We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historisches Hotel mit Charme - Historic hotel with charm”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Ein nettes Hotel mit historischem Charme.
Die Zimmer sind zwar recht gut ausgestattet, jedoch für den Preis ein wenig zu klein geraten. Die Badezimmer hingegen könnten eine Auffrischung gut ertragen.
Das Personal ist freundlich und stets bemüht.
Die Lage direkt an der Ocean Avenue ist nahezu perfekt. Strand, Pier und Einkaufsstraße sind fußläufig. In der Umgebung gibt es viele Möglichkeiten zum Frühstücken, so dass man das teure Angebot im Hotel nicht in Anspruch nehmen muss.
Parken ist im Hotel ebenso recht teuer, aber in der Nähe sind weitaus günstigere Parkhäuser.
Alles in Allem hatten wir einen angenehmen Aufenthalt, der jedoch etwas zu teuer geraten ist.

Google-translation:

A nice hotel with historic charm.
The rooms are very well equipped, but got a little too small for the price. The bathroom, however, could stand a good refresher.
The staff is friendly and always ready.
The location right on Ocean Avenue is almost perfect. Beach, pier and shopping street are within walking distance. In the area there are many options for breakfast, so you do not have to take advantage of the expensive facilities in the hotel.
Parking at the hotel is also quite expensive, but nearby are much cheaper car parks.
All in all we had a pleasant stay, however, is a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloodflowers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the third time we have stayed in the Georgian. We love the location, overlooking the ocean and Santa Monica Pier. Its a really old art deco hotel, full of character. The rooms have been renovated and are very clean and well maintained. Its worth having a room with an ocean view, we had a side view looking towards Malibu. We paid for the inclusive rate, room, breakfast and valet parking. There is no self parking available so we thought that this was the best bet. Breakfast was very good and we were lucky enough to get a verandah table each morning.

We also enjoyed sitting on the verandah in the evening having a drink and watching the world go by. One small gripe, the bar closes very early, some nights we were asked for our last orders before 10:00pm. We're not late nighters but that was even too early for us.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, in particular we would like to thank Melinda and Placido for looking after us so well. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrissyH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear CrissyH123,

It was our pleasure having you here with us. Thank you for taking advantage of the added value in our "Bed & Breakfast" package. Melinda and Placido both send their regards and they too look forward to your return.

Do not hesitate to contact me to confirm your accommodations.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I've stayed few times in this hotel for both business and pleasure. Right in front of the ocean, offers great views. The hotel is super old but rooms are renovated and well decorated, bed is confortable and room is clean. The elevator is old and funky, but it works properly and has its charm. I went to the restaurant for brunch when I arrived and it took way too long though. Location: close to the promenade and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BibiLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location in Santa Monica, probably equidistant from the beach and pier, and the hustle and bustle of restaurants/shops. The decor was beautiful and gave the place real character (really loved the retro elevator). The room/bathroom were small (compared to the other places we stayed in our trip), but it was more than big enough for the two of us and we didn't spend that much time there overall.

We had continental breakfast included, but we kept seeing people ordering the other items, so on the second morning treated ourselves to eggs florentine/benedict - it was the best breakfast I had (and worth the extra money).

The service on the whole was pretty good, front desk as you might expect, were very friendly - the breakfast / valet staff less so, but still nice.

Having a sea view room was what really made it special I think, so get that if you can. We were on the 7th floor, which was perfect, and gave us a real panoramic view. I think lower floors (even the rooms under ours) might have had a view obstructed by trees a little - though I might be wrong.

Parking is not free there (you'd be hard pushed to find somewhere in Santa Monica that is free. The best thing to do is just pay the valet which is $26 for the day, or, on the first right after the hotel you can find a small car park on the left (it's not covered - you could see your car from the street, so felt really safe to me) where you can park for the full day until 8am the next day for $20

Room Tip: Go for 7th floor or above
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holibobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The colourful exterior in true art deck style stands out along the main sea facing street in Santa Monica. The lobby is small, but stylish. Our room was not huge and the bathroom was small, but it was nicely done in an art deck style. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Staff were helpful especially the waitress trying to ensure that guests who wanted to have breakfast on the terrace were seated as soon as a table came free. We had breakfast included and it was good.

The location is perfect for enjoying Santa Monica. Sadly we only had one night here. This hotel has some character that the other nearby properties may not have, although I suspect that they may be more luxurious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Georgian over Labor Day weekend, and our stay was pretty great, for the most part. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious, with super comfortable beds and a nice mini-bar. The location is incredible, right across from the beach, and brunch on the terrace was delicious. The only cons were that the hotel has a lot of steps one needs to climb in order to enter and then go up to the elevator, and this can be difficult for some. Also, I wish that they had an real hotel bar. Drinks are only served at the tables and not after 10pm. Also, housekeeping was a bit sloppy. They broke a glass in our bathroom and left a hunk of broken glass on the floor. Luckily, we saw it before it caused any harm. I'm sure that was probably a fluke, though. Overall, I'd recommend The Georgian if you are young, healthy, and OK seeking out non-hotel nightlife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A fun old style hotel fronting the beach in Santa Monica. It's been well renovated, the rooms are modern but the 1930's feel remains. In oh so trendy Santa Monica, CA it's fun to stay in a place that is centrally located, has the modern conveniences, a great location but hints of 1930's elegance. I'd recommend it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank dang213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,894 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,604 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £238 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing