We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location! Charming boutique hotel! Excellent Value!”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We were in Santa Monica for a fun weekend with friends and stayed at the Georgian. I had read other tripadvisor reviews and was afraid that the rooms were going to be too small. We are pleasantly surprised! The rooms were small, but super comfortable and very well appointed. We went for the most inexpensive rate they had, which was a king, non-view and we did have a peak at the beach from our window. A nice bonus! The bathrooms were small, but great towels, wonderful bath products and great water pressure. The breakfast they offer on the veranda was great and cocktails at sunset were wonderful, too. The location is walking distance to everything! The staff was very helpful and nice. And, even though the hotel is right on Ocean, we found our room to be quiet at night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiaggiaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

I have visited Santa Monica several times and have stayed at the "big chain" hotels across the street. This time I chose The Georgian. It was wonderful and every bit as nice for less. From the turn down service (with chocolate), to the paper outside the door every morning, to the free internet, to the kind and friendly staff, it was a great stay. This is a charming hotel and a great value. Above all, it was CLEAN and the double sheeted bed was comfortable. My only regret is that I didn't get to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This is a small, beautiful hotel that has up to date amenities, a friendly helpful staff in a wonderful location with a perfect view. With so many choices in Santa Monica, it would be tempting to pick a different hotel each visit, but I would probably not do that, because this was such a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejae48864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Georgian Hotel is truly a jewel of the LA area. its a charming hotel with EXCELLENT rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. my only complaints were these:

the only parking available is pricey valet parking and a scratch appeared on our rental car one morning...

all food items in the mini bar were EXTREMELY stale....i would guess im the first sucker in at LEAST 5 years to spend 10 bucks on macadamia nuts or 5 bucks on pretzels.

other than that the stay was incredible. the ocean is just across the street, close to major roads and great food and shopping. we will DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjwash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We wanted to share with fellow travelors the great experience our family had at The Georgian Hotel in Santa Monica. We were not familiar with the area or the surrounding hotels, so it is so fortunate for us we decided to stay at the Georgian. The uniqueness and charm of the hotel will impress you, but the kindness of staff members will find you wanting to stay. We really enjoyed all the help and kindness Gene, the asst. front office mangager, showed us. He went out of his way to ensure we had a great time. You can tell Gene takes great pride in working for the Georgian Hotel. Dan at the front desk and all the waitressing staff were very attentive, and made you feel like you were someone special. The best advice I can give is to purchase an all inclusive package, which includes meals at the hotel. The food was so good we would cut our sightseeing short to get back to the Georgian for lunch! Eating and drinking wine on the Veranda was a real treat. Plus, the hotel is so close to all Santa Monica has to offer. We will definately be going back. Thanks, Gene, for all your kindness! You are the BEST!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This place was a very pleasant stay. Clean rooms, with somewhat of a old school feeling. Nice welcoming staff. And an excellent, central location.
Now for the problems - The walls in the hotel are a little thin, we could hear some young couple getting frisky as we walked down our hall to the elevator one morning. They charge for parking. And finally, there is no complementary airport shuttle. It might be asking a lot for that service, but we ended up paying around $50 each way.
Overall, a nice hotel, right near the water and conveniently located.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank level1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Had 3 nights at the Georgian in a Suite with a great deal including 2 breakfasts, 2 lunches, and 2 drink coupons per day. This is a great place and great location in Santa Monica. Right across the street from the pier and two blocks from the Promenade. The staff is outstanding, from Gene the Manager on duty, Daniel at the front desk, and Ruben the bellman. Never did I hear the word "NO" from them. Always addressed us when we came or left the hotel and catered to our every need. The food and drinks were phenomenal at the hotel and the porch is an awesome place to take in some people watching while enjoying a cocktail. The signature suite was perfect with a king bedroom, that was separated by french doors, a sofa bed and chaise lounge. We have 3 teenagers and brought a twin air mattress for one of them. We had plenty of room. Don't misunderstand, this hotel is historic, built in the late 1800's but the rooms have all been updated very nicely. Clean as can be. The staff made our trip fantastic! Kudos to The Georgian!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank denwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,908 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £236 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing