We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Lovely place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Great location! Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel California. Being fellow Canadians, we loved the fact that the owner is a retired RCMP Officer! The room had lot's of character, which I found quite charming. The staff were all kind and accommodating. And the location was amazing. Just a walk down the stairs and you're practically on the beach, right at the pier! The continental breakfast was a nice addition. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brifoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
The hotel owner, THE DUDE, was born in Toronto and sends his best to you! Thanks for the glowing review! You picked the hotel with the best rates, best beds, and best location in Santa Monica! Call or book with us direct online at hotelca.com for a great return rate! James Broome, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    322
    171
    92
    93
See reviews for
330
323
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Missouri
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First visit, for business with some pleasure by being on the beach. A very unique collection of rooms. Three of us, I chose this hotel, but each if my co-workers got two room suites, one with a view of the ocean. I got a room about the size of my bed that looked onto a courtyard that was quite noisy. So, if you make a reservation, pick a "specific" room that meets your expectations at the time you make the reservation.
For Santa Monica beach and pier, you just walk down some steps and you are there.
For Santa Monica restaurants and shopping, you walk out the front and you are there.
Great location, great prices, a most unique hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights in June/July. Perfect location and the staff helped us with all the stuff we wanted to do it was perfect. No aircon wasn't real ya problem as we weren't in the room at all during the day but would have been nice at night, but if you are use to sleeping warm as we are it was no worries. Overall great stay and would recommend!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were greeted by a very friendly Aaron, who despite being somewhat harassed by a queue of guests and a continuously ringing phone, welcomed us to the hotel quickly and efficiently while handling the other customers with excellent wit and manners.

The hotel was ideally located and we were lucky enough to have parking onsite for both nights of our stay. The room was clean and brightly decorated which is as much as we could ask for the price tag.

The free breakfast didn't amount to much and is a takeaway option only, but there are plenty of great and affordable places nearby. It was useful to have free hot drinks to takeaway as we set off on explorations of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Szn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Outstanding value and location in Santa Monica! We have stayed at The Hotel California many times and enjoy the convenience of being next to everything Santa Monica has to offer. They have also improved their service and provide free internet and breakfast. For a comfortable and unique place to stay, try The Hotel California.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you, Robert, for taking the time to write such a great review! We appreciate your repeat stays with us! Next time please call me directly at the hotel for a fantastic return rate: 310.393.2363 James Broome, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Loved it went we first stayed thee some eight years ago. Going back it felt frankly tired and a bit jaded. Not helped by the fact that room, wasn't ready for us when arrived, that said they had upgraded us! We stayed in one of the suites, and everything felt old and worn including the bed linen. On the plus side, the reception staff are very helpful and friendly and a continental style breakfast is included in the price as is parking which is almost unique in Santa Monica and worth a bit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted with such friendly and helpful staff who instantly described the hotel to us as "chilled". My expectations were exceeded once I had a look around the hotel grounds and my room! - unlike any other hotel I had been before. It was chilled and relaxing with it's own sense of Californian style. Although the cost is not actually that cheap (roughly $250 a night) - it was much cheaper than other Santa Monica accommodation. Plus Hotel California has the best location! Do not expect a modern hotel with all the extras - Its a simple clean, friendly, relaxing and stylish hotel right across the road from Santa Monica pier!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Greetings Lucy! "Unlike any other hotel I had been before" - thanks for the lovely review! Best Location, Friendly Staff, Best beds! You picked the hotel that didn't pick your pocket! Please visit us direct at hotelca.com for a great return rate to the hotel! James Broome, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,785 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
614 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Property: The Hotel California
Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, laundry room, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing