We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a little gem of a hotel, Art Deco and service at it's best”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
1 review
“This is a little gem of a hotel, Art Deco and service at it's best”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay.The hotel is a little gem on Ocean Avenue.
Service was excellent, all the staff very attentive. Lamps and hair dryers where faulty and everything sorted out immediately.
Beautiful Art Deco furnishings throughout including in the rooms, bathrooms also with Art Deco fittings. Ask for quiet room on the side of the hotel.
Breakfasts are delicious out on the Veranda facing the ocean. Can be chilly first thing in mornings outside so sit under the heaters whilst having breakfast.
Great location for shopping, near the Pier, and bridge to cross the road.
Opposite is tourist information and tour buses to take you to Los Angeles. Malibu just down the road. Beaches are clean, not far from Venice Beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMargo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    779
    264
    85
    40
See reviews for
600
938
93
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This hotel met ALL our expections. Beautiful inside AND out. Vintage and old feel yet updated and elegant inside. All new remodeling inside. Very cool vintage elevator. Historic hotel but so nice and new inside. GREAT deals online and packages that include breakfast adn lunch on the veranda. Eat on the deck overlooking the ocean. Very good prices for AMAZING food! Service was excellent from the valet people to the front desk, servers, room service, maids, EVERYONE was so great. Cant say enough I will tell everyone to go here and make trips to Santa Monica JUST to stay at the Georgian again. We had a suite, very roomy and comfy bed. Flat screen tv's. Nice bathroom. WE requested an ocean view. Some of the non suite rooms looked alittle small but still very nice. I recomen going all out. Get the package that includes it all. Valet, breakfast, lunch, tax, tips, and ocean view. Cant go wrong. Save you money in the long run cuz Santa Monica can be very expensive. I have stayed at the lowes before it was much priceier, not as nice and not as good of service!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminiklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

The Georgian is an older, but updated hotel. I has the traditional amenities of the old style hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but are well appointed and maintained. Service at the hotel in generally very good. We had the bed and breakfast option and the breakfast was outstanding in every way. The valet service was also very good even though we didn't use the car during out stay. The hotel is located across from the beach and near the pier. You do have to order ice from the hotel staff since there are no ice machines which turned out to be somewhat of an inconvenience. However the most annoying part of our stay was the fact that not only did they have a mini bar which your could not use for your personal items, but on the dresser they had a number of items that covered part of the dresser with pressure sensitive levers so that even if you knocked something off you would be changed for that item. This seemed to us to be very tacky and totally unnecessary for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We had a very nice stay at the Georgian. The front desk was exceptional. The wonderful lady who checked us in gave us a lot of ideas for dinner and took the time to tell us about the surrounding area. I regret that I did not catch her name! I mentioned that it was my boyfriend's birthday and the next morning, she sent us complementary breakfast vouchers for the hotel restaurant. The hotel is right on the bluff overlooking the beach. It's two blocks from the pier and around the corner from all the restaurants. Very good location. Very close to everything! The hotel is older, but has been remodeled nicely. We stayed in a room with a king bed and had a little peek view of the pier and beach. The room was small but well laid out. Decor was tasteful. No self parking so you have to valet your car... but they have good package deals on their website, some of which includes parking. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_sqrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

The Georgian is a great choice for several reasons. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has an incredible history and the art deco style is impressive. Rooms are clean, up to date, and decorated nicely. We had an ocean view which was awesome, and often left our windows open for the cool ocean breeze. Never used the air conditioner. Hotel is across the street from the beach, within walking distance to the Pier, shopping, and great dining. French Toast for breakfast was awesome. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed at The Georgian over Halloween weekend & it was absolutely wonderful. We were able to check in early on Friday which was a plus. The staff is very friendly, helpful & attentive - always greeting you w/ a smile at every turn. I highly recommend dining at the Veranda for breakfast. We sat out there early Saturday morning, the weather was perfect, the ocean was beautiful & the food (souffle french toast) was fantastic! This hotel has a beautiful & unique decor and in the perfect location for Santa Monica. The best part for me personally was being able to walk outside & the beach was right in front. Can't beat that! We try to go out to Santa Monica at least once a year & will definitely make this hotel the place to stay for all of our future trips.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Great view onto beach (but also rather noisy for that reason). Good size bathroom and bedroom. Very clean and comfortable.
We felt rather pressurised by valet and bell-hop on arrival, but that might be a typical LA/USA thing. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was good.
The hotel has been very nicely renovated, and the decor does set it apart.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,814 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,489 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing