We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpisingly Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surpisingly Great Stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I traveled to Santa Monica with my wife end of Sep this year. I had to attend a Summit at the nearby Shutters at The Beach Hotel. Our head office (I am assigned to the Asia office) is also based in Santa Monica. We arrived in LA 9/24 and stayed with friends at Irvine. We then moved to Hotel California 9/26 and stayed there for 3 nights. We were hesitant to leave Irvine where we slept comfortably. When we booked online, we knew it was reasonably priced but had concerns about the quality of service and of the hotel. Heading the Asian delegation to this Summit, I had also recommended this hotel to two other delegates from Japan. To our surprise, it was one of the best hotels we stayed in. Great staff namely MARIBEL, JON and STEVE. These are the pillars and assets of the hotel - the staff who love their work. My Japanese delegates enjoyed their stay too (one enjoyed the surfing). Truly a charming iconic hotel in Santa Monica. In fact, on our last day, the producers from Hells Kitchen dropped by the hotel asking if they wanted to be featured for another program as they too felt that this hotel was a charming, quaint hotel that is iconic. I will stay here again next time I travel to Santa Monica. I need not say more about its ideal location to the shops and restaurants. Maribel, Jon and Steve, thanks again for your kind hospitality. You made our trip even more memorable! More power.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    326
    173
    92
    93
See reviews for
334
327
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

A lovely little gem in the heart of Santa Monica! Walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier, one block from the boardwalk and a short walk to Venice Beach. Easy bike ride or bus ride to the mall. 20-30 minutes from LAX. Mornings are full of fresh coffee, milk, juice, fruits and pastry in the lobby. We had a two bedroom, I will say the beds are small, but all in all comfy! Character was abundant, beautiful dark wood, hard wood floors, flat screen tv, lots of room and clean! Staff was wonderful, as a woman traveler a safe feeling was had. Wonderful places to dine and fun bars are a half mile walk. Small court yards with fun wooded charis/tables surrounded by wonderful funa! Secured gate leadng to beach/boardwalk 24/7; front gate locked during evening hours.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms will hear walkers above, due to the beautiful hardwood floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel is conveniently located close to the Santa Monica Pier, and it has the basic necessities. Interestingly, no A/C and luckily we were there during cooler weather. However, the walls between other units seemed thin (noise coming through). It is old, but clean. They only have about 12 parking spaces for the entire hotel - so you can park at another hotel on the next block - if you park on the street you will be ticketed ($64 parking ticket versus a $25 parking fee by the hotel). The hotel clerks didn't seem to even care that you were there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

It was a disaster from the start. We were promised a family suite, they booked us into a junior suite. We went down to complain and the lady at the front desk told us that she would take care of it by 1:30 we came back at 3:30 she was gone and we still had the junior suite. Steve at the desk told us he couldn't help us but he'd try. He couldn't do anything, so we stayed in the Junior suite. Dim lights, terrible bed, outlet covers were on crooked, it was very hard to charge our phones, bathroom was very small. We woke up to a very bad gas smell on Monday, when we complained they didn't know what to do. Mariel the day desk clerk was great, she said she could put us in a Family suite for the rest of our stay, it was a lot better. Bigger rooms, beds were very uncomfortable. Our TV didn't work so we called and they sent two of the maids to fix our TV. Neither one knew what they were doing. We ended up fixing it ourselves. I can say it was clean, but needs a lot of updating. Again Thanks to Mariel. She was the only hi lite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickMalizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We reserved room directly through the hotel web site and we got a confirmation by email. Upon arrival, the receptionist told us that "it was a mistake", no rooms were available and practically threw us out of the lobby. Extremely rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomasd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Avoid this place if you can. No AC, dirty, not very friendly staff and walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertpnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Not enough parking places, 30 dollars a night for the hotel parking, small rooms, horrible bathroom, very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antwerpgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,824 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,245 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing