We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, overpriced, exploiting it's location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. The only thing it has going for it, is that it is located in a great location in beautiful Santa Monica. Yes it's near the beach and steps from the promenade, so great for shopping. I didn't get the room I booked, even though I booked many months in advance. I got a queen bed, not a king. I addressed this repeatedly with the front desk and their only response was the hotel was full. The hallways were dark with weird overpowering wood walls. The room was tight, felt beat up, the view was blocked most of the time with heavy levels of condensation. The walls were paper thin, you could hear everything going on next door, even whispering. This is something of a party hotel too so good luck getting past the bouncer in the evenings attempting to get to the packed elevators. And yes all of this can be yours for an astronomical price. Never again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Chris C,
We are sorry that you did not appreciate all that our property offers and why our loyal guests keep returning. Our Penthouse Restaurant & Lounge creates a very long line and crowd because it is the most popular place of all Santa Monica! We will be undergoing guestroom refurbishment with wonderful upgrades.We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Tim Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here last month. Beautiful decor, lovely and helpful people working hard to make guests feel at home, and the fragrances made me feel like I was in a spa!
Great location to see all of LA.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank TravelLoverBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear TravelLoverBoca,
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased you had a memorable stay. We look forward to your return and we thank you most sincerely for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at this fabulous hotel on Monday evening- I was recommended by a past guest and so glad we did. The valet & front desk greeted us immediately as we exited our car with kids. The best addition to this wonderfully appointed hotel was the concierge, named Norton. He gave us suggestions on where to take the kids, esp the 3rd street prominade which was a quick walk. Since parking is such a chore, A walking tour was best. He was the best I have met in a long time and we travel once a month. Norton handed us both his card and we found ourselves calling him a couple times for more suggestions. bravo..Thanks for a pleasant visit..Kids loved the spa tub in the room too.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Lisa W,
It was a honor to have you and your family as our guest and we thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that Norton was able to provide you with wonderful recommendations that met your needs. We look forward welcoming you and your family again and until then, our sincere appreciation Lisa for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you want to stay in style in Santa Monica then the Huntley is the place to do it. The attention to detail is incredible; from the linen in the room to the decor in reception, it's clear that a great deal of thought has been put into the design. The location is perfect - 5 mins from Santa Monica pier and the beach; 5 mins from downtown shopping. It is pricey, but I would say good value considering the level of comfort and luxury. Check out the Penthouse restaurant for amazing views of Santa Monica and LA.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Mike B,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations. The Huntley Santa Monica Beach is truly situated in the most ideal location, close proximity to 3rd Street Promenade, shops, restaurants, Santa Monica Beach and the iconic Pier.
We look forward welcoming you back and we thank you most sincerely Mike for your business..
Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Booked this on a weekend 3 for 2 deal, still not cheap but well worth it to spoil yourself.

The hotel is contemporary modern, the Lobby is understated but the rooms are a real treat . I was assigned an end room, it has 2 x king sized beds, very very comfortable beds, sofa, chair, 46 inch TV and very spacious .

On 2nd street it's 5 minutes walk to the coast and 10 mins and you're at the pier.

3rd street promenade is also 2 minutes walk away with lots if life and shopping happening.

The hotel even though busy especially with the Penthouse restaurant was quiet in the rooms.

We'll worth it, 1only 4/5 though as no hot drink making facility - us Brits like our tea ;-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear chris M,
Thank you for sharing your positive stay with our viewers. We are pleased that you found a new home when traveling to Santa Monica Beach! The Huntley is very popular for having the best location, like you have mentioned, so close to everything one would need for a very enjoyable stay.
We do provide complimentary Coffee Makers and Tea Kettles upon requests. Please let us know when you make your future room reservations and we will make sure to always provide one in your room for all future visits. With our sincere appreciation Chris for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Everything about my stay at the Huntley was amazing!! Starting from the gentleman who took my reservation (Carlos I believe his name was) to the front desk agents (Monica and Akemi) who accentuated the style and beauty that the Huntley has to offer.

The location of the Huntley couldn't be in a better place. Walking distance from the beach, the promenade (outdoor mall), bars and all of the best restaurants in Santa Monica. The views of Santa Monica and the ocean that our room provided were absolutely breathtaking to say the least. 10/10 would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Santa Monica; of course ask for Carlos in reservations to assist in making your reservations and there's no way you can go wrong!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south west corner have the better views but can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Omar C,
We are so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations. Starting with Carlos who assisted you with your room reservations, followed by Monica and Akemi at the Front desk, you were truly receiving our Huntley style of service excellence. Our staff understands the importance of meeting our guests demands and expectations for which they deserve. Our guests arrive with anticipation and depart with an adventure to be remembered. We look forward to your return when your travels brings you to Sunny Santa Monica Beach. With our sincere appreciation Omar for your business.
Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Okay, whoops. We assumed there was a pool but there isn't. Having said that, we loved the top floor lounge - great vibe, good drinks.
Location is perfect for whatever you want to do. The rooms (renovated?) were really lovely. I would stay there again if I were in Santa Monica. Went with girlfriends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckathleen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley Hotel S, Hotelier Consultant at Huntley Santa Monica Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear bckathleen1982,
Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that you will be returning. We are excited to share with you that we will be upgrading and refurbishing our guest rooms soon. The Huntley Santa Monica Beach truly, has the very best location and walking distance to all shops, restaurants, SM Beach and just 1 block from the ever popular 3rd Street Promenade. With our sincere appreciation for your business. Tim Lee - Hotelier Consultant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,682 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Santa Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Address: 1111 2nd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-5003 (Formerly The Huntley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £282 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huntley Santa Monica Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntley Santa Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing