We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Casa Del Mar is one of the best places we have every stayed. The location on the beach with the walking path along the beach is so wonderful. The service from the front desk to concierge to the valet people was fantastic. I don't think we would have been able to get into the restaurants we went to on Oscar weekend without the help of the concierge team. And we never had to wait for our car even on the busy weekend we were there. Our room was so well done with soothing colors and they did a great job outfitting the room with special touches such as a variety of books and special snacks in the room. They did a great job with using the most of the space with shelving and a great love seat as well as a chair. The bathroom had two chests with drawers for each of us and a window with shutters to open to see outside. The Ocean view rooms do not have balconies but we knew that before arriving. So great to walk to Santa Monica restaurants and the hotel will also drive you for no charge to locations not walkable within three miles of the hotel. We used this two times and it really was nice not to worry about parking. The beautiful lobby is always hopping at night with live music on the weekends. Only thing I would give a lower rating to would be the workout room--but hopefully one will workout outside in the great So Cal weather. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: request a higher floor to have a great view of either the north or south coast line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 742Donsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I hated the stay there. You do not get the quality for the price you pay. The service was bad, we were referred to Shutters to have breakfast outdoors, where at Shutters you can only eat inside. The valet brought us our car back covered in bird droppings with a blank stare, the closet had water on the shelves..... Will never go back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear NF,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this invaluable feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and apologize that our service did not live up to our usual high standards. I have personally looked into the issues you have addressed. Thank you!

Sincerely,
James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

You cannot be any closer to the gorgeous Santa Monica beach without getting sand in your shoes - hence the location cannot be beat. The rooms are large and well maintained, the gym has brand new equipment, service is a little slow (in line for an unhurried resort style - just be aware of if you are in a rush). I would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo2018zabivaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I just spent a long weekend in celebration of our wedding anniversary at the Casa del Mar and agreed it is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in. Although we live in San Diego only a short drive from the beach, Casa del Mar's location directly on the beach was truly a plus. The hotel's reception area is appointed beautifully and the staff welcoming immediately upon our arrival. The decor and comfort of our room was light and airy (Rm. 618 on the 4th floor just above the pool area with a view directly out to the ocean and sunset) with many personal touches. With the windows open, we enjoyed hearing the surf as we were nodding off (we were lucky to have warm temperatures & sunshine for our stay) -- windows closed, the room was very quiet. The jetted tub was relaxing after a day out riding bikes and shopping along Abbot Kinney Blvd. and the 3rd Street Promenade nearby. We enjoyed live music Saturday night in the lounge while having dinner. Speaking of dinner, the food at Catch is excellent. Sunday brunch was delicious as well and portions generous. The seating area of the lounge is quite comfortable, so we enjoyed a happy hour drink while watching a bit of playoff football on TV (no sound to disturb others). We've both agreed we will make a point to return to Casa del Mar for another weekend soon -- it's a very special place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellypea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed at the Casa del Mar three times over the last four years, always with consistent results. The hotel is gorgeous, historic, beautifully maintained, and perfectly situated right on the beach and close to Santa Monica attractions. Everyone I've encountered who works at the hotel is a consummate professional. One time a couple of years ago my husband and I brought our puppy (they're dog friendly!), and the valet staff had a stash of dog treats for her. The rooms are large, with lovely thoughtful touches like dimmer switches everywhere, thick towels, great bath products, jetted tubs and terrific books in the room in the event you have time to relax. The Casa del Mar is the only place I will stay when I have to go to LA.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

For sure not a cheap Hotel but it is worse each penny. The rooms are decorated in a maritim way and make you feel comfortable immeditaley. Beautiful lobby and restaurant with great views. Staff very helpful. I prefer the Casa del Mar rather then Shutter's on the Beach (next door) what is outstanding as well. I do look very much forward for my next stay at the Casa del Mar

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naitsabenomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I don't think this is the property for just one or two nights. The hotel was built in 1926 in Italian Renaissance Revival style and is a bit like a new pair of expensive shoes, you need a couple of days to appreciate what you have. Great location, great staff and service. The 3rd floor bar/lounge area with the nightly music is fantastic - make sure you have a room on a high level to avoid the music. The rooms are a bit unusual in design, however spacious, beautifully decorated and fitted out. Some plumbing noise from adjacent rooms but not too bad.
Don't worry about a view room, save youself a few bucks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BazMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,967 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,618 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £368 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing