We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Palm Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Monica Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
341
612
255
59
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
612
255
59
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingihop restaurantbasic hotelshuttle servicethe big blue buscloser to the beachshort drivebeds were very comfortablecoffee makerconvenient locationstreet promenadenice staystayed here for nightsvenice beachlos angelesfew blocksbw
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff. Coffeemachine in the room is nice and free Wifi! Bit expensive but compared to the other hotels is it a very good deal. Next to a Hopi, nearby 7/11 supermarket and donut/bakery (near 16th or 15th street as I remember). Nice to have a breakfast on the 4th floor sundeck. Hospital nearby.
App. 25 minutes walk to beach for us...depending on your speed. Bus stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 543Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Nice hotel, great rooms (VERY comfortable beds), clean, excellent TV. Easy to get to the beach on the bus, which stops on Santa Monica Boulevard and costs $1 each way. Not a lot of choice of eateries in the area, but the IHop cafe, which adjoins the hotel, did fabulous breakfasts....huge, of course.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottsinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed for three nights for a show in LA, worked out perfectly. Hotel was great, clean, very comfy bed, excellent free wifi & no parking charges. Very friendly and helpful desk staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights from 27th July. Although decor/carpeting in corridors a bit dated and could do with a freshen up, the rooms are clean enough and beds were very comfortable. We are a family of 4 with 2 teenage girls and the room was a little short in storage space, however, we had a busy schedule touring LA (incl. San Diego) and this was the perfect location for getting around, free parking, the IHOP attached to the hotel which was very handy and regular bus service down to 3rd St Promenade and Pier - all was perfect and the staff we found friendly and helpful at all times.

Weather tends to appear overcast and cloudy in the mornings but by 1030/11am the sun breaks through and its lovely and warm (around 80s), however, it is very cool in the evenings so leggins/jeans/cardigan would be recommended and we were there July/August.

Recommendations: Universal Studios, hire bikes from Sea Mist Santa Monica Pier and cycle along Venice Beach and walk along Venice Boulevard, great atmosphere. We did the LA Helicopter Tour, Starline LA City tour, movie homes tour, Farmers Market, Knotts Berry water & theme parks and all the Beverly Hills/Hollywood stuff. San Diego 2 hours away, also worth a visit - Seaworld and the City Trolley Tour. Shopping: 3rd Street Promenade, Santa Monica and street entertainment/food and atmosphere really good.

Room Tip: We requested higher floor, which we got, and although we were facing the main road, there was no noise disruption at all. But no rooms really have any exciting view as such.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank delainenorris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel was really easy to find after a long flight to LAX! The staff were really frindly and the easy, free parking was a great bonus.

We only stayed 3 nights but the beds were so comfortable I wis we had stayed longer. The corridors and room had very dated decor but it was very clean and quiet and even though it is right on a busy junction we didn't have any traffic noise with the window shut. The bathroom lacked storage and we didn't have many towels between the four of us but we found the fridge, safe and coffee maker very useful.

We used the iHop next door for breakfast one morning and found the staff there ver friendly and the food good.

This was a good base to explore the area but it is a good mile walk to the beach and the promenade area which was a shame, especially since there was no pool. This hotel is a good budget option for Santa Monica and we would probably use it again if we weren't planning too much beach time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews