We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pool and the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The pool and the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2007

Booked through Opodo and was rather concerned about our booking being honoured, but everyone at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful. A great location, convenient for the beach and the Third St Promenade. Room was spacious, with a well equipped kitchen and good ceiling fans. The real highlight is the large pool in the centre of the courtyard - big enough for adults to have a short swim. We didn't need it, but there seemed to be lots of parking spaces which could be useful to some people. Comfortable main bed and a reasonable sofabed, good clean linens and a useful vending machine.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Sofa bed could have been more comfortable
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopcornB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    185
    81
    31
    28
See reviews for
152
130
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

Yes, it's not brand new, and has seen better days. But traveling with two children, a one year old and a seven year old, it was perfect. Spacious, with kitchen facilities (great not to have to eat all our meals in restaurants, especially with the one year old, who tends to loose her patience rather quickly), a comfortable king size bed and a comfortable sofa bed for the seven year old. The cleaning personnel did a great job, not only cleaning the apartment according to standard, but going out of their way to make us feel special, arranging towels in creative ways and making the one year old's travel cot more cosy and comfortable with blankets and pillows. The pool was heated and provided a nice break from sightseeing and shopping for our seven year old. The location is outstanding; two blocks from Third Street Promenade, and with shops open as late as 10-11 pm, one of us adults could easily pop over to do a few hours of shopping after the children's bedtime.

On the negative side, though, the dumpsters in the alley were indeed a source of noise, all through the night. If you're not supersensitive about noise, you shold be OK. I do tend to get annoyed and distracted by unpleasant noises, but I managed just fine.

  • Liked — Location, large rooms, facilities, overall familiy friendliness
  • Disliked — Nighttime noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hsb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

I highly recommend that you do not stay at this hotel. It is in need of a major overhaul. We had a room on the 2nd floor, so we didn't hear the noise that others have described, but this place has a lot of problems. Many things are broken - the deadbolt, the TV in the bedroom, a slat from the vertical blinds lay on the floor. The bathroom is so small that when you open the door it hits the toilet! The sink and toilet are light blue and the water pressure stinks. We had a unit with 2 double beds in the bedroom.. They were tiny! There is no a/c and it's a fairly noisy place so you feel like you should close the windows at night. Unlike the last poster, our unit was pretty clean. But the price (after they zap you for the parking and extra people) is not that great. I also didn't think the location was that great - except for the 3rd st promenade. I would have preferred being on the other side of the pier, and closer to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janstoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Monica hotels

san diego
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2007

Absolutely the grossest hotel I have ever stayed in. Not at all worth the price. Do not stay here... if you do- order flat sheets and lay them everywhere as the furniture and floors are filthy. Hotel has no air conditioner and the fans were either broken or made a constant clicking noise. Homeless people sort through the large trash bins during the night so don't expect to get any sleep. Simply the dirtiest hotel I have ever been in especially considering the price and parking charge.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank mkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

The Cal Mar is located one block from the Third Street Promenade in Santa Monica, and two blocks from the beach. It is very convenient to the access road for the Pacific Coast Highway to Malibu. The property itself is a bit dated, but has a vintage charm. The plantings in the inner courtyard were particularly attractive.

While the one bedroom with sofa bed in the living room seemed to be a good value, we had to pay $9.95 a day for parking, and would have had to pay $9.95 a day for Internet access in the room. There was also a somewhat unexpected charge for a second person on the reservation. With these additional charges added in, the location was not as competitively priced as it initially seemed. Fortunately a good cafe one block away offered free connectivity with a minimum $2.50 purchase.

The front desk staff were friendly, but not always very helpful. Their concierge skills seemed a bit limited. I would recommend this location for someone looking for a no-frills base of operations who is already familiar with the area.

  • Liked — Vintage courtyard, pool and apartment
  • Disliked — Lack of free connectivitiy, limited concierge services, parking charge
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tilda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocean city, nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2007

if you are aware of what you are renting, staying at the cal mar hotel in santa monica, ca, can be a very pleasant experience. to begin with the hotel is in need of remodeling, especially the kitchens and the bathrooms. now while they may be outdated, they are clean and very functional. my apartment was on the second floor, as recommended by many, and i did not suffer the annoyance of little feet constantly running overhead. for the money the apartments are hugh. we had a full living room, full dining area, full kitchen, and a bedroom with a king size bed. we had 2 tv's in our unit. the staff was very helpful in making suggestions about the area. parking was plentiful, but we were charged $9.90 per day, although it was advertised as free. the location was in a quiet area away from all the homeless, and extremely convenient to all the major attractions and roadways. my wife and i stayed from april 9 to april 14, 2007. if you are looking for luxury, stay away. but if you are looking for comfort, try the cal mar hotel.

Helpful?
7 Thank nickstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights March 16 & 17, 2007.
I was also a bit leery after reading reviews, but since we really wanted to stay in Santa Monica for a couple nights before a cruise, we decided to go for it instead of paying for 2 regular hotel rooms (for the 5 of us). I figured with the kitchen we could also save since we wouldn't have to have every meal in a restaurant. There were 2 adults, 2 teens and a 12 year old. We had an upper floor room (I read reviews and decided against the louder lower floors!) If you have a lot of luggage beware! Stairs only...no elevator! (Good excercise!) We had a king unit. Two girls shared the pullout while the 12 year old had a roll away we requested. (She says it was comfy!) Yes - the place is older, yes its shower pressure sucks...but it is clean, comfy, and the pool is warm. Staff is friendly. Vons market not too far away for groceries - everything else you can walk to. Felt super safe and no worries about walking around at night.
the absolute ONLY thing negative is the loud alley. Garbage/recyclers picked up EARLY Saturday morning and must have spend 20 minutes making noise...bottles smashing...terrible. But....would not deter me from staying here again.
We had fun. And I usually only like to stay in 5 stars!
But it kinda reminded me of our old camping days. Nice having laundry facilities for last minute loads! Front desk has single boxes of soap for a buck.
Glad we decided to try the Cal Mar...probably gave us an extra $500 to spend in Mexico (that we saved by not having to book 2 hotel rooms and eat out every meal!)

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank leah664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Property: Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403-3606
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing