We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in June. This hotel was one of the only in our price range in Santa Monica that had was the standard we wanted. The room was clean and the beds comfortable (essential after the 15 hour flight from Australia).

The location isn't the best (far from the beach), but that's why it's cheaper. The bus stops right outside though and runs frequently enough.

One staff member was not particularly helpful when we asked for advice on getting to Anaheim, but other staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Angie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

As a native of Santa Monica, we moved away nearly 10 years ago, but when we return for a visit a couple of times a year we almost always stay at this hotel. It's difficult to find a hotel in Santa Monica in a neighborhood where we feel safe and secure for under $200 a night and there are very few good choices in the $200-$350 category. Stay by the ocean? Be prepared to ante up the equivalent of your mortgage payment! The Best Western Gateway fits all of our needs in terms of location, price and amenities. Much to our surprise the hotel has been tastefully upgraded. From the pleasing lobby to the hardwood floors in our room to the nice towels and bath products this hotel has stepped it up a notch. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and while I still swallow hard to justify the rate at a Best Western the hotel does do a commendable job. If you are coming to Santa Monica and don't require an ocean view for $500 a night then this is the best property in town. Take it from a native!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not open up to busy Santa Monica Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a very basic 3 star hotel. I am a bit surprised about the "Plus" designation, which I found to be meaningful at the San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf location. There is nothing special about the rooms or lobby. Don't expect an interesting view. The staff is bored and shows little interest in helping you with any request. The location is not close to the beach, but it is safe and clean. There is no restaurant, but they give you a 20% discount at the nearby IHOP for any meal except breakfast. The air conditioning units in the rooms are noisy. Leaving the windows open on busy Santa Monica Blvd is even noisier. The bathroom doors spring shut. Elevator service is poor. Internet and parking is free, which is a bit unusual in this market. The exercise facility is minimal, poorly maintained and they skimp on air conditioning in summer. If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive place to sleep, and won't be spending much time in the hotel, this is an adequate choice.

Room Tip: Avoid noise by asking for rooms that do not face Santa Monica Blvd. Ask for a low floor so you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ITArsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Staff unfriendly and not helpful. We spent three nights there and dreaded each one. Stuffy, muggy room even with air conditioning on. Staff turned it off (not just down) during the day while we were out. Halls and elevators are not air conditioned. We booked our room for 4 people and were given two bath towels, two hand towels and two wash cloths, one bar of soap. The coffee pot and sundries were in bathroom which barely left enough room for our toothbrushes. No amenities. Free WIFI means no WiFi. When we asked about laundry service, the front desk could not give us any answers as to cost other than to tell us to look at the slip of paper, which was not in our room. No pool, no breakfast, no information on transportation and don't try to book the shuttle on a weekend, as they do not offer that on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank napoliNaples_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here once before as options in this city are extremely expensive. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. We needed to check out early due and they were extremely nice about it. Love the free parking and the location is pretty good. Beds are comfortable and we were able to get a room where street noise is limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cctravelerCctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I've put my family here twice and we'll be back! Check it out. Great location, food and everything. The price may seem high to out-of-towner, but this is the best deal for the area and value you get! You're only 20 blocks from the beach, free car parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights whilst on our honeymoon. Most hotels we stayed in (New York, Vegas, San Francisco and Chicago) upgraded us or left a bottle of Champagne in our room.
Not in this one... So don't expect anyspecial treatment! Our room looked out onto another building right opposite so the view was pretty rubbish. Location was further away than we thought (about 15 blocks) but there is a free shuttle bus on weekdays which we used once. The rooms were pretty basic with rather dated decor but we slept really well and the staff were always friendly, hence I've given 4 stars (it should be 3.5 really!). Probably wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ANH779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
706 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,952 reviews
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £145 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and pedestrian friendly Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing