We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$451
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$643
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$580
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge by Wyndham Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$1,132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$622
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$588
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$607
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$538
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$574
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$534
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,595)
Filter reviews
2,595 results
Traveller rating
1,466
589
278
146
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
589
278
146
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfig restaurantfig treeocean towerbungalow barlobby loungestreet promenadebeautiful propertyconcierge deskthe santa monica piercar servicebeverly hillslos angelesvalet parkingocean frontexhalepalisadeswilshire
Filter
Updating list...
1,460 - 1,465 of 2,595 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont for five nights whilst in LA. From the valet when you arrive to the cleaners, the service was both friendly and excellent. The hotel is an old resort style set up but very well looked after and is very up to date. The bungalow I stayed in was really good value. Nice and spacious and well appointed bathrooms, with the added little touch of putting your name on the bottles of shower gel, shampoo etc..kind of shows they are trying to be personal.
The Fig is a nice place to eat but the outside patio areas were also great, lots of space, plenty of patio heaters and brilliant service.
The gym was good too, lots of space and good equipment with a fantastic outside patio area to exercise in the fresh air, with great views.
I couldn't have been more impressed with this place. I will keep going back if it's always this good.

Room Tip: The bungalows are great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LANYUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear LANYUKTraveller –

Thank you so much for the rave review! Please keep coming back because we really are always that good  We do our best to personalize the guest experience in any way we can – from toiletries and amenities, to detailing all our guests’ preferences in their profile so each stay feels more and more like coming home.

Hope to see you again soon during your next visit to the states!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Tremendous hotel and great staff. My wife loves this hotel particularly when staying in the Bungalows. We now make a habit of staying a night when flying out of LAX (just 20 minutes away in AM drive). Get to revisit Santa Monica, take in sights go to a great restaurant and have the best accommodations around.

Room Tip: You can't beat the bungalows large rooms, quiet with privacy, and outdoor terrace for afternoon tea (my wife loves that). Worth the extra money particularly for one night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Boris P –

Thank you for the review! I’m from the East Coast as well, and to me, the Miramar always represented the epitome of the Santa Monica experience. Please let me know the next time you stop by – I would love to meet you and your wife to thank you in person!

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont Miramar for the weekend and couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable stay. We had a great room on the top floor looking south down the beach so we could see the pier lit up at night. Room was very comfortable (with a Nespresso machine in the room). When we arrived the maids we in the hallway and asked if we needed extra towels, Nespresso capsules etc.

Had breakfast at Fig which was very different (in a good way) tasty and definitely a step up from even a JW or Ritz Carlton breakfast. We were eating at a local restaurant on Saturday evening (Melisse - which is outstanding) on the Saturday night, so the concierge arranged for us to have use of the hotel's chauffeur driven car (a BMW 750 hybrid) to drop us off and pick us up after dinner The driver, Robert, is very friendly and vey accommodating like all of the hotel staff we met over the weekend

My girlfriend used the spa while I went to the gym, which has everything; free weights, treadmill, several Life Fitness/Nautilus machines and a stationary bike on the balcony overlooking the pool.

The hotel is in a great setting and is convenient for the beach, and all of Santa Monica. It's right next to PCH so its convenient for driving up the coast to the Getty Villa, Malibu etc.

I've been to 7 or 8 hotels/resorts this year and this is the first time i've jumped onto trip advisor to post a recommendation. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone from the maids, to the restaurant and bar staff, concierge, front desk and Robert the driver are all very helpful and customer focused.

I would highly recommend the Fairmont Miramar Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The classic Eagles song was never far from my head on a visit here. Yes, the hotel if fine, and the fig tree in the courtyard is memorable, but my best suggestion is the following:

Go out in the morning, across Ocean Drive, and walk North along the nicely-landscaped parkway. Then wait for the sun to get just high enough in the sky, and look back through the tall palm grove when it is silhouetted against the sun, with a building in the background. Yes, it almost looks like the iconic cover photo from the album Hotel California!

Now, before someone jumps up and down, (and before I have to explain to someone what an "album" is), let me acknowledge that this is not, actually, the supposed subject of the Eagles album cover, not to mention the fact that you can, in fact, both check out and leave this place. However, for someone traveling from another part of the country, looking up a the sun peaking through the palm trees really let's you know that you are in California now!

I added an iphone photo that captures the shot. I am sure some other travelers can do better.

So, load up the track on your music player (including the guitar solo at the end) and head out for a nice walk.

Room Tip: Some have ocean views; some don't. If it matters to you, ask; if it doesn't, you should pay less. Also, some rooms are in a different wing of the hotel complex, which requires taking a stair or two. Finally, don't miss the excellent gym.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLAfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were given a darling bungalow by the pool with champagne on ice and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. Eight of our closest friends joined us to watch an amazing sunset, we settled in between the bungalows in a charming outdoor area with a beautiful view where we sipped champagne. The dinner at Fig was perfection, the waitress was so knowledgable about every dish, between the eight of us that ordered, everyone raved about their meal with tastes of each going around the table! Fig surprised us with dessert - service was great - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews