We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, great facilities”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've had enough of 'cool' hotels where nothing works easily so this was a refreshing change. The suite was big and airy, and very clean. The TV and wifi worked straight away, and no extra charge. Breakfast was included and excellent. Staff super friendly and efficient. And a fabulous location in Santa Monica - as long as you don't mind the freeway next door. I was on business and it was a great base for a 5 day trip.

Room Tip: My room was overlooking the freeway but I wasn't bothered by noise. However you might want to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Encouraged to read that you found our property a "great base for a business setting" along with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Please visit us again; perhaps next time for leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    1,106
    329
    126
    59
See reviews for
1,212
594
86
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great location (not on beach, but close walk to town and beach - like 10 minutes) Great price for Santa Monica area. Refurbished rooms. Great service. Did not try food given variety in area. Parking is best at Civic Center garage across street for $5 per day instead of $30. High room with city view is good. Faced ball field at high school but saw Westwood in background, very quiet room. Overall this was a perfect place for my family of 5 (2 queens and sleeper sofa). Plus free wi-fi for all. Overall an A Grade.

Room Tip: High up facing ball field at Santa Monica High kept us away from 4th street noice and I-10 was not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for recognizing that our property is a "perfect place for families" -- we receive a lot of positive feedback on that along with the complimentary Wi-Fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I booked a weekend stay at this Doubletree so we can explore Santa Monica and surrounding areas as part of a two week California vacation. Well, we ended up staying 5 nights because the hotel was so nice and everything around L.A. was a short distance away. The staff was some of the friendliest I've experienced in the hotel business. We called the front desk a couple of times for minor repairs and both times they responded quickly and efficiently. The restaurant downstairs was good and again the staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was truly a suite with a door separating the living room and bedroom. This was great because our 3 year old could go to sleep and we can stay up watching tv or talking without disturbing him. Our only complaint was with the location. The hotel is right next to a highway entrance and many times getting out of the driveway into traffic was a challenge because there was a long line of cars waiting to enter the highway. Walking out was also a bit of a challenge because there's no walkway out of the hotel. You have to walk on the same driveway where cars go out. Walking to the pier or 3rd street promenade was a short 10 minute walk. If I went back, I would probably stay here again. For the money, it's a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We appreciate you recognizing our staff as some of the "friendliest I've experienced in the hotel business".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We visited Hilton Double Tree, Santa Monica - CAL, in late June 2012. Two parents and three kids aged 13, 10 and 8. Staff was very friendly and service-minded in a nice straight forward way. Also towards kids. Rooms were spacious, clean and well-equipped. Traffic noise from nearby Santa Monica Freeway was no problem. Meals in the restaurant were a pleasure. Especially the breakfast can be recommended. The fitness room was inviting and with direct exit to the outdoor hotel pool at 1st floor. The whole atmosphere on the hotel is friendly and professional. Just a place to enjoy as a good base for exploring Santa Monica and its surroundings! You reach the beach after 5 minutes walking!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
It appears that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that our property has to offer; please consider us again if your travels should ever bring you back to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Arrived very early on a flight from NZ and managed to get into our room a little early, reception staff very helpful. Room was fine, very clean and comfortable, very good blackout blinds and even though we were near the elevator there was no noise. Air con a bit noisy but couldn't hear it in the bedroom. Nice swimming pool and hot tub, not somewhere you would want to hang out but nice for a swim in the evening.

Breakfast was a pretty standard Hilton set up, served until 11am which was great as we were getting up late with jet lag, staff were very good.

Wireless Internet was very good and also free so that was a bonus

Location was great very close to the beach and pier and only about a 5-10 minute walk to all the shops.

We did book a room with a partial sea view, wasn't much more than a standard room but would probably pass on this next time as you are a few blocks form the sea so not much to see and with the sea mist we couldn't see much anyway.

Only thing I didn't like was the valet parking very expensive at $32 a night, didn't realise that you can park across the road for $5 a day

Room Tip: Don't bother with the partial sea view rooms not worth the extra money just walk down the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank for mentioning the 'bonus" that we do not charge for internet; it was a business decision we made to accommodate our guests and it has been received very favorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The staff was friendly. I left a necklace in the hotel. I called the hotel 4 days later and was pleased to hear it was found. It has sentimental value and I am so very thankful to get it back.

The room was very clean and comfortable. I love the location to the beach and shoppping.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 46Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Very pleased that your necklace found its way back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A one night trip on the way home. Arrived late in the evening and staff were pleasant and helpful, allowing me to check in and get straight to my large, rear of hotel, room which faced the expressway so no view but very quiet. Had a great bed, slept like a log and then had a great buffet breakfast including perfectly poached eggs on request of the chef.
Well located via short 10 minute stroll to the beach, Peir and shops, I spent the morning taking in the beautiful Santa Monica lifestyle. Car arranged by the concierge for my departure was early but the staff allowed me sufficient time with no hurry to check out and depart.
Slightly tired decor in the rooms and hotel is my only lightly downside comment. All in all a great stay.

Room Tip: Rear to Beach room - no view but spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDSmith1, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
“All in all a great stay”; please come back and visit us again when you can stay for more than a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,863 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,555 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing