We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, big rooms and great staff!”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 October 2009

It is a very good hotel, just in front of Santa Monica pier. Great ocean view! The rooms have a lot of space and are very clean. The beds are very confortable and really good. The brakfast is also very nice and can be served outside. The staff is also very nice. It was recomended to me from a friend from LA and now I higly recomended it!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,744 - 1,750 of 2,414 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

We recently stayed at The Georgian for my 50th birthday. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the always-cheerful Carlos, I have absolutely NOTHING but good things to say about this hotel and its' employees, not to mention the gorgeously decorated rooms, the awesome ocean views, the beautifully re-done lobby and best of all, the veranda in front of the hotel. We have stayed here several times, and the location and proximity to the Third Street Promenade is unbeatable. You can walk everywhere. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTMedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Took my fiancee on her first trip to LA, and I wanted to spend a couple of days in Santa Monica. Booked a room at the Georgian and was very happy with our experience there.

Loved the art deco look of the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was very cool. The room was very clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and the location was great. Just a short walk to Third Street Promenade or to the beach.

We were very pleased with our stay at the Georgian and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This hotel is in a great spot - close to the beach and within walking distance of the 3rd Street Promenade, the SM Pier, good restaurants, and its not too long of a walk (or rent a bike) down to the Venice Beach boardwalk. There is no self-park option--valet parking was $21 per day, a rip, but there is a parking deck on the next block where we parked for less than $10 over our entire 3-day stay (look up SM public parking - structure #6).

We got the standard queen guest room. I got a screaming deal on the internet which explains why it was in the rear of the building next to the maid's closet on the lowest floor of guest rooms. It was kind of small, but big enough for what we needed. Very clean throughout. It had a ceiling fan with remote which is a nice touch.

The veranda is a great place to sit and relax any time of day - they have heaters if its cold out.

The service was lacking. Got the bare minimum at check-in. One night I needed some ice--I called to the desk to find out where to go, and they said they would bring some to our room--it never came. I called again--it NEVER came. The great deal I on the room plus the fact that I didn't park with them may be why we were treated the way we were.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmohlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed in an ocean view suite for our one year wedding anniversary. We received great service from the moment we arrived from the valet parking to check-in to breakfast. It was wonderful. The only drawback was that we couldn't get a late check-out, but not a big deal. They have a lovely veranda with an ocean view to enjoy breakfast. It's a very busy location, but the breakfast is excellent. We enjoyed our stay in Santa Monica and would go back to this Historic hotel.

A bride and groom were also staying at this hotel when we were there and said they had booked another night because it was so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misskc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

There are two kinds of hotels in my world: the kind you book because you need somewhere clean and comfortable to sleep and hotels you book because they are a destination unto themselves. This one blurs the lines a little bit because it was so charming! We were only in Santa Monica for one night and had a lot we wanted to do in that time including visit the Venice Beach boardwalk, the Santa Monica beach and the pier, 3rd Street Promenade, enjoy a really good meal, and watch the sunset. With the exception of Venice (a short drive and a hefty parking fee), this hotel was a stone's throw from everything making our frantic to-do list seamless and fun. While the location can't be beat, it should be noted that this hotel is not ON the beach, but across the street from it. Even then you have to find your way down to the beach via the pier or elevated crosswalk and steps because there's a cliff in your way. If I had come for a beach vacation with beach stuff and kids in tow, I would not have stayed here.

We booked an ocean view queen. The room and bathroom is tiny with typical old building quirks, but we were ok with that. It was clean, historically charming but clearly as updated as it could reasonably be with free wireless internet, decent linens, newer but period appropriate furniture in good shape, and a flat screen tv with on demand movies. Our room was on the 3rd floor, so our ocean view was really more a view of palm trees with a sparse twinkling of ocean in between. That bothered me and I wish the hotel would differentiate between street view (back or east side of the hotel), partial ocean view and ocean view to be fair to customers like us who booked that room specifically to see water from our room because we were in Santa Monica specifically to see the Pacific. Also, if you're a light sleeper take into consideration that this is not a quiet hotel. Like an old house-- which we live in and are used to-- this place has street noise, hallway noice, etc. It wasn't roudy by any standard, but buses and the occasional cough or guffaw from the hallway were definitely there.

Service was good and friendly, didn't try the restaurant or the room service, valet was prompt and decently priced ($21) for the area. The porch area was a great place to watch the sunset or the parade of people and car. The price was great considering that the other hotels under consideration were over $400 for an ocean view. If I had been booking a hotel for luxury or for a tranquil escape this would not be a hotel under consideration, but if I visit Santa Monica for a night or two of wining and dining by the beach with friends or my husband, this would devinitely be my first choice!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have just returned from our holiday in the USA and one of the hotels we stayed at was the Georgina in Santa Monica. We loved the Hotel, checking in was very quick then we were shown up to our room which unknown to us had been upgraded by our son for our 40th wedding aniversary to a suite with a sea view, it was fantastic, fabulour view and loads of space. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and the breakfast on the front patio area was very good. Could thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank TynesideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,967 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £206 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing