We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Art Deco Hotel”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Great location. The hotel is charming and everyone is very helpful. We had a wheelchair accessible room. The room had a very comfortable kng bed, and spacious bathroom with a roll in shower. One has to use two stair lifs if yoy use a wheelchair ( one outside the hotel and one inside hte hotel) to get to the elevator but there is always somone there to help.
We had breakfast at the resturant outside looking at the ocean. The food was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2008

I stayed for 2 days in an ocean view room, and enjoyed my stay at the Georgian Hotel.
All staff members were very friendly/helpeful and with a genuine smile.
The room was very clean, comfortable and a view of the ocean was wonderful.
I had a breakfast at Veranda; the food was great and resturant staffs were very friendly/professional. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

A standard good hotel, confortable room and bed, good toilet, excellent location.

But it is very expensive, does not worth the price. Parking is also too expensive, much more than other hotels at the same block.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcello_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Reading all of the other reviews, I more or less agree with them. I stayed here with my family last week for 2 nights. This is a charming hotel with a killer view. Now down to the information that you can really use. When you book your reservation (call and chat with the very pleasant reservationist) and ask for the Clark Gable Suite. It is on the 8th floor and has the most amazing view of the Pacific Ocean, the Pier and a sunset to die for. It has a king size bed with flat screen tv, HUGE bathroom (at least for this hotel) and a great living room with sleeper couch (great for 2 kids), upholstered chaise lounge, desk, mini bar area and flat screen tv. Because it is on the 8th floor, there is very minimal street noise. Downside, the elevators are a little small and slow. But they are historic and very cool. It goes for $450 a night. Add on an additional $20 for the Bed and Breakfast package and you get free Vallet service (worth $21 a day) and breakfast downstairs for 2. Breakfast here is GREAT and will run about $12 - $20 per person. Without a doubt, when I return to Santa Monica, this will be my first choice of hotel, based on location, quiality, comfort and price. Thank you to all the the reviewers that turned me on to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Jet Nag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights last week.

Very elegant hotel with original art deco throughout. Service very good and pleasant.

Room most comfortable with a fantastic view of the beach and pier.

Breakfast good choice and amazing quality - try the souffle french toast for example.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and some friends we had around for cocktails one evening thought it was great too.

Our first visit to Santa Monica and we really enjoyed the beach, the historic town district and Venice and its canals.

Only negative was there was no bar/drinks at all later in the evening.

Highly recommended overall, both the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Like_old_buildings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2008

we had a good stay, excellent room and very soft bed, spoilt only by bad wifi connection even when supplied by a free bridge (external usb antena) free of charge by the hotel.

valet parking and all staff were top class.

unfortunately rooms at the front of the hotel suffer from the loud all night buses although this is not the fault of the hotel - double glazed window units wouldn't go amiss.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank woolly200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed for one night in a standard king room. The room was very clean, nicely decorated. The bathroom was small, but nicely done and super clean. Staff was friendly. The location is absolutely perfect for Santa Monica - just around the corner from the Santa Monica Blvd, 3rd street, and the pier. And the beach is right across the street, of course. Overall the hotel really has that old world charm to it. We will definitely stay again. As negatives, I must say that the location of the hotel means that there is street noise from Ocean Avenue. Also, the hotel in itself is not very well insulated, so one can hear quite easily what is happening next door...But definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank BayAreaFinnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £206 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing