We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome weekend!”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome weekend!”
Reviewed 16 July 2007

My husband and I stayed over the weekend for a quick little get away and we had a fabulous time! I almost don't want to tell too many people about it, so we can keep our weekend getaway all to ourselves. The staff were all really nice and profesional, the rooms were clean and tastefully decorated and it was a great location for all the Santa Monica attactions. Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veganfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    763
    262
    83
    40
See reviews for
591
926
91
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed here for our anniversary (which is also New year's Eve). Santa Monica is pretty quiet on New Year's (esp. since it was raining.) We chose this hotel not for its amenities (there are few) but for its history. The Georgian was one of the 1st hotels built on Ocean Ave. , and used to be frequented by Hollywood movie stars such as Charlie Chaplin back in the day when Santa Monica was a vacation destination for Hollywood residents. The ambiance is wonderful, and so are the views from the Ocean View rooms. The elevators and lobby let you know how old the building really is, and the bathrooms (before they were redone to be more modern) were super cool as well. You don't stay here for the amenities and large rooms, you stay for the ambiance and history. It's a very CLASSY place.

  • Liked — the great vibe and amazing location
  • Disliked — the food is not fantastic, but not so bad either.
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank treehugger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

The Georgian Hotel, where my wife and 11 yr old daughter stayed for 2 nights in early July, was probably just what we expected. Great location (right across from the beach, right on Ocean Ave, by pier, 2 blocks from 3rd Street Promenade shopping area) and lots of Art Deco character - though perhaps not as trendy or plush or "boutiquey" as we'd hoped. Rate was $255 for two weekend nights for 2 adults/1 child in queen/queen room. About average for Santa Monica...

We'd previously stayed in Santa Monica at the newer and ritzier Le Merigot and cookie-cutter but comfy Doubletree - both Santa Monica neighbors. Both were a bit less convenient to the 3rd Street Promenade area - but were perhaps more comfortable places to stay, all in all.

Beds were better than the normal Marriott standard - but not super plush like some these days. Room was very plain - but somewhat spacious - with nice ceiling fan (with wireless remote). Bathroom - though fun in its black/white tiled decor - was, as some have noted, tiny. One pedestal sink - with toilet immediately next to it and one narrow glass shelf above. Had to keep most of our toiletries in bedroom...

Our 2nd floor room was easily accessible via the stairway just beyond the front desk. Was on the parking garage side - but had a sliver of ocean view from our room.

Saw or heard no other guests the first two nights of our stay - literally. Strange. Convenience store right around the corner - and restaurants like Sushi Roku are essentially next door.

The Georgian's valets were very speedy and (doubling as bellmen) quite responsive. Parking was $21/night for valet, FYI.

Would certainly stay there again - but also might seek slightly plusher surroundings...

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyehrtfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

The Hotel was right on the beach and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The terrace at the front of the hotel was great although maybe i would be good to have the br serve a little later than 9pm. The rooms were very clean and well appointed and all in all offered excellent value for money. The air conditioning was a bit erratic however and you had to turn it right down before the fan kicked in!

  • Liked — Staff service
  • Disliked — The fact they had no on site bar or restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kath868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Considering the cost was $250 a night, we were not that impressed. The walls are paper thin - could hear neighbors in the bathroom and every morning we could hear the housekeepers and the clanging of what sounded like vents or laundry chutes. Our room was small. The breakfast was average quality and overpriced - go around the corner to 2nd street for a better deal. We would not stay here again.

  • Disliked — The fact that they tried to charge me for the last guest's mini-bar charges!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank razorweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

We spent 2 days at the start of our hoilday touring, staff very helpfull arranged a tour of LA for us.
Great hotel and location with loads of charm no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sharon098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2007

Not bad, but way overpriced for what you get. There was only one elevator working and it took 5 minutes just to get from your room to the lobby. Bathrooms are small and walls are thin. The bed was very comfortable though and there were nice ocean views from the room.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saraannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: 1415 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Santa Monica
Georgian Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing