We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay in Santa Monica instead of central LA and we are do glad we did.

This was the first place we stayed after landing into LA for the start of our honeymoon. The staff made us feel very welcome and even sent us up a card and a cake once they heard we were honeymooners.

The views of the room aren't the best views in LA but still pleasant. Staff made up for it. They even offer a free Internet and printing service

I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear scallyanna,
Congratulations again and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your honeymoon trip through LA! We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    1,105
    329
    124
    59
See reviews for
1,210
593
86
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel for a family of four. The rooms had a living room with a bed as well as a huge bedroom. It was located at a short distance from the restaurants and pier. Great value for money

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DimpleAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear dra72,
Thank you for choosing our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton for your recent family vacation from Mumbai. We are pleased that you found the hotel's location and "suite" layout well suited to your family's needs. Thank you for your positive review and please join us again soon!
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I will preface my review stating this was a priceline purchase and I paid substantially less that published rates. This was an unplanned weekend trip that worked out great.

Being all suites this was great for my family of four. Pull out sofa bed for the kids. Separate sleeping areas, and the bathroom is shared by both. Our rooms was clean, as well as the hotel. All service staff were helpful. They held our bags and let us keep our car parked past check out on our last day. This saved us from parking nightmares on our trip down to Venice Beach (we took the Big Blue Bus). There is plenty to do within walking distance from the hotel (beach, pier, shopping, dinning). My only minor complaints were the flat pillows and I could never find the light switches... so frustrating.

I will comment on some of the frequent complaints by others. One of the most frequent comments I see about ANY hotel is "it needs updating". I'm not sure what people expect. It wasn't that bad. And the toilets were noisy, but I suspect this is better than having someone up to unclog the toilet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear 1mgregory,
We always enjoy hearing from Senior Reviewers and certainly appreciate your feedback! Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are happy that you and your family found us for your weekend away and had such a good experience. And we hope you can return soon!
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Two blocks from the beach and three from Santa Monica Pier. This is best hotel for easy access to all Santa Monica has to offer. I even walk the three miles to work (Ocean Park Blvd) and then loop back in the afternoon on Wilshire Blvd and the like to see even more of the town. Very safe and friendly. It's never too early to be out on the walking path; breakfast at a Venice Beach cafe starts my day right!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delores_2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Delores_2468,
Thanks for posting your review of your recent stay with us in Santa Monica. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and look forward to your next visit!
Come back soon!
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here is June( family of 4). The hotel is very nice, modern. Upon checkin we were upgraded to partial ocean view-not so great view on the preferred level as DH is a gold member.
We had a king suite, very nice,but honestly bed was more like a queen, there was also a pullout in living area.
We were also given vouchers for free continental breakfast with the option to pay extra for hot meal. We did this twice, our sons though were allowed to eat from the hot section w/o extra fees. Breakfast was nothing special but enough to get the day started.
There is laundry facility available w/c was great cause we were coming from a week in San Fran. You can buy detergent/softener at the lobby store.

Location was great. 10min walk to promenade, 10-15min to beach though as others have pointed out you walk along a very busy road with cars going fast so make sure you hold onto you little ones.
I requested a late checkout the day before departure and was sternly told not possible as hotel was fully sold,hmmm so I waited till late evening for the shift change and my request was easily accommodated.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, we had a very nice stay w/o paying those super high prices for a hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear dbabaran,
Thank you for the positive comments provided on your recent TripAdvisor posting. As a Hilton Honors member, your feedback is especially important and we are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us in Santa Monica. We hope to be of service to you again soon!
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

if you book early, they will severly overcharge you - I booked early (3 weeks in advance to make sure), and got what I thought at the time was a good deal via their webpage.... Just to find now, upon arrival, that they selling the same room-offer to 50-60 dollars less incl breakfast....I thought it was the other way around...that "early birds" got a better deal.... apparently not.

and free wifi, it is free for one reason--- it sucks big time !

Room Tip: Get a better deal on not being an "early-bird"......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Lasse F,
Thanks for posting your review of our DoubleTree Suites by Hilton in Santa Monica. We especially appreciate knowing that you found the hotel a clean and convenient option for your visit from Norway. Booking early generally does secure the best available rate and also guarantees your room over dates when the hotel may be full. However, we have added some attractive new packages this year in addition to the more popular Bed & Breakfast Package like the Santa Monica Pier Park Package and a Shopping package featuring the Santa Monica Place shoppes located nearby. We certainly hope this did not cause any confusion with rate options and appreciate your feedback on the subject.
Please feel free to contact me I can be of any assistance in the future.
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Great staff, beautiful and clean rooms, awesome location. You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorianderson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Lorianderson40,
Thank you for the excellent ratings of our hotel on your recent TripAdvisor posting! We appreciate your choosing the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton brand and hope your business plans bring you back to Santa Monica very soon!
Kind regards,
Morgan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,860 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,551 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing