We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old tyme charm and warmth in a Victorian manor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Santa Monica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Margarita
1 review
“Old tyme charm and warmth in a Victorian manor.”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Once passed the locked front door, everything was welcoming! We loved the charm of the manor and it was fun to poke our noses into each new room we encountered. Our guest room was just perfect for us having as it did a fireplace, sofa, and large balcony with furniture. The staff was always willing to assist without any hesitancy or hint of being put out. The staff prepares the goodies for the breakfast and the wine & snacks. Not only were they delicious, but the cooks were happy to share their receipes with us, and even how to upgrade and change them to better suit our loves. Staff also recommended restaurants that were within walking distance. Their suggestion was first rate; we had a wondersul meal of fish and seafood.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    98
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
48
338
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carmel california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We enjoyed staying at Channel Road Inn. They serve a nice mini buffet breakfast which includes hard boil eggs, cereals, toast/english muffins, a special egg dish, fruit, and usually fresh baked muffins or breakfast pastry. They also have orange juice, coffee, & tea.
They have lovely sitting areas where you can find find the daily newspaper, a book shelf of books some Movies to watch, and a dish of candy kisses. Also available are sodas anytime.
In the early evening they serve a lovely wine and cheese plate, with a few other surprise.
The rooms are comfortable with fireplaces, televisions,
2 chocolate chip cookies, a little vase of flowers, a teddy bear on each bed and seems to have pottery-barn accents. The price is reasonable and after being here for 2 nights, we returned a few nights later for one more. I think that confirms we would return!!
There is one room in the back that has a queen bed that is very small and I would avoid that room, unless it is the only one left.
The Inn is located a few blocks from the Ocean and near the Getty Villa which is a lovely place to visit with free advance reservation($10.00 parking fee).

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — No ocean view
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carmeltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Great place just 1.8 miles north of the Santa Monica Pier nestled one block from the beach in Santa Monica Canyon. We first stayed here for New Years earlier this month with the house decorated really beautiful for the holidays. The main room and through out the house has detailed wood work and vintage accessories. The rooms we stayed in were plenty big and decorated really cool. There are a couple of porches, one in front and one on the second story were you can hang out and marinate. The afternoon at five comes out the wine and goodies, crackers, dips, cheese, etc., very good. The morning breakfast is between 7:30 and 10:00 which is good for coming in late at night and it has been both times really great. Dominique made an awesome lime coconut cake. All the people here are happy to see you and treated us extremely well. Easy access to Santa Monica above via the back way up Channel Road. We were pleased to make the second trip and look forward to return again. Look for specials on the Four Sisters Inn web site.

  • Liked — The people,ambiance and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shadowventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau County, NY
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a three-night stay at the beautiful and relaxing Channel Road Inn in Santa Monica, which had been recommended by friends. The Inn was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away to visit area attractions! This charming getaway is home to warm, courteous staff who will ensure that your stay is everything you'd like it to be. The Inn has also received architectural recognition and stands registered as an historic landmark. But a tranquil atmpsohere and superior service aren't the only reasons to indulge...scrumptious meals, which include a gourmet breakfast buffet and afternoon tea, wine and biscuits, will leave you wanting more...much more.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank kojena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

My husband and I decided to take a last-minute getaway. Having stayed at one of their sister properties, we decided to try Channel Road. Overall, we weren't disappointed. Upon arrival the door is answered by an inn worker who promptly checked us into our room. (headsup, checkin is in the kitchen. a little strange)
All the ladies at the Inn (Nora, Heather and Nikki) were very nice and helpful in getting around, very warm and accommodating.

Our room was cute and cozy, but definitely showing a little wear especially in the bathroom where there were a few cracked tiles and missing grout along sink area. We did enjoy sitting out on the balcony and listening to the ocean and snuggling up in front of the fireplace to watch a movie. (Only VCR, no DVD player.)

Around 4-ish we decided to use the free bikes and head over to the bike trail along the beach. The Santa Monica pier is a short 2 mile ride away. The bike trail is a close block and a half away but you have to go through a smelly tunnel underground to the beach. Hold your breath. Unfortunately my husband and I were left with the last two working beach cruisers which were rusted and a bit questionnable but we took them anyway. Unfortunately halfway to the pier, the chain popped off my husband's bike so we had to chain up the bikes and walk the rest of the way to the pier. Nice thought to offer bikes but they could definitely use a little maintenance. After returning from dinner at the pier, we headed to the hot tub and boy was it hot. So hot that after a minute, you had to get out and cool off. The garden area by the hot tub was nice and private

The next morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast, better than your typical continental, in front of the fireplace and enjoyed the cozy ambiance of the room. We would definitely return again for a cozy and quick getaway.

  • Liked — Special price and location, wine and cheese hour, breakfast
  • Disliked — Rusty and broken bikes
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Realpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Our room was very comfortable and cozy. Good rate, too. Slept well; then, because the Inn is close to the beach, we began our day with a lazy stroll under the sun and along the sand, followed in the large living room by a yummy breakfast with a current L.A. Times alongside. Chocolate chip cookies, cokes, afternoon wine and snacks, Hershey's kisses -- they had it all. Easy access to the Pacific Coast Highway and I-10 made traveling to distant sites in L.A. very easy. Recommend the Channel Road Inn highly.

  • Liked — comfortable and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing, really
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mthardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

What a great inn! located close to the beach in a nice, safe area. Great restaurants nearby. All of the ladies at the inn were kind, helpful with great suggestions for things to do, places to eat, etc. would stay again! We were in room 1, a cozy queen. were able to see other rooms and they were amazing with lots of room. breakfast was always filling and very yummy.

Thank you!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a bit noisy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ajjarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 219 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Road Inn was recently ranked as top bed and breakfast in Los Angeles by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as well as Travel and Leisure Magazine and is located in the seaside community of Santa Monica. With many rooms boasting fireplaces, jetted spa tubs and peeks of the ocean, this charming and finely crafted historic inn offers visitors to the Los Angeles area a relaxing haven by the sea. Guests enjoy the fabulous complimentary amenities including a bountiful breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Road Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Santa Monica
Channel Road Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing