We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I've stayed few times in this hotel for both business and pleasure. Right in front of the ocean, offers great views. The hotel is super old but rooms are renovated and well decorated, bed is confortable and room is clean. The elevator is old and funky, but it works properly and has its charm. I went to the restaurant for brunch when I arrived and it took way too long though. Location: close to the promenade and great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibiLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    753
    258
    79
    40
See reviews for
584
921
86
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location in Santa Monica, probably equidistant from the beach and pier, and the hustle and bustle of restaurants/shops. The decor was beautiful and gave the place real character (really loved the retro elevator). The room/bathroom were small (compared to the other places we stayed in our trip), but it was more than big enough for the two of us and we didn't spend that much time there overall.

We had continental breakfast included, but we kept seeing people ordering the other items, so on the second morning treated ourselves to eggs florentine/benedict - it was the best breakfast I had (and worth the extra money).

The service on the whole was pretty good, front desk as you might expect, were very friendly - the breakfast / valet staff less so, but still nice.

Having a sea view room was what really made it special I think, so get that if you can. We were on the 7th floor, which was perfect, and gave us a real panoramic view. I think lower floors (even the rooms under ours) might have had a view obstructed by trees a little - though I might be wrong.

Parking is not free there (you'd be hard pushed to find somewhere in Santa Monica that is free. The best thing to do is just pay the valet which is $26 for the day, or, on the first right after the hotel you can find a small car park on the left (it's not covered - you could see your car from the street, so felt really safe to me) where you can park for the full day until 8am the next day for $20

Room Tip: Go for 7th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holibobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The colourful exterior in true art deck style stands out along the main sea facing street in Santa Monica. The lobby is small, but stylish. Our room was not huge and the bathroom was small, but it was nicely done in an art deck style. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Staff were helpful especially the waitress trying to ensure that guests who wanted to have breakfast on the terrace were seated as soon as a table came free. We had breakfast included and it was good.

The location is perfect for enjoying Santa Monica. Sadly we only had one night here. This hotel has some character that the other nearby properties may not have, although I suspect that they may be more luxurious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Georgian over Labor Day weekend, and our stay was pretty great, for the most part. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, with super comfortable beds and a nice mini-bar. The location is incredible, right across from the beach, and brunch on the terrace was delicious. The only cons were that the hotel has a lot of steps one needs to climb in order to enter and then go up to the elevator, and this can be difficult for some. Also, I wish that they had an real hotel bar. Drinks are only served at the tables and not after 10pm. Also, housekeeping was a bit sloppy. They broke a glass in our bathroom and left a hunk of broken glass on the floor. Luckily, we saw it before it caused any harm. I'm sure that was probably a fluke, though. Overall, I'd recommend The Georgian if you are young, healthy, and OK seeking out non-hotel nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

A fun old style hotel fronting the beach in Santa Monica. It's been well renovated, the rooms are modern but the 1930's feel remains. In oh so trendy Santa Monica, CA it's fun to stay in a place that is centrally located, has the modern conveniences, a great location but hints of 1930's elegance. I'd recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dang213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Location Location Location. You can’t get a better location at that price range. Right on Ocean Avenue, across the famous Santa Monica Pier, across the beach, 2 blocks from Third Street Promenade and 15 min from Beverly Hills. Customer service was top notch. Yes it is $30 for valet to park your car...no other option. This is an 80 yr old hotel with a great feel. The 80 yr old elevator was smooth and an interesting experience. It is very well run, completely updated and well maintained. You must sit on the outdoor deck and people watch. Another must do is to bike ride to Venice beach. You can leave your car and baggage with them after you check out and explore. Absolutely loved Santa Monica and The Georgian Hotel. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling3oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Georgian for three nights at the end of a marathon trip through Canada and the US. We loved the hotel the moment we walked into the lobby, it 1920 style and decor has been wonderfully preserved, as well as their 80 year old elevators which are still in great working condition. We stayed in a corner suite which was tastefully furnished and had lovely views of the beach, Santa Monica Pier (especially at night) and the beautiful sunsets.
Its prime location is great, close to restaurants and shopping malls with Santa Monica Boulevard just around the corner.

Room Tip: The view was very much a factor in our rating of this hotel and our overall satisfaction.
See more room tips
Green Features: Normal environmental practices were in place, as fare as linen was concerned.. Energy saving practices were also evident.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorthe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing