We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality for the price, but try to spend more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality for the price, but try to spend more”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our wedding night. The front desk was helpful and polite. The staff was great, but the room was so dated. I understand that's what they're going for, but it's just underwhelming when you walk in. The ceiling fan could not be ran on low or medium because of a knocking noise. Room 33 did have an ocean view, but over a rooftop. Not romantic or anything.
I would not stay here for a romantic setting. Try to spend more on another hotel.

Room Tip: Room 33 is one of the best rooms at this hotel. Maybe THE best. If you stay here, stay in this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielKeith0485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Daniel, thank you so much for choosing The Hotel California for your
wedding night and congratulations! The Hotel California loves to host
special occasions, as you can see by reviewing some of our previous reviews. We pride ourselves on our great service and believe that it sets us apart from the other "big box" style hotels in Santa Monica. We regret that you did not enjoy your time with us. Our rooms feature a very comfortable, laid back, California vibe to them and it embody the overall beach feeling. The ceiling fan mentioned was fixed
immediately, once we were notified. We take the time to ensure all of our
rooms are top of the line in every aspect, ceiling fans included!

Should you find yourself back in the Santa Monica area, please feel free to reach out to me directly. I will be sure to make your next stay as comfortable as possible. I'll even throw in a bottle of wine and a nice suite upgrade on the house!

- James Broome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    324
    171
    92
    93
See reviews for
332
323
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was old but very well maintained! The staff was so friendly, and the location could not have been better. The hotel was way better than I expected it to be for the price we paid. I would recommend it to anyone going to the Santa Monica area. The beach is literally a staircase away from you. The view and location there is better than those of the much more expensive hotels in the area. We were so pleased with everything, and I would stay here again in heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeenaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thanks, Deena! I'm so happy to hear you got true VALUE during your stay. Between our complimentary breakfast, WiFi, coffee/tea, and pizza parties we always encourage our guests to pick The Hotel California because don't pick your pocket! Please contact me directly when planning your return trip. James Broome, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Not knowing to much about the Santa Monica area apart from Santa Monica having a pier of some fame, we were unsure about were to book our short stay. After doing some research we came across The Hotel California.

Half knowing what to expect I wasn't taken back by what we booked into. This private hotel has a great atmosphere and friendly feel. The desk staff were always helpful Katie, Aaron and JP were all very welcoming and obliging to our needs. The Hotel is a stones throw from the beach and pier. The location of the hotel offers the stayer the option to go and have a short stroll on the beach and pier, and without any fuss go back to the room to freshen up or have a nap ready for the next part of the day. THC has maintained that beach and relaxed feel. THC is very well located to all amenities shops, eateries and the like.

For the unsuspecting visitor, be aware that THC has only ceiling fans (which we prefer) and no air conditioning, also be aware that it is a reasonably old hotel, so some of the amenities may be not what you would get in a modern hotel.

We had a front room located on Ocean Ave which can be quite noisy , there is double glazing to reduce the road noise, however we lived with the door open most of the time, so maybe ask for a rear room. The breakfast offered was quite adequate, consisting of the now stand fare in many hotels, bagels, muffins, yogurt, fruit etc. plus we found the 24 hour coffee a great plus, being coffee lovers.

Also ask about the private taxi service. We got the private taxi offered and travelled in luxury to LAX at a much cheaper rate than the standard taxi service.

When staying in SM do yourselves a favor and try and catch the tunes of Terry Prince ,who plays regularly on SM pier he will turn a good stay into a great stay in Santa Monica!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the complex to avoid the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingpete72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel California and had a great time. It is in a fantastic location in the centre of the action and just above the beach (with fabulous views) It is a boutique style hotel set in a courtyard, and is very clean and friendly. The beds were really comfortable and the staff are amazing (particularly James and Katie) and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There is always free coffee and juice, and also cakes, fruit and croissants for breakfast. It is easy walking distance to the many shops bars and restaurants of Santa Monica. We would definitely stay here again, and cannot recommend it highly enough. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
An absolute gem - what a great description of our hotel! It's so nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and walk everywhere in the area. Your review will be so helpful to all other travelers because it describes The Hotel California perfectly! Whenever you get back out to sunny Santa Monica be sure to give Katie or myself a call for a "welcome back" discount. We love having our guests come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had some family in town and had some stay in marina del rye and some stay here. Both hotels were great, but this ones location and staff cannot be beat! I would like to give a special thank you to James and Marco for the friendly service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights week before last. The reception staff especally James and Aaron are really helpful, and nothing is to much trouble.
Good clean rooms, and breakfast was good. Would definately stay there again, and would recommed all our friends and family to stay there.

Thank you we had a great time.

Room Tip: all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks so much for the great review Karen! We're glad that you enjoyed our clean and beach themed rooms, along with the breakfast. Definition feel free to send your family and friends our way and we'll be happy to extend to them our 10% referral discount. Next time you are in need of some California sunshine out there in London, just pick up the phone and give us a ring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel, with a fun and funky vibe. Super clean rooms. Perfect location, within walking distance to everything Santa Monica has to offer. Warm, welcoming and very accommodating staff. A real gem -- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Funky and fun, that's exactly how we like to do things here! Thank you so much for such a stellar review! As you mentioned, we sure are walking distance to just about everything you need to see in Santa Monica. Next time your here we'll give you some new cool places to walk in the area. Call us up directly and we'll be sure to take care of you as a return guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,787 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
578 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing