We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Del Mar - wow! First Class”
Review of Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa del Mar
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Casa Del Mar - wow! First Class”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in lots of outstanding hotels but this one really impressed. Probably the nicest most homely suite I've ever stayed in Suite 623 with an oceanfront view. Staff and service are what the Four Seasons used to be! The location is stunning and the property is flawless. They charge hotel guests for beach chairs which I don't understand but it didn't detract from me thinking this was the best hotel in California. The housekeeping staff are charming and engage you wanting to make your stay perfect. Well done Casa Del Mar.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moriati1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Moriati1812,

Thank you for joining us at Hotel Casa del Mar! I am delighted to hear that our ocean view suite, along with our staff and services, impressed you. I also appreciate your comment regarding our "flawless" property. We look forward to sharing another sunset with you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    196
    95
    42
    44
See reviews for
228
325
57
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a beautiful boutique hotel located right on the beach. We had one of their new suites with expansive top floor views of the beach/ocean. The room had a beautiful beach-themed decor and all the amenities you'd expect in a suite. The hotel staff was generally okay, but not overly friendly. Everyone I came in contact with had a bit of an attitude. For the prices they charge, I would expect more of a Four Seasons type experience from the staff. But this wouldn't keep me from going back. The food in the lobby restaurant was excellent and views are spectacular. Also ate at their sister property next door (Shutters) which was also excellent. The pool is very small but overlooks the beach and is very private.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs131364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Babs131364,

Thank you so much for joining us at Hotel Casa del Mar. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our “beautiful boutique hotel” and am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our brand new suites. I do apologize if our service did not meet your expectations or our usually high standards, but your review will help us to improve.

Sincerely,
James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We changed our Santa Monica hotel this trip to try out something new. This property has a heap of nostalgia in the grand lobby area which overlooks the ocean, but overall feels uninspired. The staff seemed also under managed and in need of serious developmental work. Pool is disappointingly small, but you're on the beach and the ocean is just a few steps away. We stayed in an ocean view room 719 which had a spectacular view of the Pacific.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbarela, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear LelaM,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ocean view from your room. I truly apologize for any lapses in service that you may have encountered during your stay. We are committed to service excellence and every review helps us to improve.

Sincerely,
James Barela, General Manager
Hotel Casa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a rocky start where I was staring into an empty lot full of industrial bins...I was moved to a gorgeous room with an amazing view of Santa Monica beach and pier.

I arrived with a very bad neck and thankfully found that the spa provided me with an excellent masseuse who was fabulous and helped sort it out.

Perfectly located on Santa Monica beach its the perfect spot to explore Venice Beach and the Santa Monica Pier.

Beautiful comfortable bed, great service and def try Cha Cha Chicken around the corner.

The pool was great as well, overlooking the beach and very quiet and a great spot to watch everyone happening down on the promenade.

Make sure you do ask for a room with a view.....well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie27868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here twice, most recently June 2014.

Overall a very nice hotel in a great location by the pier. Rooms are kinda small but very cozy, almost feels like a bedroom in a house.

Views are very variable. Once we had a direct on ocean view (but set back in the back of the U shaped building, which cut off left and right views). The second time we were facing out towards Venice and right over the parking lot. We did have an ocean view that we paid for, but it was angular, not straight on, and only visible if laying on the bed.

Would suggest asking specifically for a room with direct straight on ocean view if that's important to you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on the way home from New York to Australia. Our room was absolutely beautiful - such luxury - the bed was so comfortable and the bathrooms lovely. The hotel is right on the beach and sitting by the pool overlooking the beach and people watching was really great. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food in the restaurant was excellent. They had entertainment in the lounge area which created a great atmosphere while having a relaxed dinner after a long day out. Didn't want to leave and will be back on day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karena039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have been here many times to enjoy sunset views and cocktails. My first overnight stay did not disappoint. Arrived midday and was allowed to check in early. Thank you Amex Fine Hotels. Lovely room at pool level. Great views. Mt husband had a massage at spa and said it was wonderful. Walking distance to pier and restaurants. Will definitely return next trip out of LAX. Excellent service from doorman to manager.

Room Tip: Pool level rooms bright and welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharontognietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregoryDay, General Manager at Casa del Mar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear sharontognietti,

Thank you for staying with us at Shutters on the Beach. I especially appreciate your comment regarding our "excellent" service and am glad your husband was able to take advantage of our services at ONE the Spa. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Gregory Day, General Manager
Shutters on the Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,856 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,597 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar

Property: Casa del Mar
Address: 1910 Ocean Way, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa del Mar is located right on the sand in the heart of the Southern California seaside community of Santa Monica, mere steps from the Pacific Ocean on Santa Monica Bay. The hotel is adjacent to the historic Santa Monica Pier, the dynamic Third Street Promenade, Main Street, the elegant shopping and dining areas of Montana Avenue, as well as the gardens, walkways and expansive ocean panoramas of cliff-top Palisades Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Prestigia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Casa Del Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing