We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boooring Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
A TripAdvisor Member
“Boooring Hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2005

This is perhaps the most boring expensive hotel we've ever stayed in. My question is, did whoever designed it know it was going to be built in Santa Monica. You know, the city with the beach... the city will lovely vistas... the city with sea air from the Pacific. You're sure not going to get any of that here.

The architecture is absolutely uninspired. It's a plain block building. Unless you get a room with a balcony, you are sealed in. The windows don't open. If you do get a balcony, it will have two cheap patio chairs and a table surrounded by a wall that is so high you have to stand on tip toes see anything. If you're sitting down, you better like staring at a concret wall.

The rooms are lux inside, no doubt about that with good bathroom space and excellet linen... Frete on the bed... big towls. But the furnishings, while nice, are generic high end hotel anywhere in the world.

In fact, that's what's wrong with Le Merigot, it's a generic J.W. Marriott and when I'm paying more than $500 dollars a night including tax and $28 dollars a day parking, I want more than generic.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    361
    177
    91
    56
See reviews for
342
305
50
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2005

It might not matter to some, but for me being unable to open a window and smell the salt air destroys a lot of the appeal of staying near the beach, and the hermetically sealed windows made me feel like I was sleeping in an office building rather than a luxury hotel. Otherwise, the room was luxuriously comfortable. Service was not perfect -- my room had a defective lamp and unplugged telephone handset, both of which were corrected promptly, and the maid service forgot to replace the room service breakfast order form and other items -- but the staff was very friendly, eager to please and quick to respond to requests. The hotel sorely needs a coffee shop-type restaurant, in addition to the expensive Cezanne restaurant which nobody seems to go to and the limited fare available on the patio.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alonzogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2005

I easily would come back to stay at the JW Le Merigot. First and foremost the hotel is well located, second it has great service, third it was so very comfortable... beautiful room, great beds, frette linens, fourth the spa was professional... We were able to get all over Santa Monica by walking... stopped in next door at Shutters for a drink, ate at The Lobster ( a little too popular for great service also ate at Roca Sushi, shopped etc. L.A. to me versus the rest of California, is rude, pretentious, lacking in roots and substance... yet the JW was a contrast. I think we would pick this oasis should we return.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

This hotel is not worth the $280 and up rate if you are looking for class and value. The room was average and "stuffy" with no patio and no open window. Hotel has no Jacuzzi and a vey small pool. We were not able to get a chair as several people were competing for chair openings. Pool was dirty and dischelved (underwater light was dangling in the water). Fitness room was nice and had a great view. Staff serving drinks were nice but not the hotel bartender who "sized us up" and refused to serve us and a few other people drinks at the hotel bar. Granted we may have had too many at dinner but his attitude was terrible. We had to get the manager out to overrule the bartender. Stay at the Lowes..much better for the same money.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2005

We did a girls weekend away here, and it was very nice. The staff was mostly very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were pretty big and clean and the bathroom super. The food at the restaurant was good, but over priced. The pool is small, and there is no drink or food service by the pool, that was a minus for us. But fantastic location, a block from the strand, and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is small which was great. The spa was nice, not out of this world, but nice. I would return.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank JLynn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Grove Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2005

I think that if you have the right expectation going in, this is a terrific hotel. It is not a beach resort, the beach is a bit of walk and unless you have a premium room, the views aren't much either. Their is a very nice small pool and lounge chair area, with a well stocked gym.

The service was very good, a few personal touches that made it very nice. The bed/pillows/sheets were great, as were the soaps and shampoo.

This is good for a business trip combined with some time on the beach, but definitely not for a family vacation.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2005

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights and in most part it was great. The service was excellent way above average, but with all the rain are slideing door was leaking and there was a lot of water damage, are carpet and drapes were soaking wet. When we checked out we talked to the front desk and nothing was done about it. We thought they could of done somthing. The Spa was great and all the people working for the Hotel were very friendly and helpful. If I come back I think I might try a different place. But all in all I give the place a 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank spanky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,780 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,452 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
904 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot

Property: JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot
Address: 1740 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot is contemporary European-style hotel overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean. We are a top choice among hotels near Santa Monica Boulevard and the Santa Monica Pier, offering accommodations that are steps from the beach and fantastic shopping, and situated just 5 miles from J. Paul Getty Museum in Pacific Palisades, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Santa Monica Le Merigot Hotel Santa Monica
Marriott Santa Monica
Santa Monica Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing