We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Monica gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Santa Monica gem”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great hotel to stay if you plan to tour West LA. Close to Santa Monica walking favs, like the Third St Promenade, Main and Ocean Streets. Quiet and clean, we had a large King Size Room #635 which did not face the water, but we think the west views are blocked anyway by a large building in front of the hotel. The staff is polite, valet service is quick, rooms are clean. Our room had a separate bedroom which is nice if one of you wants to sleep in or stay up later than the other. The LAX is about 20-30 minutes south of the hotel, easy to get to.

Room Tip: Rooms off the lobby courtyard will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for rating us as a “Santa Monica Gem”. I agree. We are fortunate to be in such a great location with easy access to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the other wonderful sites in LA while also are a quick walk to the beach, 3rd Street Promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier. And, just like you so eloquently mention, we are a suite property with a separate bedroom and living room with a pullout sofa, allowing plenty of room to stretch out and relax. And when you add the microwave, refrigerator and room service delivery we provide all of the comforts of home.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back again soon.
Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    1,105
    329
    124
    58
See reviews for
1,208
593
86
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just spent a week at the Doubletree in Santa Monica on business. Hotel was very comfortable. It should be for the price. The staff were always smiling and gave you a "Welcome back" every time you walked in the door. Breakfast buffet (incl. as a Gold Hhonors member) had everything you could think of and eggs could be ordered any way you wanted. Parking only by valet so save money by parking in the city lot right across the street - $5 vs. $28 plus tips and having to wait for your car. You can leave your car up to 72 hours without having to move it. Good equipment in fitness center but low ceiling height prevents lifting weights over your head and nice, but not overly large, outdoor pool. Only one problem with the room...had a very heavy steel pocket door between the bedroom and the bathroom with no latch or lock and only an indentation for a finger or thumb to close.

Room Tip: If you're a baseball fan, some of the rooms are like bleacher seats, looking over the SMHS field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team lives and breathes a service culture that exudes comfort and relaxation and can easily be found in our genuine and uncontrollable smiles as we are all grateful and humble to serve you, our guests. Chef Monty does a great job with our breakfast cooking eggs to order and going out of his way to greet and assure all our guests are enjoying their experience. Thank you for noticing. I do understand your sensitivity to valet costs. With our great location, just a quick walk to the beach, 3rd street promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier, parking is at a premium and difficult to find which is why we protect parking spots for our guests. There are public lots nearby that do charge less which is a great idea for folks that don’t need the convenience of valet and don’t mind paying for in and out privileges in the public lots as they don’t allow this benefit.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was so excited to arrive in Santa Monica and check-in to our hotel. However, my energy and excitement was quickly zapped away by a moody male receptionist at the counter. I don't know if it was the end of his shift or he's just an unhappy person but he did not crack a smile. When he said I was a Silver status, I let him know that I had recently become Gold and was hoping for an upgrade if they had availability. He looked at me with a look of contempt and insisted that I was Silver. No attempt at trying to clarify the matter. When I arrived at my room, I logged on to my Hilton Honors and sure enough there was my Gold status. The hotel didn't seem very packed so I'm sure an upgrade would have been possible. When I called them to clarify they said it was only possible to move me to another room which was equal to my current one.

On a differente note, hotel was clean and rooms were nice. It is on a very busy street, right next to higway entrance/exit. Parking and wifi are pricey. It does have a pool and sauna. I wouldn't stay here again. For the same price, I could have stayed somewhere where people welcome me to my vacation with big smiles and friendly faces!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate your feedback as this is a fantastic tool for us to constantly improve our guest’s experience. I have shared your concerns with my front desk team and all have taken this to heart. Please know that this type of experience is extremely rare for us as the hundreds of other reviews speak to but we own this and will be making appropriate changes.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us a chance to take care of you in the future.

Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived after a long drive and Haira on reception was extremely kind and welcoming and went out of her way to accommodate our family's needs. This made our hotel experience in Santa Monica much easier than it has been in other places. Very busy but family friendly hotel. Great to have a pool and laundry facilities when on a driving holiday and permanently on the move. While not on the beach the location is v convenient for beach and shopping - both a short walk. All staff, esp Haira and 4th Street Grille staff v friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get sea view and a suite, otherwise you can overlook freeway, although rooms well insu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davehoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
What wonderful comments. I completely agree. Haira is great as is the rest of our team that genuinely cares about every guest’s experience. We are the perfect hotel for families traveling to Santa Monica as our two room suites offer plenty of room to stretch out and relax and the microwave and refrigerator are an added bonus. I am glad you were able to enjoy to our pool before venturing off to all the wonderful sites to see in Santa Monica.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back again soon.
Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very good service. Great breakfast with everything you can wish for. Very good deal to include breakfast in your booking. Expensive parking, park across the street instead. Great fitnessroom and a good spa with a small pool that fills it´s purposes. You need to walk 5-10 min. to the beach. Also a 5-10 min walk to third street promenade. Quiet rooms with good ventilation/AC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank stefanf778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are in a great location, have a fantastic breakfast and our pool and fitness center are perfect for folks that want to keep in shape or keep up their tan while visiting all the wonderful sites to see in Santa Monica. I do understand your sensitivity to valet costs. With our great location, just a quick walk to the beach, 3rd street promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier, parking is at a premium and difficult to find which is why we protect parking spots for our guests.
There is public parking nearby but you don’t have in and out privileges or the convenience of valet service.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at the Doubletree in Santa Monica was absolutely wonderful. Everyone was helpful, and genuine. We felt relaxed and well taken care of . The facilities were excellent and well maintained. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
What great comments. As you mentioned the team genuinely cares about every guest’s experience which you so graciously mention. I am glad you had a wonderful time here at the DoubleTree Santa Monica and we hope to see you back again soon.
Warm regards,

Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a great 3 days on a family road trip thru' CA. Great for the beach and shops with plenty on in the evening. Room was a bit on the small side but good enough and spotless. Pool area was good - clean and warm. Breakfast was expensive but there is a decent coffee shop for pastries/muffins etc. Nice touch was the family Italian dinner option which we used when we turned up. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only other complaint is the $28 per night parking - but for the LA area I guess that is par for the course. I'd certainly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetlesquasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. You are correct. We are in a fantastic location near the beach, 3rd street promenade and world famous Santa Monica Pier. Our rooms are spacious and comfortable, perfect for families. I am so glad you had the chance to experience our wonderful outdoor pool with lounge chairs and cocktail service as well as venture out to all the wonderful sites and activities that Santa Monica has become famous for. Also, our past special is a great family deal. Thanks for noticing.
Thanks you for staying with us and we hope to see you back again soon.
Brian Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,857 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
648 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,549 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Address: 1707 Fourth Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Hotel Santa Monica
Doubletree Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing