but pay the man. They insisted on charging us for my 10 year old son this is just bad for business. International travelers please understand this is not a representation of our Hotels in the USA.

Room Tip: There is not a good room in the place. Pick another Hotel and feel safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 411HotelReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

gold coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Being cheaper than nearby hotels/motels is no excuse for the below average presentation and cleanliness. Many little things need fixing: window latches (the owner, somewhat defensive, showed us how to prevent burglaries by sliding a long piece of wood in the window groove!), a curtain panel missing and curtains letting outside light in, noisy toilet from the room below, no air conditioner, hanging cigar smell outside our room, worn enamel on the shower base, thinnest toilet paper we have ever seen, etc... Door was left unlocked once after room service to our dismay (as there is no safe). On the positive side: great location, a spacious tiled room, a very comfortable king size bed, a nice size TV screen and a small kitchen with a gas stove, great for our hot stove coffee maker. Judging by the 'no vacancy' sign during our 4 nights stay, there is no incentive to upgrade or maintain the property to a higher standard. A pity!

Room Tip: Room 18, second floor and at the back - the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilouGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

It is a very nice location but as soon as we walked in the woman checking us in acted like we were disturbing her reading. We got to our room and it is so noisy... Even with the windows closed. We found out our air conditioner was not working and they had a small fan in it's place.

The shower was tiny and if you adjusted the shower head the hot water would shut off, but if you used the sink while someone was in the shower it would scald them... The towels look like they were cut in half, so overall I'm really disappointed in what we got.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinjii9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped here for one night, after flying into LAX. Was a 20-30 min drive from Airport. Affordable and a great location. One block (about 10 min walk) to the beach & Pier. Decor was tired but room was tidy enough. Bricks & Mortar was a nice bar nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aforamaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: 1760 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview Hotel is a 1950's art deco gem by the ocean and is super affordable! The rooms have fresh colors, cozy fibers & trendy furniture! Each room includes free wireless, flat screen TV's & complimentary maid service. There is also free parking on a first come first serve basis. Footsteps from the beach via a private walkway. Many of Santa Monica's finest entertainment, restaurants, cafes, shopping centers, and art galleries. Santa Monica Pier is 2 blocks away, while Third St. Promenade is 3 blocks. See you soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Motel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing