We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location with outstanding Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location with outstanding Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Upon arrival the staff went out if their way to welcome us. The hotel setting is beautiful with a courtyard that includes outdoor dinning and swimming pool. The location is perfect, with the beach across the street from the back of the hotel. The Santa Monica Pier is two blocks away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    345
    169
    88
    54
See reviews for
308
287
44
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed for a long weekend at the Le Merigot for my first time being in the Los Angeles area, and had a blast. I've stayed at a couple JW Marriotts and this one is by the far the most luxurious, everything gave a "at the beach" vibe. The room was comfortable and luxurous as well, the only nit pick I would say is the view, the way the hotel is set up you really have more of a city view, you really have to look west to see the beach; to me this wasn't a big deal as I would rather be out on the beach than looking at it.
I did not take advantage of the Spa (there were at least 3 "spa elevators" on my floor) but it looks very nice and noteworthy. Keep in mind if you stay here you will be using the valet to park your car (as an extra expense) but they are very kind and courteous and will always make sure you have a bottle of water in hand before you leave.
This location is NOT on the beach, but its really really close and it really wasn't a problem in fact it makes it easier to get out on the PCH. To be clear, you are a 5 min walk to the pier and a 5 min walk to downtown. For the luxury and experience I feel like I got a very good value, if you are shooting for a Santa Monica vacation you cannot go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: The view isn't worth extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This JW Marriott is close to the beach and the Santa Monica Pier. The staff was gracious and attentive. I ate breakfast every morning in the hotel restaurant, and it was very good. The bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the TV worked perfectly. I had requested a room that was away from the elevators, and based upon other reviews, it seems to have been a good idea.
All in all, a good four-night stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deecee1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Let's begin with the good - and there is a lot of good! The hotel is in a great location next to the Santa Monica pier. Lots of fun things to do near by - lots of shopping and restaurants. The lobby is lovely and the bar terrace is really nice.
The rooms are nicely appointed and the beds are very comfortable. Nice pool area and gym. Valet parking staff and front desk staff were fantastic.

This hotel would have received a perfect score if not for the distracted staff in the restaurant. On my last day I decided to have breakfast in the restaurant. The food was wonderful - but the service was terrible. My waitress - and all the wait staff for that matter were congregated in the bar area watching videos on their phones while I sat waiting for service - waiting for coffee refills - waiting for jelly etc. They were completely distracted and not interested in providing good service. When I needed my bill I had to get up and find my waitress who - big surprise was texting on her phone completely unaware that I was standing there. On my way out - big surprise - the hostess was texting on her phone. As a business owner - I find his really unacceptable. Why are these employees being paid to text and watch videos? Where was the management? I will definitely stay in this hotel again - but I will avoid eating in the restaurant. There are plenty of other options available near by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for recent TripAdvisor review with specific examples of where we failed to meet your exceptions on your recent visit. I apologize for the lapses in service you encountered in the Restaurant. Texting and watching videos is not tolerated and I will be sure to address this with the restaurant staff.

If you have any further concerns or comments, please don't hesitate to contact me at Caroline.appel@lemerigothotel.com

Sincerely,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The last time I had this bad of a hotel experience was 10 years ago at a 2 star hotel in Inverness, Scotland where Norwegian North Sea oil workers would stay to get drunk. No drinkers here, just elevators that whine, whir and hum all night long. We made our reservations 3 weeks early with our usual request of quiet room away from elevator. The staff graciously moved us at our request after spending the first night next to the elevator. The second night was in a room across the hall from a different elevator with the motor and equipment for it apparently in the wall right behind our heads.
The staff is nice and helpful, but the facility is tired and needs a redo.
We got lucky--the Loews next store has availability. We are moving there for the next 3 nights.

Room Tip: Check with Loew's first
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and saddened that we didn't live up to your expectations. We are about to finished our renovation project in our guestrooms and are excited to showcase them.
We hope to someday welcome you back to our hotel so we can show you a true Le Merigot experience.

Sincerely,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I were looking for a two night getaway to celebrate our anniversary. Perfect beach spot in Santa Monica,CA. is the Le Merigot . It was so foggy when we arrived at night that drove past it.
It is a smallish Marriott hotel but service was excellent from the time we arrived until we departed. Everyone, no matter how small the request, was done cheerfully and always included "my pleasure". We were on a Romantic package which included breakfast, dinner, and valet parking with deluxe balcony category room. The meals without exception were outstanding. My wife had the lamb our first night and enjoyed it so that i had it the next night. One of the reasons for staying at the Le Merigot was that we attended Cirque du Soleil (Totum) at the Pier which is only 5-10 minute stroll. Other reviewers mention refurbishing and as we were checking out new light fixtures were being installed, so management must have gotten the word.

Room Tip: Oceanside of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbroadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline A, Director of Sales at JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review; we truly appreciate feedback from our guests and happy belated anniversary. We are about to finished our renovation project in our guestrooms and are excited to showcase them.

Sincerely,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed here 4 times over the past 4 years and the competition in Santa Monica has greatly increased.
Marriott needs to invest in this property. The ocean views are overstated. Food quality is very good.
I would stay again after rooms renovations. Friday and Sat evenings are very noisy in the pool area

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsgtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary European-style Hotel situated overlooking the Pacific Ocean, 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing