We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet Santa Monica location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A nice quiet Santa Monica location”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I hosted my husbands 50th Birthday Party at the Penthouse and we spent the night in the hotel, even though we live in Santa Monica.

Rooms are both gorgeous and spacious.

The Huntley is is little off the beaten track, not as close to the craziness of the Pier that you sometimes deal with at Shutters or the largeness of the Fairmont.

Great customer service and caller is very efficient.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Elizabethrap,

Thank you for choosing our Penthouse Restaurant & Lounge to celebrate your husband's birthday. We appreciate your positive comments of our service and for sharing your experience with our viewers. The Huntley is the perfect choice for many of our local residence, when wanting
to celebrate a special occasion. Thank you sincerely Elizabeth for your business and we look forward welcoming back again. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    383
    153
    74
    54
See reviews for
251
464
61
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hueneme, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband have stayed at the Huntley on numerous occasions and I am never disappointed. Great service and great location. Absolutely the best bed I have ever slept in at any hotel!!! This is one place where I really enjoy hanging out in the bed, order room service and watch a current movie on the large flat screen t.v.
My only critique on this stay was that I could not get the fan to run continuously as "white noise". The air conditioning kicked on and off quite loudly.
This room has had some updates to the bathroom...very nice and they provide a full size hair dryer! (my pet peeve is wall mount or mini hair dryers)!

Room Tip: 1211 has an amazing view from downtown Los Angeles to the Pacific Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotel Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Leanna T,

Thank you for sharing your return visit experience with us. Our guests also agree with you that our beds are the most comfortable beds that they do not want to get out! We apologize about your noisy A/C and bringing this to our attention so that we can make sure it is repaired. Our guests' relaxation is most important to us. We look forward to your return again and again and again.
With our sincere appreciation Leanna for your business.
Tim Lee-Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This very comfortable hotel is in a great location near the beach and 3rd street promenade, and for further excursions afield. We stayed on the 15th floor and our room had a lovely view of the beach north to Malibu and the Santa Monica hills.The staff were very helpful and the room was kept clean and comfy. The standout for us however was the concierge, Elizabeth. We had a problem with an item lost at our previous hotel and Elizabeth sorted out the issue and arranged for a weekend Fedex delivery so that we got it back before our departure. We had a very late flight out back to Australia and Elizabeth stepped in and arranged a complimentary, very late check out to make our last day very comfortable. She helped us in many other unexpected ways as well, was lovely to chat with and genuinely made us feel comfortable and looked after. I cannot speak highly enough of her.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Michael A.,
It was a pleasure having you with us and that we have exceeded your expectations. Elizabeth Wilson-Hoyles surely has her magical style to make things happen, and in a very smooth and gracious manner! We all had past experiences were we left behind personal items. Often our items are not found which has an an affect on our overall experience. I am so glad Elizabeth was able to locate and deliver your item to you before your departure. We look forward welcoming you back and we thank you most sincerely Michael for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My sister and I travelled to the US together and stayed here while we were in LA. As we only had 24 hours there, we caught one of the earlier flights and arrived at the Huntley at around 9am. We asked if we could store our luggage and instead they arranged for housekeeping to clean the room so that we could check in almost immediately (with no fee!). The service we received from everyone was fantastic.
The location is good - close to the beach and some great places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear S L,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with us. Please return soon but next time we hope your stay can be longer, so to truly enjoy all that Santa Monica Beach offers. The Huntley Santa Monica Beach truly has the best location…1 block from the popular 3rd Street Promenade, beach, restaurants and shops! We look forward welcoming you back soon.
With our sincere appreciation S L for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Needed a place to stay for a longer weekend/event in LA. Wanted a hotel near the beach in a upscale area (Santa Monica), did not need a million amenities, wanted service and decor that is a step above a nice national chain. Found all of these at The Huntley.
The hotel looks like it was converted from a former apartment building, and the smaller rooms reflect that. I did not feel like they were any smaller than a normal Marriott room and never felt cramped. Clean lines and contemporary decor with some great views of the beach (looking North and South, no windows except bathroom windows directly west to the beach). Linens are high end and the robes are thick......it makes a difference!
The few times we needed to interact with the front desk they were efficient and handled anything we needed with a helpful attitude.
Grab breakfast at the penthouse. It's not crowded then and the morning views of the Malibu Basin are second to none.

Room Tip: Best view from an Ocean View room is the west facing bathroom window, all room windows are on north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear bmowry,
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for sharing your experience with us. We look forward welcoming you again on your next visit to Santa Monica Beach. Our sincere appreciation for your business. Sincerely, Tim Lee-Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Can't beat the location of the hotel, 2 blocks from the beach. Unfortunately there isn't much else. Rooms are on the small side, with no balconies, windows are not large and only crack open slightly. The highlight of the hotel is the penthouse restaurant and bar, there is no pool or outdoor space to enjoy. Service is fine, David at the front desk is excellent. Stay here if you want to be in the middle of Santa Monica and have access to town easily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerlux2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear traverlux2013,
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your business. David Cohen was pleased to be of assistance to you. We are excited to share with you that we are refurbishing all our guest rooms this year. We look forward welcoming yo back soon! Tim Lee-Hotelier Consulfant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the Huntley on a recent business trip. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. I fogot something in my room after I left for the day. I needed the item desperately but could not return to the hotel to retrieve it. I phoned the hotel and the manager on duty, David, had someone on his staff go to my room and get the item and then had one of the hotel drivers hand deliver it to me at my location. I was super impressed of the can-do attitude and above and beyond service. Hard to find these days. The hotel is very nice. While my room was slightly on the small side, it was very comfortable. The room was impeccably clean and well appointed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear edmtravels,
On behalf of David Cohen who assisted you and our entire professional team, we thank you for your positive feedback. The Huntley holds an excellent reputation for dedicated, honest staff who make every guest feel at home with the true sense of belonging. Guests come for an experience and we want them to leave with memories that they will never forgot!! We look forward to your return and please make sure to contact David Cohen or myself so we can personally assist you with your future room reservations. With our sincere appreciation for your business.
Tim Lee-Hotelier Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,778 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
959 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,222 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Property: Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing