We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent two nights here at the hotel. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Location was ok. A little out of the way from everything, however if you don't mind walking its not to far to the pier. The rooms were much better than we were expecting. Comfy beds, a lot of space in the room. One downside was that it was quite noisy in the rooms. Overall we were happy with the quality of the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I guess I expected more from this Best Western Plus after visiting the BW+ in Carlsbad, CA....Yes, it was clean and the staff were great. And there was little if any noise and the hotel looked very updated. But, I was left unsatisfied with the fitness room and not having complimentary breakfast (though I knew it did not before I booked). IHOP located within the building was nice, however....but had to pay. I would recommend staying but would definitely look for a better price next time. It was nice not having to pay for parking but assume that was already lodged into the price of the room somehow. I would recommend they do that with the complimentary breakfast as well....if that is what they do with the parking. The location to the pier and other sites was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Free parking and close to St. John's Medical Center.IHop restaurant next door and discount with hotel voucher. Room rate discount also if getting treatment at medical facilities. Free shuttle down Santa Monica Blvd.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollycowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel accommodations were acceptable for our needs. There was no breakfast available through hotel but there is an IHOP attached. Made for an expensive breakfast. Not a lot of food options in the close proximity to hotel and a way out from downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Guest feedback helps us evaluate our product and service and, based on your comments, we are disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. However, we thank you for having chosen to stay with us, and for taking time to let us know about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My two girlfriends and i stayed here recently. After a 14 hour flight from Australia, we caught a cab straight from LAX (approximately $35) and was so happy when there was a room ready for us despite it being well before check in time. The hotel had everything that we needed. It felt rather modern with good working wifi, big TV, and very very comfy bed.

Unfortunately, the only restaurant nearby is an iHop which i wasn't loving, and the location is too far to walk to and from the pier. There is a bus stop nearby but we found it easier just to call a cab.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaBlueAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We're very glad a room was ready when you and your friends arrived, so you could rest on the comfy bed after your long flight! And, thank you for letting us know that we provided everything you needed during your stay! If you ever plan on returning to Santa Monica, we hope you'll stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We only stayed overnight, and the IHOP next door was very convenient! Rooms were very clean and comfortable, although a little small and the view was of the IHOP wall! The staff were very friendly and I really appreciated that they let us leave our car in the deck while we took the Rasta Bus tour, so we didn't have to pay for public parking all day!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWGateway, Sales Manager at Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and complimenting our staff. They always enjoy helping our guests and are very grateful whenever their efforts are appreciated. If you ever visit Santa Monica again, we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms were very well done -- clean and comfortable and the staff was amazing -- my husband dropped his keys in a grate in the parking garage and the maintenance staff retrieved them which was no easy feat. They were very helpful and courteous!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Stefanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
704 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £146 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing