We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel California
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

A big THANK YOU to Katie and the rest of the hotel staff for a wonderful experience. All I kept thinking while there was, how charming this place is... private access to beach/pier, lots of trees and plants, memorabilia galore, lots to do within walking distance and super comfy beds. Tables and chairs all around to enjoy a morning cup of coffee or just sit and take in the beautiful weather and scenery. So cozy. Like the signs say.... cool rooms... warm people. Hope to go back soon :) :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Nicole - thank you for such a glowing review! Glad you enjoyed our comfy BeautyRest mattress and it's so great you took advantage of our new courtyard. Please contact me directly at the hotel for a great return rate @ 310-393-2363 Cheers, James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed there last week (Aug 13, 2014). Arrived early and my room wasn't ready until 3 pm. To make up for this, although they didn't have to, Aaron and Katie upgraded me to a suite at no additional cost. The location is prime and hundreds of dollars less than the surrounding hotels. although the rooms are about as old as the song itself, don't let this fool you - it only adds to the charm. They do have flat screen TVs. The courtyard is great... tables to lounge or just read a book. My suite had a porch with a little loveseat in front of comfortable enough to fall asleep in. Staff is excellent and they make your comfort a priority. Continental breakfast is a nice plus. Will stay there over and over again.
-Dustin

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dustin - congrats on picking the hotel that didn't pick your pocket! I'm pumped you had a great experience at The Hotel California...upon your return please book direct with us at hotelca.com or 310-393-2363 for a great return rate. See ya soon! James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Thank you Katie, Aaron and James for a making our L.A girls trip even more fabulous. This hotel has THE perfect location for having fun on the beach and enjoying Santa Monica Pier. So much to do and all within walking distance. The staff.....beyond excellent.... they make you feel right at home and welcome. The room was like staying in a small surfer house on the beach. Very cozy and comfortable. The beds... soooo comfortable. Loved this hotel. Can't wait to come back.

See you guys again soon!

:)

Room Tip: We had the 2 bed Jr. suite with a balcony... very nice layout with partial view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allthoseshinythings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We are thrilled you had a "fabulous" visit to The Hotel California!! Aren't those BeautyRest mattresses the real deal, or what?! We look forward to hosting you again by the beach! Visit us at hotelca.com for a great return rate...Cheers! James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed warmly by the team here and it was only due to an issue at our pre-booked accommodation that we ended up staying here. Couldn't have been more pleased, cool rooms, great staff and some wonderful memorabilia around the Hotel that spoke to days gone past. My family loved the location and the private beach access right near the pier was the best. Thanks team for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Belmac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have to say our stay at the Hotel California was one of the highlights of our trip. Aaron, James and JP went above and beyond to make our stay fun. It was refreshing to see hotel staff who understand the meaning of the word service. The Hotel is the perfect staging ground for the Santa Monica area. We walked to the beach and pier and couldn't have been happier.

Room Tip: We had the two bedroom suite which gave us plenty of room to lounge around and relax. My only compl...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Hotel California exceeded my expectations for a surprise beach stay for my daughter, her friend, and myself! The location cannot be beat if you're looking to relax on the beautiful beach, have fun on the Pier, shop, or dine. So many opportunities within walking distance made this a don't worry about driving in California, truly stress free vacation for myself! The hotel lobby staff, Aaron (with the exceptionally friendly voice!), Katie, David, and Hovva were amazing! All were very helpful with suggesting activities to give us the vacation we all needed! These individuals, along with the housekeeping staff, were genuinely welcoming, gracious, and above all else, went out of their way to assure our comfort during our stay. I sincerely hope the hotel management realizes their staff are the true gems of this beautiful little hotel!! Besides the wonderful staff, the rooms were clean, the beds, pillows, and linens were exceptionally comfortable. The many outdoor seating and table areas scattered throughout the hotel invited you to sit and enjoy the peace of the beautiful, clean courtyard. The private gated walkway of the courtyard and to the beach gave peace of mind and opportunity to sit outside late at night and early morning without any worries. The breakfast offered each morning was perfect for fueling up for fun in the California sun! We appreciated and took advantage of the fresh fruit and beverages offered throughout the day and night. I highly recommend a stay at The Hotel California if you're looking to unwind and enjoy! Thanks again guys for giving us what my girls say are "the best 4 days of their lives!!" We will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 34 is the place to be!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Lori! Thank you for such a glowing review! The Hotel California prides itself on our hospitality and service. I'm so glad to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to your family's return! Please call me directly at the hotel for a great return rate - 310-393-2363 Cheers! James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a great hotel at a great price at a great location! We rounded up our summer travels here with a 36 hour stay at The Hotel California. We were jet lagged, exhausted and dragging 2 young children behind us. What a treat to arrive at 2am to find we had been upgraded to an amazing room - the best one on the property apparently. The room was clean, had 2 separate sleeping areas (great when you are trying to get kids to sleep) and perhaps the softest beds and linens around.
In the morning, we were surprised to find out just how close we were to the Santa Monica beach, pier and playground - they were just steps away. Because we were so close, it was so convenient to come and go. This is crucial with little kids who need food,breaks, bathrooms, clothes changes and naps.
The breakfast was just fine - coffee, juice, bagels and muffins --enough to get us going and tide us over while we got ourselves together. It is not a breakfast buffet and is not marketed as such. It is a basic free continental breakfast.
The staff...perhaps the friendliest and most accommodating I have ever experienced. Katie, Aaron and James - so much aloha! All 3 went above and beyond and their cheerful yet sincere demeanor was the icing on the cake. We were offered the latest check out they could manage, an offer of beach towels and place to change before leaving for the airport. Sweet, sweet, sweet.
In the area --
Across the street we discovered Tovanga Park (spelling?). Great splash park and playground for the kids - when you don't want to get all sandy.
The Mexican restaurant a half block away is THE best Mexican food I have ever had.

On a side note, I hope the owner stops yelling at his staff in front of customers. I see from other reviews that this is common. It need to stop. It is embarrassing for both staff and customer and is the ONLY negative to this establishment. If you need them to do something differently, send a memo or have a staff meeting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Californi... S, Front Office Manager at The Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Jade - It was a pleasure hosting you! You picked the hotel that doesn't pick your pocket...thanks for highlighting (and enjoying) everything Santa Monica has to offer. The Hotel California has the best location...with the best BeautyRest beds. Upon planning your return, please book direct with us for a great rate at hotelca.com or 310-393-2363! Cheers! James Broome, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,891 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
Wyndham Santa Monica At The Pier
#21 of 36 in Santa Monica
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,313 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel California

Address: 1670 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3212
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £134 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from the beach and from the famous Santa Monica Pier, this world-famous hotel offers complimentary coffee, tea, fruit, WiFi, as well as a private beach pathway! Experience the laid back California lifestyle as it should be. Moments from the shopping and dining, Third Street Promenade, Venice and Muscle Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel California Santa Monica
California Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing