We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay at the Georgian. Love.”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We just completed our third stay at the Georgian. I love this hotel. I get happy just driving up to it, and seeing people sitting outside on the beautiful veranda, eating and drinking. The location is fantastic, as all have attested here, the staff is great. We had a suite, as our son was with us. Previously, we had stayed in a single room, since it was just the two of us. Those rooms are on the small side, but this is Santa Monica, on the beach. You're not going to be in the room anyway. Since the last time we were here, a new restaurant has moved in next door, the Water Grille. Amazing. But there are a lot of great restaurants up and down Ocean Avenue. If you are staying in Santa Monica, this is the place! .

Room Tip: Be aware that "ocean view" is a liberally construed term. You may get an ocean view if you...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Bette56,

"Third Time is a Charm"! Thank you for your loyalty and dedication to The Georgian Hotel. When you plan to return, please contact me. It would be an honor and my pleasure to assist you with confirming your accommodations and insuring a memorable experience.

Wishing you a Happy 2014!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for The Georgian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is fantastic in every way ! Wifi a bit weak but otherwise outstanding in all areas , location , service , rooms , etc, we will def stay here again , family 2 adults , 2 teens & 1 five year old on the chez lounge

Room Tip: South side western cnr up high superb !
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Greetings dcc_11,

It was our sincere pleasure to have you and your family here with us. Personally, i look forward to your return and hope to hear from you soon.

Wishing you ALL the best in the New Year.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were extremely pleased with this historic hotel about 2 blocks from the Santa Monica pier. Our suite was perfect for our stay and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking Ocean avenue was a real treat. If you are looking for a smaller hotel with a personal touch this hotel is perfect

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear David S,

Sincere thanks from the Georgian Hotel. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your "ocean view suite". The views are spectacular and memorable and breakfast on the Veranda can't be beat.

I have shared your kind words with our team and .... we thank you for enjoying our hospitality.

Wishing you a happy New Year and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GerogianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at the Georgian last April. The location is amazing. It's about a 5 minute walk to the pier and beach, and there's a large outdoor shopping mall two blocks away. The art deco style and history surrounding the Georgian gives it a personality that the other hotels in the area can't match. The price is also reasonable compared to the surrounding hotels. The valet only parking can be a bit of a pain, but that just seems to be the way things work in most Santa Monica hotels. The staff is super friendly and helpful. (My girlfriend dropped a ring down the sink drain, and they had a plumber up to our room within 10 minutes to get it out.) The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfy. My girlfriend like the soaps and shampoo in the bathroom so much, that she has been ordering it now at home. The AC worked well, which isn't always the case in older hotels. We tried breakfast on the Veranda one of our mornings, and it was great. The food was tasty, and the view was even better. The heaters on the deck was a nice touch on a chilly morning. The Georgian is a great choice if you're looking for that quintessential Santa Monica experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for two nights. We got a connecting room, so it felt larger than it would have been otherwise. The view was great and the staff was friendly. We ate breakfast on the veranda and it was good too. It's right around the corner from 3rd St Promenade and near the Santa Monica Pier. For being build in 1933, it's in great shape and a lot of the decor is the same.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam408962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Cam408962,

Sending thanks to you and your family for staying with us in December. Happy to know that you enjoyed your spacious accommodations and the Veranda!

Do not hesitate to call on me for your return, it would be our pleasure to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked this room after my fiance arrived from South Africa. I had emailed them beforehand and asked for an upgrade if possible. They assured me that they would do what they could if I sent a reminder the day of.

I was assured by Laura, in reservations, that I would love the room that they had prepared. We checked in after a little difficulty figuring out parking (it's ONLY valet). The staff was very friendly. The location was great--across the street from the ocean! Our upgrade included a corner suite. It was very spacious and had everything we needed. Our room was very clean and nice. The beds were comfortable.

The price was very reasonable especially considering its prime location. Around the corner is Taberna Arros, which has a fabulous happy hour!

I would definitely stay here again and am so thankful to Laura & staff for making this a very special stay!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DnllJns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMGeorgianH, Manager at The Georgian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Dnlljns,

It was our pleasure to have you celebrate time with your fiance here at The Georgian Hotel. As promised .... you would "love" your room and I am pleased to know that we met / exceeded your expectations.

Please come back and do not hesitate to call on me to assist with your accommodations.

Wishing you a Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,

Laura W.
Reservations@GeorgianHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were in LA for a short family vacation and I splurged on the Georgian Hotel. It was totally worth it! The service was friendly and helpful, the hotel was not only clean but I loved the Art Deco style and the historic photos in the lobby. Our 8th floor room faced north toward Malibu - I couldn't have asked for a better view! We had breakfast on the Veranda the next morning and it was great - the heaters made it comfortable and the location made for great scenery and people watching. The hotel location couldn't be better, right across the street from Palisades Park, the beach, and the pier. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: You don't need an ocean view room to have a great view. Facing north was wonderful. Also, if y...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachObsessed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,602 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £239 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing