We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money for Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
San Marcos, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the money for Santa Monica”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

There aren't many options in this area between $150 and $250 if you're staying for a few days in this area. It's really a good option and the free parking is a real savings. The front desk personnel are quite helpful and friendly. We walked everywhere including to the 3rd St. Promenade. It's a 25 minute walk but we felt safe and loved the exercise. There's a Denny's attached which we didn't utilize. It's easy access to the highway, UCLA, and LA.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cctravelerCctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    568
    240
    57
    17
See reviews for
365
433
47
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel was older but clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was good. It was out of the way a bit so you had to drive to get to restaurants, beach etc. Breakfast was not provided but an IHOP was right next to the hotel. It had good food and good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an early surgery at St. John's and I think it's the best option for hospital-related accommodations. It certainly could use some refurbishing and the price seems too high for what it is but I guess it's reasonable for Santa Monica. We could walk a block to the hospital, and many good restaurants are within a half mile radius. There is also a shuttle to the more exciting areas of this fun city. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, there's a coffee pot and hairdryer so I recommend it as a home base if you need to be near the hospital or if you don't want to pay the steep prices of most hotels in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CT, USA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Free parking. Spacious room with a fridge. Free shuttle to the Pier etc but only on weekdays (so no good for me). IHop next door was handy for breakfast. It is a long way from the Pier but a 'Number 1' bus takes you down there for $1 when the shuttle not in service....however you can find parking garages around the area if you want to take your car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel's proximity to third street promenade and the ocean is its best feature. Worn out rooms, hallways, and the hotels restaurant is the iHop, not my favorite. Parking is included which is convenient. Nothing to particularly complain about; but there was no joy in staying there. I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Noisy area of town so try for a room in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukestravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I will start with the good. The location in Santa Monica is well located for access to the Santa Monica community, and also close to the freeway. The Hotel has plentiful parking (how rare in LA!) and regular shuttle service to the promenade and the beach - which I didn't use. My room was exceptionally clean (I'm very particular about that) and comfortable. I rarely sleep well in hotel rooms, but slept very well at the Best Western Plus. My room was on the street, yet I really couldn't hear the street noise. The worst part of my visit was that when I wanted to buy some bottled water from the vending machines, our floor machine didn't work, the next two floors were out/didn't work. There's no place in walking distance (that I know of) to go to to buy water. So bring your own. The room has a frig, so the water could be kept cold.
Now, the ugly. When we arrived, tired and late, I walked into the lobby...and wanted to leave. The lobby is quite shabby. The halls just a little less so. But these areas were clean, and the rooms had been updated and as I said before, very clean. Would I stay here again? Yes, especially if I were in LA on business, as I was this time, and had a limited amount of time for recreation. I liked that the access to Santa Monica restaurants was very easy. And the hotel felt very safe.

Room Tip: Maid service starts very early. Make sure to use the Do Not Disturb sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclopsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Though reception desk staff are not those you shall positively remember, the Hotel location and price / value aspect are OK. I recall having read one of the reviews in which the notion of having an open garage onto the street that had elevator access from the garage all the way to the rooms, seemed odd, without any kind of security screening or filtering by any guard or hotel staff. We lived it and it was admittedly more than odd and not very comfortable, but you forget about it. We where booked in the Hotel for three nights. The room sizes are OK and have the bare basic minimum amenities. In some aspects the room seems as it requires renovation as it is a bit run down. Again on the price / value for money it is OK. We had booked via hotels.com, therefore had prepaid it in advance. Did not consume anything during our stay, therefore the check out was smooth and easy the evening before departures. We left at 4 a.m. to catch an early flight without even passing by the reception going straight into the garage to load the luggage in the car etc.

Room Tip: Book room in a back area, as hotel is centrally locate on the corner of two main roads, so you prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
601 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,811 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing