We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag and a little grimey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Britannia Pub

Britannia Pub
Ranked #167 of 676 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed bag and a little grimey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ate in the upstairs part of the pub...looking for a Gluten Free option which would always be a challenge for my partner. the staff were friendly and attentive.My 'bangers and mash' was quite good...although the mixed vegetables were rather ordinary. I enjoyed the English style sausage and the mash was smooth and tasted fine. My partners 'burger without the bun' was less impressive...with somewhat stale lettuce and the meat tasting deep fried. The upstairs BBQ-style tables were rather basic and felt 'sticky' which is a bit off-putting. All in all...reasonable value, but the pub looked like it needed a good clean and a bit of a spruce up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
746 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price - considering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This pub is just a few steps off the 3rd Street Promenade and is a real pub. We sat at long tables and benches in the back of the room. The food was good, with decent portions, and not too pricey compared with other menus we had studied in the vicinity. The waiters and servers were all very friendly and attentive, and service was prompt. I can recommend this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Although it's not the classiest looking place, i t isn't meant to be. But thats part of it's charm/ The staff were friendly and the drinks and music was flowing. Great spot after a days shopping on the promenade

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank winnie2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing English about it but the name!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I think I said all that needs to be said in the title. It might well be labelled a British pub but there was nothing remotely 'British' about it! The wine was ok. The staff were friendly, but nothing like a British Bar!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The food was ok for what we paid. A bus stop just yards away was full of beggars so you can't really eat outside. Staff friendly enough.Tuesday they have a Beatles tribute evening after 9pm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britannia Pub also viewed

 

Been to Britannia Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing