We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Sea Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Blue Hotel
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First, after you figure out what to do with your car, on 8 or so parking spaces, you can enjoy where you are. Across the street, 24 hrs for 14.00, next door, Lowes 36.00 for 24 hrs. We were lucky, after the first night, a slot opened up and we did not move it. Now the room, we were in the back, 29 A. Excellent room. View of the pier, quiet, cute and clean. We were here for New Years. Walking distance to the sand, the pier, restaurants and the promenade shopping street.. Surfboards, guitars and california memorabilia everywhere. Breakfast is small, bagels, yogurt, fruit and coffee n juice. The staff is very helpful when needed. They do not have heat or ac in the rooms. And no spare space heaters if some one has asked for two. So in this case, they brought us a couple extra blankets, which we used. Kinda tuff, when the warmest place in the room is in the shower.. Better dress fast.
At the pier is the famous Lobster Restaurant. Great ocean views. We chose Blue Plate Taco down the block on Ocean. Best Mexican food i have ever had. We went twice, and one night was New Years Eve.
They did give us a late check out so we could finish the Rose Parade with our blankets. So it all just makes an interesting tale and it would not keep me from coming back. BTW, it was the best night rate on Ocean Blvd. for New Years Eve.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side, big construction going on now. Constant beeping from fork lifts and equipm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed only one night, but if I could have taken the bed on my travels, I would have. So soft, so warm, so comfortable!
We had the 2 room suite for 3 of us. Plenty of room, enough cute beach kitsch to make you feel like you're on holiday without being tacky. Lovely people, great location only a block from Santa Monica pier, ok breakfast, short trip to the airport...it's hard to find fault with this super charming hotel. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Von62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

What a perfect headline for our hotel, we really do have the best beds ever (or at least in Santa Monica!) Truly sounds like you got to experience all the charm of our hotel and Santa Monica in general. We hope you will get to come stay with us again for some more fun at the beach! Again, thank you for your review we really appreciate hearing stories from someone who had such a blast with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The Hotel California was very good, breakfast is free and that's a plus. When we had problems with the room they fixed them quickly. The owner (I think she is the owner) is really nice and her dog is so cute (if you don't like dogs don't worry because it is not always there).
The hotel is comfortable and the beds are good too (although on the smaller side). Good service.
The toilet clogged at the end of our stay, but I'm sure they'd be more than willing to fix it if we asked.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Malu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I celebrated my 60th birthday and wanted to stay here and dance to the Eagles song of the same name. They treated us like royalty. I just loved it. The staff and management were great. Location perfect. I recommend. It was magical to be in such a quaint, charming hotel. I'm not much on the big modern places so the charm of Hotel California was perfect. I loved it.

Room Tip: I think we were in Suite 37 - a two bedroom suite. It was great. Second bedroom, a curtained off are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Davida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Friendly neighbors, owner, and staff made us feel welcome. The proximity to the beaches, bike rentals, excellent restaurants made it a perfect place for our large family of eighteen to find fun without doing much driving. We liked the nostalgia and the song lyrics: "such a lovely place" and really did not want to leave.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GGH936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Our staff at The Hotel California loves reading posts like this! We loved having all 18 of you in from Utah with us! We are thrilled you all had such a great time here and got to have so much fun exploring Santa Monica. Hope you get to come back and see us again soon, thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Initially we looked into staying at a 5* hotel to begin a 2 week long Californian road trip but opted to start our trip here purely because of the song! It was a comfortable short stay. It had all the basics and everything was clean. The bathroom was a little small for four people and the hot water was tricky to regulate and was scolding at times but generally very happy. The reception area is a little small but the outside entrance had seating for anyone looking for space when checking in. The hotel was very sweet and quaint and is directly in front of the beach which is literally a 3 minute walk away. There is parking and basic breakfast of coffee and cakes etc with seating and tables outside to enjoy your food. There is wifi which is strongest when used outside the reception area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariariar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago and it was great! Comfy beds, nice staff, great location. Only issue was the wireless internet was a little slow in the back of the hotel. Other than that this place is amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosangelasx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,966 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
721 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,414 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Blue Hotel

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212 (Formerly The Hotel California)
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £149 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic, Oceanfront Santa Monica Hotel (formerly Hotel California) Unwind at this laid-back, oceanfront hideaway along the Pacific. Bask in the sun and carefree lifestyle of Southern California and stay a while at the Sea Blue Hotel. With a prime beachfront address, our tranquil, seaside refuge welcomes you to the heart of Santa Monica. Relax in our private courtyard with beach access, so you can dip your toes in the sand any time. Stay within walking distance of the Santa Monica Pier and the iconic Pacific Park Ferris wheel, and close to the local shops and galleries that line the Third Street Promenade. Just minutes from LAX, Venice Beach, and Malibu, our modern, surf-inspired accommodations with free Wi-Fi will leave you rested and relaxed, so you can head out to catch some waves and explore the best parts of coastal Southern California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing