We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely art deco hotel right on Santa Monica beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely art deco hotel right on Santa Monica beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was my second time staying at the Georgian Hotel - a lovely art déco in a great location (you are minutes away from Santa Monica pier, the beach as well as all the shops and restaurants on Third Street promenade).
Its bright turquoise facade and nicely illuminated terrace make it stand out on Ocean Avenue and add a nice bit of old-fashioned atmosphere. The same applies to the rooms: Especially the bathrooms with their black and turquoise tiles are so much nicer than average standardized bathrooms in similarly priced hotels. A nice extra are the high-quality soaps and body lotion with essential oils, and I liked that they come in large bottles installed into the walls so you don't create a mountain of plastic waste like you do with the usual mini bottles.

The rooms aren't huge (but comfortable) and there are nice details, like the small card you get each day with the next day's weather forecast. It's these small things that make this place special for me.

I must say that on my first stay, the staff was friendlier (back then, they seemed genuinely happy to interact with you, this time it was more standard American politeness, but still efficient and without issues). Also, that time, they participated in an event to raise awareness of climate change and energy consumption - which meant they turned off all lights, and left all guests a mini-flashlight on the pillow with an invitation to a glass of wine in the bar in the interest of saving the planet.

Only disadvantage: The walls are rather thin, so you will be able to follow entire conversations in the bathroom that are being held somewhere next door. I was glad my room wasn't next to the elevators.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    742
    250
    77
    38
See reviews for
572
911
83
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our room as not ready at check in which was an inconvenience. Hotel staff allowed us to put our luggage in a conference room so we could head to the beach and not waste any time. Gorgeous and spacious room. Valet parking was a breeze. Hotel in excellent condition and exudes charm and grace.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonsmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san pedro
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I was agonizing over where to stay in Santa Monica that had an ocean view and was reasonably priced. Some of the other places, like The Shore and Viceroy were pretty steep for an ocean view. I was very pleased with The Georgian. We had a clear beautiful ocean view from our room. Although the room and bathroom were a bit on the small side, it was absolutely comfortable and beautifully decorated with the art deco theme. The bedding and pillows were so comfortable that I could have stayed there all day long. Another plus is the location. Everything was very close for us to walk to, especially for our trapeze class on the pier.

The behind the scenes people at The Georgian made my reunion with my friend extra special. An extra "hats off" to Laura in reservations, Juan in management, and Simeon who helped us from luggage to valet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Sat nearly on the beach just across the road - clean, friendly and the perfect location
Pier a few hundred yards away and 3rd street round the corner for dozens of excellent restaurants,
Had a ocean suite for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenage boys) and worked well for 3 nights, a double bed and sofa bed and the chaise-lounge.
Great base to explore LA from - must have a car I feel, however hotel was top notch
Originally booked in LA and glad i didn't - best to stay out of town and go in and around
Would highly recommend it

Room Tip: Front of the hotel with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kityikana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A lovely hotel in central Santa Monica, close to all attractions onocean ave.A warm welcome from the front desk as well as the car valets who were literally running nonstop to accommodate us as well as other guests. One of the main reasons we "splurged" for this hotel was because I was able to used reward points so the room cost us pennies for the two nights. Not sure I would have wanted to spend the 750 for the stay. The room we were led to was on the 2nd floor was VERY nice but the window overlooked the alley and view was of the wall of the next building and nothing else! I immediately called the front desk and asked for something slightly more spectacular. They moved us to the same room on the 6th floor..and voila! A gorgeous view of the ocean..had to clear the rooftop ! One has to wonder if this is because of the reward points. But, very comfy beds and hot water.
I agree with the other guests about the ridiculous $100 charge for incidentals...still watching my statement for refund. And that came with a warning about touching the mini bar which was very SENSITIVE about items being touched or removed and you could inadvertently incur a charge...??? Really?
One disappointment..no refreshments..juice,water coffee...a cookie perhaps in the lobby at ANY time. EVERY other establishment we visited during the week offered SOMETHING for guests. So ...we did not sample anything from the bar or restaurant.
Would I stay here for full price ..not sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I booked the Georgian for three nights for our family of five after seeing the prices for Shutters. After staying there, I'm glad we were at the Georgian and NOT Shutters.

The hotel plays up the Art Deco theme in a great way - you do feel that there's history behind it, and that makes it fun. Other fun things include the old-fashioned elevator and the veranda for cocktails and people-watching.

The restaurant was just fine. Not the fastest ever, but very nice servers (especially one sweet, tiny waitress who remembered our orders from the day before!). When we came back from having sushi one night and sat down for dessert in the dining room (almost empty by that time), the staff acted so happy to see us that it was quite delightful and felt pleasantly old-fashioned, as though we were having a treat.

I'm mystified by a couple of other reviewers' comments about the front desk staff. All our interactions with them were quite friendly, and they greeted us every time we went in or out of the building. The parking valets were equally friendly. (And I'm puzzled by the $200 upfront charge someone mentioned - we encountered nothing like that.)

We had an oceanfront suite with a living room that faced the ocean side - lots of windows and light. Two of our kids had a standard two-queen bed room along the south side of the building, but even so, they could see the ocean too. Our living room had plenty of seating for everyone, even when watching a movie on TV, and a pull out couch for our youngest to sleep in. The living room was separated from the bedroom by big french doors. The bathroom was quite roomy (the standard room's bathroom was considerably more cramped).

Of course there are quirks and inconveniences, since it's an old building. You can hear conversations if the people in the next room are loud, especially in the bathrooms. The location can be noisy, too, but it would be that way with any of the Ocean Ave hotels, I think. Each night I was jolted awake by something outside - but that's to be expected in a busy area.

The location itself was perfect. We went to three different restaurants for dinner during our stay, and none was more than 4 blocks away. We could easily walk to the beach. Although we did very little in Santa Monica during our three days in the LA area, I'm very happy we stayed at the Georgian and I would recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megapax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

Santa Monica is great and this place is just lovely. Didn't spend a massive amount of time in hotel but we found it a good location, staff were friendly and a lovely ornate and kitsch hotel to come back to.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickabeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing