We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Wow! What a beautiful hotel! I think it's one of the tallest hotels in Santa Monica, so if you have brunch on the top floor, you can see the ocean, the mountains, downtown L.A., and anything else that your heart desires nearby. We loved the brunch. The wait staff was excellent, the food was fab, and the cocktails were bottomless! Yeay! The rooms are gorgeous and the lobby is fab. I would stay here any time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Suzanne I,

On behalf of the entire staff and management of the Huntley Santa Monica Beach, we would like to thank you for staying with us. You are correct, we are the tallest hotel in Santa Monica! It was a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    378
    152
    74
    54
See reviews for
250
463
61
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

friendly efficient staff clean rooms top breakfast but a little on the exepensive side very close to the shopping plaza only 10 mins walk to the main beach and cycle track we had a slight hiccup on the 2nd to last night the fire alarm went off in the nightclub so all the patrons scrambled down the stairwell clop clop clop for about an hour the night manager put it right without hesitation by wiping off our breakfast account and allowing us a late checkout on the last night to catch up on the lost sleep handy as we had a late flight that evening all in all very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear stu d,

It was a privliedge to serve you at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We apologize again for the inconvenience during your stay and am happy to hear your time with us was still enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've been staying at hotels along Ocean Ave for over ten years for work trips. So, please read this knowing my review pertains to business travel.

If you are young, or a cougar, or looking to meet someone young or who is a cougar - this is a great place to stay. If you are on a holiday trip and get a good deal on this hotel, and can tolerate some noise, and the room not being AS clean as the Fairmont (which is literally right across the street) and you don't mind seeing young, drunk girls in the lobby on a Friday night - who are wearing 5' heels and who need to constantly pull down their skirt because it is WAY too short - then this is a place to stay.

Do they have a "hip" bar/restaurant on the top floor? Yes. Is there a cool elevator that is all glass so you can check out the view on your way up? Yes. Is this hotel brilliantly located at the end of the 3rd Street Promenade, and just one block off of Ocean Avenue? Yes. Did this hotel used to be a motel and did it used to have a Mexican restaurant at the top floor? Yes.

Look, the staff was all nice enough. The "text" to request for your car from valet is cool (though truth be told I walked out to the valet to find a confused guest about to drive off in my rental car - which is a testament to how "lax" the service can be.) The rooms are higher end than a Holiday Inn for sure, and they are clean enough, but if you can get a better price at the Fairmont I would stay there in a heartbeat over the Huntley. That is, unless you are looking for a party. Then stay right where you are at the Huntley. That seems to be what they cater to these days.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear mmstravels,

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your experience and rely on valued customer comments to continue to improve. We hope you will consider us again for your next visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verrierdale
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We loved this hotel. Great sea views from our large and very clean & luxurious room. Very happy with everything about this hotel including the penthouse bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Perfect location.Not suitable if you require a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear sashalute,

On behalf of the entire staff and management of the Huntley Santa Monica Beach, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted you had such a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were invited to a lovely wedding outside of Santa Monica and are now stuck due to Hurricane Sandy heading toward PHL. I cannot tell you how exceptionally accommodating this staff has been to us. We are so grateful! The building is contemporary and beautiful. The staff is helpful and the location is about two long city blocks from the ocean. A must-see if the rooftop restaurant, The Penthouse". The light alone is worth checking out. We will definitely recommend this place and look forward to staying here again. The beds are super yummy with luxurious sheets, luscious terry/cotton robes (think spa-quality), soft slippers, newspapers, and quiet rooms. Really, this place is fantastic. Take the glass elevator to The Penthouse for full effect when you come here for a drink at sunset. LOVE it!!

Room Tip: The southwest rooms are sunny and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyXGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear BoyXGirl,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Huntley Santa Monica Beach! We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Arrived late 10pm tired after long trip. No help offered with bags and made feel as if we had shot the staff's pet! The service got no better over our 5 day stay. Had upgraded our room to a sea view. They should have said car park, building and partial sea view. For the cost, this hotel frankly is a waste of money and the staff a disgrace.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Shane L,

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we are sharing your comments with our Front Office and Management. We take our guest feedback very seriously and would assure you a much more positive experience the next time. We do hope you will consider us again for your next visit to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

too overpriced for what you get. posh lobby and restaurant doesn't match up to the rooms which are only average. Rooms need repair, flooring in shower very slippery and drain was sharp metal, afraid to stand on it. No fridge in room. In room bottled water available for $7.96 a pop. Parking only with valet @ $30day. You are paying for location.

Room Tip: there are other hotels in this area that are more affordable at the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Manager at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear travelsalot1946,

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Please know that our parking charges are one of the lowest in Santa Monica at $30 while others are at $35 - $40 per night. We are sharing your comments with the Management and hope you will consider the Huntley Santa Monica Beach again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing