We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2 nights at The Georgian”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our 2 nights at The Georgian”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

After a 14 hr flight from Melbourne we were told on arrival that our room would not be ready until 3.00pm,, they knew 3 weeks in advance of our arrival, so we walked the City until 2.00 and then our room was ready.
The toilet was blocked in our room and 2 of the staff at the front desk did not care if we were there or not. They were unhelpful to say the least.
The room was comfortable and the restaurant staff were fast and great

Room Tip: pay top dollar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewallyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    769
    262
    84
    40
See reviews for
595
930
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

You cannot beat the location of this neat boutique hotel. She's a grand old lady that is well cared for and has beautiful views to the ocean. (Request a beach view. They have a limited number) It has a colorful history. Some of the rooms have signs that say Clark Gable stayed here..etc. It was once an apartment house where Rose Kennedy (the First Mother) had an apartment for the summer season and many LA celebrities visited.
WONDERFUL restaurants within easy walking distance as well as the pier and beach sidewalks. If you are coming to the LA or Pasadena Area then I highly recommend this property.
******* The BREAKFASTS on their covered porch are EXCELLENT!!!!!! We even ran into friends who stayed elsewhere but always eat there when in California so they can have their Eggs Benedict. The staff was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccermom1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We rented an ocean front suite (#503) that had a bedroom and living area separated by french doors. The hotel is in a great location, updated but has kept it older charm with high ceilings, heavy doors, and paneled elevators. The staff was always friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the veranda for breakfast (baked french toast !) and evening cocktails.

Added benefit that the Georgian is next to our favorite restaurant ... Water Grill.

Recommended and when returning to the Santa Monica area this will be our go to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From_Morton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

A month-long vacation with 7 different hotel stays, ending with 3 days at The Georgian. We definitely saved the best for last!

I absolutely adored everything about this charming Art Deco building, from the retro cool bath tiles to the old wooden elevators.

Perhaps my favourite thing was the front verandah - I had great fun people watching over a delicious breakfast every morning.... And again in the afternoon with some California Chardonnay.

But really, what makes this hotel such a stand out is the exceptional staff. From the moment we walked thru the doors til our goodbye, staff were always nearby, ensuring everything was right. Particular mention to Michael at the front desk - a welcome committee all on his own - and Rueben at the door - gosh, that man was everywhere and always so lovely and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again and encourage all my friends to do the same.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elli2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have spent there two nights and enjoyed this hotel. It has its own spirit, history and a very nice location. Disadvantages: not all the time you are assised with your luggage to be lifted on the front ladder and despite thiat old-fashioned spirit, there is no sense of luxury that could add value to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukuruzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have been to USA 3 times now and always wanted to stay here and could never get in. Well i finally got to stay (only for 1 night) but it was just as nice as i had imagined. I had an ocean facing room which was lovely. I could see the Pacific Fair on the pier and the beach. The room isn't overly large but it had everything i needed and was very clean. The bed was one of the best i slept in and the hotel itself was very quiet. The staff were so very friendly and i really enjoyed my stay and would definately go back.

Room Tip: pay the extra for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winnie2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We've stayed at The Georgian 3-4 times over the past seven years and they do a great job maintaining their property. It really doesn't show a lot of wear and tear even though it's a busy and older hotel. Santa Monica isn't cheap, but you get a lot for your money here. We've stayed at several other SM hotels but we keep coming back to The Georgian although if you're looking for something hip or modern this isn't the place for you - charming is a better description. Tip: eat breakfast, have a drink or something on the veranda - the food is good and it's a great spot to relax and gaze at the ocean (unless there happen to be several buses parked across the street).

Pros: Location is fantastic. Service is great, beds are comfy, clean rooms aren't huge but not too small, either. Price is reasonable for the area. We had a north facing standard King room on the 8th floor that supposedly wasn't a room w/view but it was a fantastic view of the ocean and Malibu coast! Veranda/breakfast is great. Complimentary wifi.

Cons: Bathrooms are small/tight with very little counter space. (I bet we're not the only ones who have accidentally forgotten to put the toilet seat down and some cosmetic dropped in!) Valet is expensive so we park on a street behind the hotel in a public garage since it's close by. Tip: make sure if you park in a public garage it states that you can park overnight. There are steps from the street level up to the veranda and then again from the lobby up to the elevator so if you have difficulty or hate steps it might be aggravating.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and we'll stay here again, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Higher floors generally mean better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,227 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing