We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a charm”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hotel with a charm”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

For our last day in US we wanted a nice hotel by the beach. We chose The Georgian hotel because of the good reviews. It comes at a very high price. We ended up paying 300$ for the night which is quite steep for a hotel that does not offer a pool and no breakfast included.

Anyway, the staff were friendly although we had limited interactions being out all the time. The reception person did the effort to offer us the room as soon as possible which was nice.

The room is spacious while the bathroom give you the feeling of a 1940s. As any expensive hotel don't expect free water in the room. Thanks though for the free internet which is available everywhere.

Although is a nice hotel I wouldn't stay there again. Not because it's not good but mainly because I think it targets another age group, >40s.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear DragoJ,

Thank you for spending time with us here at The Georgian Hotel and enjoying our mixture of "old & new". We do hope that you may reconsider returning, I cannot provide a pool on property, however there are some that are close, and the Pacific Ocean is just across the street and breakfast is always an option.

Warm Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    764
    262
    84
    40
See reviews for
592
927
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
310 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Georgian hotel is an historic hotel option in santa monica. The hotel is very nice, clean and the service is high end. Remarkable the sunday brunch and the lovely patio overlooking ocean avenue and the ocean. Try the homemade burger, it's fantastic, very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealBusinessReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for a mini getwaway with my bf and wow, the staff, Room, and location made the experience so amazing. Definitley would recommend staying here. Staff is just the most accomodating and friendliest you will come across. Hotel serves the most amazing breakfast too.Such a charming place, absolutely loved every bit of my stay. Will only stay here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatima m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is lovely to look at from the outside, and has a historic, quaint ambience. It's kind of a mixed bag, though. I wanted to love it, but I'm used to staying in newer hotels. For $280 a night we were assigned a non-view room that looked out at a drab gray building with no windows in it, an alley's distance away. All the room's features, from the paint on the walls and ceiling, to the bathroom shower and floor, to the fan in the ceiling felt a little dated. There's no sound proofing whatsoever, so we were unable to sleep in past 8am since we could hear every door on our hall slam shut, and all kinds of noise from upstairs that sounded like furniture being moved around. Back to the plus side, the room was well-maintained in that it was perfectly clean, had no odors, and no bugs. I have no complaints about the staff, the valet parking was convenient and quick, and the hotel is in a safe, clean area, right across the street from a park that spans a great distance along a bluff with a view of the ocean. As you head down towards the Santa Monica pier the neighborhood gets dirtier and sketchier, so I definitely appreciated getting to feel so safe at the hotel's location. If you're not looking for a five-star hotel with all the amenities, and you're cool with accepting a few flaws that inherently come with boutique hotels built in the 1930's, then this is a great choice. I'd bet the ocean view rooms are stellar.

Room Tip: The front of this hotel gets an amazing view of the ocean and Santa Monica pier. If I stayed here ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capybara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Georgian Hotel is gorgeous!! The staff is accomodating and friendly. The location is PERFECT. And the view from the oceanview queen room is breathtaking!! We really could not have been happier. You are in walking distance from all that beautiful Santa Monica has to offer. The Pier, Third Street Promenade, Santa Monica Place...ALL OF IT!! Oh, and the beach!! We really could not have asked for more. What a gorgeous property. And they were celebrating their 80th anniversary the night we arrived!! I HIGHLY recommend this property. And as soon as we save up enough money (we are on the East Coast!!), we WILL be back!! And don't miss the amazing Veranda Restaurant!! Best breakfast and that view!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view...worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in mid October and was not disappointed. The room was very nice, with an extremely comfortable bed. My room faced a back lot of some sort , but it was quiet at night, although there was some construction of some kind going on that started in the a.m. I was greeted well when I checked in and was told they were going to have their 80th anniversary while I was there. Didn't have much of an impact other than seeing some models oddly placed in the lobby when I walked in in the evening. The staff was pretty helpful. I was accidentally charged for a minibar item and they took if off. Valet service was prompt. I had breakfast at the veranda once and it was just ok.There are much better places to have a meal nearby, a place called True Kitchen was a block away and had really good healthy food. The hotel has a great location near the pier and a short bike ride away form Venice. If you're there on a Weds, check out the farmer's market they have a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSparkle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herkenbosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The nicest Hotel you can imagine, great ambiance, very good food and excellent service!
It doesn´t get better and if you stay in Santa Monica don´t mis this opportunity!
What a nice vieuw, an incredible nice terras and the nicest and most friendly people that work there!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing