We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not family friendly on the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel but not family friendly on the weekend”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Fairmont Miramar is a nice hotel, but may not be the most family friendly option, particularly on the weekends. My 8 yr old daughter's primary request was to spend time swimming, however, the pool was so crowded on the weekends that we were unable to find lounge chairs close enough to safely watch her. In addition, the beach service was overbooked and we were unable to utilize this service.

The location of the hotel was terrific and we were in walking distance of great shopping and many restaurants. We enjoyed having breakfast at the Hotel's restaurant, Fig.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    518
    234
    128
    90
See reviews for
682
651
101
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Valley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great location, and the grounds are beautiful. They always have great things going on at the hotel for everyone. We especially enjoyed using the bikes and riding along the beach. The staff is very friendly!




  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was my first time in Santa Monica and definitely wanted a place near/on the beach. I have always enjoyed the Fairmont properties and this one was very nice. The rooms are a bit small but we had a suite with a separate living room so we weren't cramped. Beautiful view from the window. The lobby bar is a bit small and the service is spotty primarily due to the staff being overworked vis-à-vis patron/waiter ratio. The food was good and the drinks were excellent. The beach is near but the property is not on the beach - you need to cross the street and go down the bluffs. Not difficult but not on the beach. The hotel is convenient to the Santa Monica downtown and shopping areas.

Room Tip: So as not to be cramped will need a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

great place to stay in Santa Monica ... loved the staff and accommodations, very clean and good quality. Check out a bike and cruise the beach for early morning coffee shops. Don't miss the pool bar and and the work-out facilities ... seriously, treadmills with ocean views!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

To start off, I absolutely love this hotel. It is breathtaking with the large tree out front and the ocean being right across the street. The pool is beautiful, the valet is very friendly, and the rooms are stunning. I did get put in one of the rooms in the far tower which I would have preferred not to be in. Absolutely no view except for the wall of a building across the street. A colleague of mine was in the other tower and have a fabulous view of the ocean. Try to get this!

The only real downfall in my opinion is the price. The food, drinks, valet, and rooms are expensive. You have to be ready to drop some money to stay and enjoy this place.

All together, if you are fine spending the money and want a beautiful hotel, this is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the tower closest to the ocean. Very worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamme
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good hotel with nice features but not worth the money (too expensive in my opinion). Internet not for free in 2014?? Unacceptable. Friendly staff at pool bar and good valet but also very expensive and the room rate is already very high!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice hotel. Good rooms, great breakfast (actually exceptional breakfast, amazing service and hats off to the staff who run the Fig Restaurant, well done, you guys are what made the hotel experience memorable).

We had 2 issues: 1) we arrive after a 12 hour flight from London at 7:30 pm and our room was not ready and they would not give us another room. We had to wait till 8:15 to get our room, and even that only after I threatened to leave. Yes, they gave us a free dinner, but frankly I am not in the market for freebees (i wonder who is at c.$750 per night?). 2) then amazing, every night there is some disco happening at ground level outside, music beating loudly (actually decent beat but not what one cares for if trying to sleep!) felt like I was sleeping in a disco - we were on the 3rd floor overlooking the driveway/beautiful tree.

If it had not been for the disaster checking in and the nightly music disturbance (which goes on till 1 or 2 am, I think), I would rate the hotel as Excellent as the location, quality of rooms, general atmosphere and exceptional breakfast all support an excellent rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fahad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlySkinner, Director of Rooms at Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Fahad S –

Thank you leaving a review and for your constructive feedback. Clearly checking into a room as late as you did is unacceptable, and the offer for a complimentary dinner while you waited was the least we could do. We in no way meant to offend you with a “freebie”, so my apologies.

Please also accept my apologies for Bungalow causing any disturbance throughout your stay. The majority of our rooms are located a considerable distance from the lounge, so should you find yourself in the Santa Monica area again in the future, please reach out to me directly so I can arrange one of those rooms for you personally.

Carly Skinner
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 101 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica, CA 90401-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Miramar Hotel And Bungalows
Fairmont Santa Monica
Santa Monica Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing