We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
dorset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed one night for start of road trip LA to San Francisco, large clean room, attentive staff, free underground parking.
Took taxi into town for 10 dollars, plenty of bars to choose from, friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast taken at IHOP next door to hotel, good food excellent start to the day

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrywDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way to San Francisco, and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    555
    240
    55
    17
See reviews for
359
426
45
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was a great place to stay for the price. You have to walk quite a bit to get to the ocean and shopping, but if you are used to walking and in shape it is a very enjoyable walk. Wall down Arizona, not Santa Monica Blvd for the most scenic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank nsusmra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel, and suggesting a scenic route the beach. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and I'm sure readers will appreciate the walking tip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great location for the LA Marathon. Close enough to stretch and cool you down after finishing the race (approx. 1.5mi from the finish line). The IHOP within the hotel is very convenient for breakfast and protein loading after the race. Good comfortable bed to get good zzzz's before the race

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TasyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay! We're very glad you had a good night's sleep before the marathon, and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Totally surprised on how nice they remodeled this hotel. Love the shudders on the big Windows. New bedding really brightens up the room. It also was nice to see housekeeping taking entire bedding off to clean..and. blankets are sheet wrapped. With no carpets makes it easy to see how clean it is. Free parking is also a great plus!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dran58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us again during your return visit to Santa Monica. We're very glad you liked how we remodeled the hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here before taking a flight to Hawaii, coming from Monterey The hotel is conveniently located close to Santa Monica beach and pier (we walked there in 20 min) and 20 min from the airport.
The rooms were newly refurbished, but the hotel lacks style and caracter.
Excellent for a 1 night stay, but if woudl would ave stayed longer in Santa Monica, I would have picked a hotel on Ocean boulevard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your way to Hawaii! Although we are disappointed we did not exceed your expectations, we respect that not everyone has the same preferences. If you ever do need to stay in Santa Monica again for one night, however, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our stay was good. Rooms updated and have a beach feel to them. IHOP at the hotel was great for breakfast. Only minor complaint is the inside stairs was locked all the time to go up, however staff here is extremely friendly to open each time since my wife is scared of elevators. Otherwise, this hotel is great. Only minutes from the Santa Monica beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for complimenting our staff. They always strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and truly appreciate whenever someone takes time to acknowledge their efforts. If you plan on visiting Santa Monica in the future, we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at BWPG before renovations were done and I was happy to see that renovations were just about complete when we returned for our most recent stay. The new colors and decor give the hotel a nice "beachy" feel. But what I like best about BWPG is the staff. These guys are super nice and the general manager went out of his way to make sure that my daughter, who had surgery at St. John's, and I had what we needed. That's a nice touch, especially when you are far from home. We'll be returning to Santa Monica for my daughter's follow-up visit with her surgeon and we will, if there is an availability, stay again at the Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonimoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
On behalf of our General Manager and Hotel Staff, thank you for your kind compliments! We're also very glad you like the renovations! We are sorry that the reason for your visit was for other than pleasure, and hope that on your next visit, everything turns out well for your daughter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
591 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
609 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Santa Monica
The Ambrose
The Ambrose
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Property: Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Address: 1920 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing