We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, mostly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, mostly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of a Route 66 road trip. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. We arrived at 11am and were advised that our room was ready and we were therefore able to check in early. We were given a number of leaflets and advised on which tours were available and it was also easy to book through the hotel. We did a starlight tour which collected from and dropped of at the hotel.

The breakfast was free and it was one of the better ones that we had during our trip. There was a large selection of food and enough seating. However, breakfast was not served until 7 am. On our second day we had to be at the airport for this time, so we were not able to stay for breakfast which was dissapointing. The other hotels that we had stayed in started serving breakfast at 6 am which would have suited us much better.

We were advised by a member of staff to get the bus to the pier and told of the nearest bus stop. However, we stood at this bus stop for about 45 minutes one evening and two buses drove past us. When we went back to the hotel to pick up our car we were told that this bus stop wasn't actually a stop and that we should have gone to a different one. I would advise checking with the staff which bus stops are working stops. We did get the bus one day and it cost a dollar to get to the Pier. I would recommend this if you ascertain which stops the buses actually use...

Our main complaint about this hotel was the noise of the air conditioning unit. We had stayed in a number of different hotels throughout our trip however this was the noisiest of them all. We were both woken up on occassion by the unit going on and off. As it was July we were not able to sleep without the air conditioning on, so had to put up with disrupted sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our hotel. I am really sorry to hear about the air condition problem you had. That probloem has been fixed. We hope that we exceed your expectations on your next trip to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    836
    253
    55
    27
See reviews for
553
724
139
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family have stayed here twice now on different visits over two years. We came back and were not disappointed. Very clean, well equipped rooms. Friendly helpful staff. So easy to get to the beach area - just get the no.7 bus for a dollar straight there. Great Mexican restaurant across the road and go to Rae's diner too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your visit to Santa Monica. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased you enjoyed all the conveniences that we have to offer including Bus #7 to the Pier and Promenade. Looking forward to your return to Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very friendly front desk staff. Room super clean, big, well stocked (coffee, tea, toiletries), lots of towels! Close to the beach and to Tito's Tacos! Felt very secure. Only drawback? parking. Only a few spaces underground and in back of hotel. I am pretty sure there is more spaces around the hotel, but, who wants to park blocks away?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At Travelodge Santa Monica Hotel, we take pride in ensuring that our team is providing the best customer service and top of the line amenities. Yes, we do have additional free parking available for our guest at Trader Joe’s parking lot which is located across from our 3rd parking lot. Just ask for a yellow permit card at the front desk. We would like to invite you to come back and visit our property again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good place for access to the beach with cheap regular shuttle. Comfortable, clean rooms. Staff were always friendly, helpful and accomodating. Lovely, safe neighbourhood. Handy to local shops and services.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 80Jill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience during your recent visit to Santa Monica. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property and the friendliness of our staff. Looking forward to your return to Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had three nights with the family to explore the Los Angeles area and this property suited us perfectly. The location is perfect, as it is safe, close enough to everything, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of LA. The neighborhood offers everything you need from authentic quality food to groceries and plenty of public transportation. Only a couple of miles from the pier and a short bus ride to surrounding attractions. The hotel is clean, affordable, has friendly staff and ample parking for a city location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our prime location and friendly staff. I am also pleased to know you found our décor to be clean and comfortable as I understand how important comfort can be when traveling. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Room was a good size, it was clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and the free continental breakfast was also a nice bonus, including the free wifi and the kitchenette. If I have another quick stay in LA and need a place to sleep this will be the location I book.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDreaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am hopeful that we will always be your destination of choice when visiting Santa Monica! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonesboro ar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

While on vacation in California we spent 3 nights at the Travelodge in Santa Monica. A little nervous we were staying at a Travelodge but the reviews we read were good and now I see why. We were upgraded to a courtyard room without even requesting it and were able to check in to the hotel early on the day we arrived. The room was small be efficient and had everything we needed. The hotel was in a great location - just a couple of miles from the beach and central to other tourist site seeing. The hotel was charming on the outside and looked very well maintained. The staff was very friendly! The breakfast choices were good and cookies in the lobby in the afternoon was a nice treat. If we are ever in Santa Monica again we would definetly stay there again!

Room Tip: the courtyard area was nice and they even had a grill you could use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbySmtl90405, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Santa Monica, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our prime location and friendly staff. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade and you found our décor to be clean and comfortable as I understand how important comfort can be when traveling. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#18 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Best Western Plus Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Santa Monica

Property: Travelodge Santa Monica
Address: 3102 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Santa Monica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Santa Monica Pico Boulevard Hotel Santa Monica
Travel Lodge Santa Monica
Santa Monica Travel Lodge
Santa Monica Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing