We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Bayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Darien, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Santa Monica was our family of five's third stop in LA area (others were Newport Beach & Bev.Hills) in mid-August. Bay View Hotel offered a terrific location, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly service and good value. Hotel is 60's-style and more like a motel, actually, and about a third of rooms face the ocean, across the park. Area is convenient to action on Ocean Ave and Santa Monica Pier, but much quieter. Parking at hotel was a minor issue, but on-street parking is ample, inexpensive and free at night. We rented bikes at hotel and traveled the beach bike route to Venice & back. Nearby restaurants for dinner and breakfast were terrific.

Room Tip: If available, choose beach front or south side rooms. Rooms in rear face a courtyard, which is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    229
    118
    56
    28
See reviews for
85
211
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
keywest
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I've stayed at the Bayside Hotel last month (July ) and in 2005. The style is 50's and not modern like the Miami Hilton I stayed at before traveling on to California, but the rooms were very clean. The staff was courteous and helpful. I had to leave the hotel for a few days to get my daughter set up at UCLA and inadvertently left a sweatshirt in the room. I called and they located it and put it aside until I returned a few days later. The location could not be beat. A minute walk to the ocean. I will be back. MWhitney

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice large room, 2 minute walk to the beach / great views. Close to the famous Santa Monica Pier.
Staff very helpful (we mainly spoke with Kosta) we rented 2 bikes from him and rode down to Venice beach, he also booked us a tour of hollywood and universual studios (the bus picked us up from the hotel, didnt even have to walk to the main office)

Good price for LA, this was one of the cheaper ones.

Loved our stay - will stay here again if we come back to LA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location very near the beach. A lovely hotel, with nice staff and a really nice atmosphere. Santa Monica is a fantastic place and the Bayside is a wonderful place from which to explore it. Great value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alchemy1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When we vacation whether it be for a couple of days or a month we spend very little time in the hotel room. If we wanted to sleep and relax we would stay at home and sit in our garden. That said we simply look for three things when selecting a hotel: value, friendly staff and cleanliness.

This was our third visit to the Bayside and once again it didn‘t disappoint. The price is right for the location, ocean view room, peak season, $325 night. It is within walking distance of restaurants, Venice Beach and Santa Monica Pier (10 mins). It’s 3-4 minutes to the beach.

The staff are friendly, informative and responsive to requests, extra towels and restocking a fairly priced mini-bar.

One codicil and there’s always one thing isn’t there? Parking on the property is $22 a night, pending availability. One night when we returned late there were no parking spaces available, consequently we had to park on the street. Which in turn provided a moment of illumination, parking on some of the surrounding streets is free. The hotel did refund our $22 fee.

The Bayside Hotel will be our place to stay upon our return to Santa Monica.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertS990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Not new or big; but very clean, safe, and a great beach location. The staff are super nice and helpful. When I expressed concern about the last parking space being too small, the guy at the front desk happily moved his car so I could have his spot! How awesome is that?

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramsfan93a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bayside as part of a 10 day California road trip. The location of the hotel was absolutely perfect. When you stepped out the front door you were staring right at Santa Monica Beach and the Pacific. The hotel staff was very helpful whether it was for extra towels or directions to the local coffee shop. The hotel is small but has a lot of character. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prodaddey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#30 of 36 in Santa Monica
163 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,093 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,242 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#27 of 36 in Santa Monica
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Hotel

Property: Bayside Hotel
Address: 2001 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1011
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing