We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near Santa Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights here as a base for our time in LA arriving from the UK. Santa Monica and Venice sea fronts are a short drive and the location is good for Beverley Hills, Downtown, the Getty, Hollywood and Malibu. The rooms are clean and quiet. Parking (and wifi) is free which is very important in LA. We enjoyed the nearby Thai restaurant recommendation and their iHop was useful to load up with calories for breakfast. It would have been nice to stay on Santa Monica beach but if you visit LA this is a good, safe place to stay, sleep and eat breakfast which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank S_J_C_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have stayed at many hotels and when something disrupts a persons stay an apology is usually given. A Fire Alarm went off two times before 4:00 am and disrupted my sleep. No one apologized or made note of a problem occurring

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank gourmetjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Not too much to write about actually. The rooms are updated, very basic, we had a king room, it wasn't big. There is no pool, no hot tub, no breakfast. There is a garage parking which is a plus. The hotel is in Santa Monica, but pretty far from 3rd street, the pier, etc. The shuttle runs only on weekdays (we had a car, but otherwise you have to rely on public transportation).

Room Tip: We had a room not facing the street, it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Santa Monica is a reasonably expensive area to stay and this is one of the better priced places in a safe area. I find it hard to call this Best Western a hotel its more like an Inn or a motel. On the positive side it has free underground car parking, there is a regular bus service across the street (costs $1 to Venice beach), the IHOP beside it is good for breakfast and there are very few alternatives in the area.
Negative side: feels like a building that has been converted from an office block or something to a 'hotel', sound proofing is non-existent , if you have young kids in the room above you they can sound like a heard of elephants, if you have noisy neighbours or people in the corridors at night they will easily waken you up. Stayed in 7 different hotels on my 17 day trip but I'm sorry this one is bottom of the list.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mushuBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I came to stay here to help out my parents after my mother travelled to LA for surgery at St. John's. My parents were here for nearly 2 weeks in a handicapped accessible room I was only here 2 nights.


First off, by way of full disclosure, I usually stay at more upscale hotels (not the Ritz, but fancier than this). The rooms are simple with a kind if odd beach theme that doesn't match the halls. BUT the rooms are clean and the beds surprisingly comfortable.

The restaurant at the hotel is an IHOP, the staff were really, really kind and remembered my dad every day.

Everyone I met here was really nice. In particular a member of the housekeeping staff named Sonia. One day I asked her to clean the room even though my mom was in bed. After that she always asked how my mom was doing.

I saw a lot of international families. The halls were pretty quiet. It is reasonably priced for the area and although not fancy, gets the job done with much kindness thrown in.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank leahsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff was friendly and always greeted us with a smile. We had a king room, which was a bit small but I liked it. The wooden floor wasnt noisy or squeaky, it seemed pretty solid. We requested and got a room on the top floor. The patio right outside of the room was a nice surprise, it would have been nicer if it was private with a seating area, but still very nice. The bathroom was nice and spacious, but if the coffee maker was on top of the fridge there would be more counter space. The towels were nice and not scratchy like one reviewer mentioned. IHOP staff/food were nice even on the weekend although it was busy we were able to get a table and service without a long wait. The only con is the parking, although its free they allow IHOP patrons to park and although they have parking designated for employees, I believe they still park in the areas designated for hotel patrons if you get there after 9pm there are no spots, it happened to us twice. But they allowed us to park next to the hotel so it worked out. I wouldnt walk to the beach from the hotel because that would be a long walk but it is a straight drive (about 10 minutes in heavy traffic) right down Santa Monica Blvd to the 3rd street prom and SM mall, restaurants and the beach. Overall it was a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reese7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lovely nice contemporary upgrades. Very clean and good kind staff. Best deal in Santa Monica. Breakfast was standard coffee, juice, pastries and pancakes and eggs and fruit. Great coffee.. all was clean and easy hours..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Loulie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,970 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
721 reviews
Santa Monica
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel Santa Monica

Address: 1920 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1909
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £141 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Hotel Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Santa Monica's Beach Cities burgeoning neighborhood located on historic Route 66 and easy accessibility to all that Los Angeles has to offer! Mid-City Santa Monica The Gateway Hotel is located less than two miles from Santa Monica's beach side, The Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade with an array of luxury shopping and dining all within walking distance. Guests arriving at the Gateway Hotel Santa Monica find an exceptionally welcoming, cheerful and affordable hotel featuring all the comforts of home. Blending coastal style accommodations with friendly service and plenty of thoughtful perks, our 123 bright, contemporary rooms offer pillow top mattress, 42-inch flat panel TV's with cable, complimentary coffee, tea and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gateway Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Santa Monica
Santa Monica Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing